We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, average staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Giacomo
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, average staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for (2) reasons, 1st it was on the American side of the falls, and we wanted to keep most of our money in the US, and 2nd because of rating on tripadvisor. This was our first trip to Niagara Falls (which we loved), so we relied heavily on reviews, and insight from locals. The valet was great, he was helpful, friendly, and professional, we felt this was the start of a great experience. Unfortunately the exceptional service ended with his performance, and he was off the next (2) days of our stay.
The bed was uncomfortable, sagged in the middle (we joked about being in an abyss), pillows were also uncomfortable. The bathroom smelled of mildew although it did appear clean, I understand it's an old building, but I'm thinking that there has to be a way to deal with the smell.
To be fair, I never let the "staff" know about my concerns, we checked in late, after a long drive, and started early for a full day of walking and exploring the falls, and just didn't feel like dealing with it.
However, "before" we left that morning to see the falls, etc, I did let the front desk attendant know that we would only be staying (2) nights instead of our original reservation of (3), not one time was I asked if everything was ok with the room, etc.
Better training will probably help the service issues, replace beds that are sagging and put some bleach down the drains to help with the mildew smell?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BG_LYNN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    176
    58
    18
    19
See reviews for
158
449
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here one night. This hotel is so fresh and modern, breakfast was wonderful. Location was great since it's like 2 minute walk to the Niagara falls. A lot of restaurants around the hotel and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very nice hotel, very clean..comfortable bed, very clean bathroom....has a very spacious shower with a sit down seat in it (no tub) though. It came with a free breakfast which was excellent and had bacon and eggs and waffles (made to order) and sausages and toast and bagels and yogurt. 3 different kinds of juice and coffee..was wonderful!
Great TV lineup....many channels! The only thing that was missing was a lunch and dinner restaurant. I knew it didn't have a full restaurant when I booked it but I really missed it because I thought there would be many places to eat around the hotel and there were not many.
The service checking in was great. It did have a lounge but it didn't open until 5pm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Toronto. While our room only had a view of the next door hotel (literally could see in their room), the top floor had an awesome view of the area. (We actually used this to figure out where we had to go to get to the falls.) It was only a short walk to the park to see the falls.

Our room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge with a large shower. The free valet parking was definitely a plus! We enjoyed the full breakfast in the morning as well. I believe the only complaint I had was the lack of outlets near the bed to charge my cell phone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank paws0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Close to the Falls, very nicely appointed, free valet parking! Hotel was within walking distance of the park and many dining options. The room was very spacious and bed was extremely comfortable. The shower was huge! We really appreciated the full breakfast too. All the staff were extremely friendly and efficient! We received some excellent recommendations for things to do and nearby places to visit!

The only drawbacks were that the AC blew right across the bed and it was too hot not to have it on. And the bathroom light shone right across my eyes in the morning (no way to dim, or select which of the sink lights came on). Both these issues would be easily resolved by reversing the bed and the dresser location.

Room Tip: Overlooking the street was sometimes a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first hotel on a 2 week trip to the States. It was a good introduction.
We were very tired from our journey from UK when we arrived. The bed was so huge and soft that we were asleep within moments of lying down.Probably the best bed of all the hotels we stayed at. The bathroom was large with shower and nice quality products and bathrobes.There were coffee/ tea making facilities and also there was a hairdryer and iron and ironing board in the room, which we discovered is pretty much standard in the States but not something you can guarantee in the UK! We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast especially as we weren't expecting it!There was usual hot fare, yogurt, cereals pastries etc. As mentioned before the decor was really nice and the position was great for visiting the falls - only being a short walk away. staff were polite and helpful without exception.
We hadn't realised we could walk over the bridge to view the falls from the Canadian side which is good to get some photos from a different perspective - just take your passport or identity card.
The only negative for us was that the air-conditioning was a bit noisy and the room was hot without using it . The windows were sealed units and couldn't be opened. Otherwise a great place to stay .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbow67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 5 hotels in the falls area on our recent trip & this was one of our favorites for a fe reasons...

The hotel is nicely located near the falls. You don't have to walk very far. Valet is complementary, so you don't have to deal with parking.

Best of all, the decor is just beautiful. Every aspect of the room was nicely designed. It was really a treat.

Bathroom could have been better... Our shower head was clearly broken and the tub tiles were clean but had calcium buildup or something. But not a big enough issue to detract from the 5 star rating.

Bed was very comfortable & we joked about stealing the pillows we liked them so much.

Breakfast was complementary and very good - breakfast staff was friendly and attentive.

Hotel does not have an falls view forum your room -- hotel is on the bottom 6 floors. Even a high view on the American side is not going to show you the falls, though. The observation deck on floor 19 is a lot of fun & comfortable 24/7 access.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank srgokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 51 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,470 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#6 of 51 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#7 of 51 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Property: The Giacomo
Address: 222 1st St, Niagara Falls, NY 14303-1238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member(R) in Niagara Falls, NY near Maid of the Mist is a towering achievement of art deco architecture. Located in a nationally-registered historical building, this boutique hotel in Niagara Falls is within walking distance from the brink of the naturally beautiful Niagara Falls, as well as a host of other attractions The Giacomo is the premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing