We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location for Niagara Falls”
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Giacomo
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Wonderful small hotel, friendly reception staff very helpful. Rooms spacious and clean. Bed large and very comfortable. Perfect location..Walking distance from the falls and the hotel has an amazing view of the falls from the 18th floor. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dreamcatching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
There are newer reviews for The Giacomo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 901 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very clean quiet and confortable hotel very close to the American side of the Niagara falls. Very friendly staff at the reception and very helpfull. There is no parking at the hotel but there is a very efficient valet parking. The Casino is not very far and you can walk there is five minutes when it is not snowing! For dinner there are two choices, one is the Casino and the other is TGI Friday both close by. The breakfast is not that great I think the bread was a couple of days old. Perhaps it was the extreme cold. But at least you have a great view during the meal. The main problem is the airconditioning. During the extreme weather it cannot heat the room efficiently. I am sure in other months it may be o.k. When I was there the outside temperature was -8C.
To clear a concern for some other reviewers the room has a lighting system with a sensor. If you dont make any movement for some time the lights go off. Therefore you should make sure that you turn the lights off manually before going to bed. Otherwise, when you wake-up in the middle of the night the lights will turn on and wake everybody up!

Room Tip: The higher up the better view of the Falls.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank padamianou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were driving from Michigan to NYC and stayed in Niagara Falls for 2 nights at this lovely hotel. Because the hotel is in a restored older building, the rooms vary greatly in shape & space, but that is part of the charm. In ours the space was tight on one side of our king size bed, but there was adequate space in the room, with nice furnishings and a lovely bathroom. We appreciated the quality chocolates that came with the room.
Breakfast was quite good with a variety of cereals,breads, potatoes, eggs, juices & milk. You also had the option of getting a omelet made fresh with your choice of extras. To make it even nicer, you eat off real dishes with real utensils, no disposable ware which we truly appreciated.
The staff was friendly and helpful at all times, ready to answer any questions and to explain how things worked at the hotel.
There were 2 minor downsides for us - our particular room had a view only of the motel next door. We solved that by keeping the drapes closed and going to the lounge on the top floor to get our views. Those views were far more spectacular than we could have gotten in any room anyway. My husband was a bit uncomfortable with the valet parking, but it did make sense as the safest option. And it worked out quite well - the only time we had to wait more than a couple of minutes for our car was when several people were checking out at the same time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roamingator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for one night as a "sisters get-a-way". This hotel is such a cool building from the outside, and with free valet parking. The décor is very unique, as is the feel of The Giacomo. What first struck us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Every person we came in contact with was smiling, personable, ready to give directions, get our car for us, call us a cab, etc. We stayed in a double queen room, and everything was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was incredible! We enjoyed the 19th floor overlook and the views. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time to experience what the hotel has to offer. I would love to go back, and definitely will with my husband.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingcircus214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from an overnight stay at Giacomo for our second wedding anniversary. I highly recommend it if staying in Niagara Falls.

The building itself is fabulous. Gorgeous mix of Art Deco & industrial in this historic building. Loved our corner room on the sixth floor. King sized platform bed, lots of big windows, nice bathroom- and all were very clean!
Spent about 2 hours in the evening up on the 19th floor sky view lounge having some cocktails & munchies we brought from our room while waiting for and watching the beautiful sunset.
Breakfast was good- eggs, sausage, bacon, home fries, a variety of toppings for potatoes (or eggs I suppose ) teas & coffees, juices, breads, English muffins & croissants to toast, cold cereals as well as oatmeal in another beautiful room- the breakfast room.
Also off the lobby was a gorgeous lounge & bar that we wandered around before checking out in the morning, taking pictures of the furniture & decor because yes- it was that cool! Reminded me of things you would find in a palace- velvety jewel toned chairs in various shapes & sizes.
When I asked where the ice machine was, they brought ice right up to our room, they have valet parking, staff was very pleasant & helpful.
I would definitely stay here again, and we may take a trip back in the summer as it was pretty cold this weekend.
We went to the outlets as well as the Seneca Niagara Casino for a few hours after we arrived before check in time. Not impressed with the Casino but its maybe two blocks away so definitely within walking distance. I'd also like to visit the Culinary Institute & wander the shops and eateries in warmer weather!
We would definitely stay here again! And we found it on trip advisor!
Note: no pets or kids allowed, so plan ahead.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank missboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

It's like being in a luxurious apartment. Nothing ordinary or drab. The sheet had stains upon arrival but was quickly changed. The carpet had some stains but room was clean and the bathroom was huge. I have to compliment the bar tender. He had a cocktail menu and when I asked he just make me one he did not hesitate. He actually chilled the martini glass with ice water then dried it. That is a detail you don't see very often.
No hidden charges, free parking, wifi, bottled water, fridge in room, chocolates, breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangaj316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

we arrived in minus 14 deg to Niagara and arrived at this amazing hotel. Everbody was welcoming and helpful. The room we had with fireplace on the sixth floor overlooked goat island and across the mist of the falls to the Canadian side. The lights are bedazzlingand look far better from a distance. We visited the Canadian side as part of our tour an my impression was that of a really commercialised tourist area. I really felt at home in this hotel, hot breakfast each morning and and staff who were so friendly and helpful. I recomend this hotel for a great stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#5 of 51 in Niagara Falls
2,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#9 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#10 of 51 in Niagara Falls
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $129 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member(R) in Niagara Falls, NY near Maid of the Mist is a towering achievement of art deco architecture. Located in a nationally-registered historical building, this boutique hotel in Niagara Falls is within walking distance from the brink of the naturally beautiful Niagara Falls, as well as a host of other attractions The Giacomo is the premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing