We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor, good breakfast, unfortunate city”
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Giacomo
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great decor, good breakfast, unfortunate city”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We took the advice of the TripAdvisor reviews for this hotel for a one-night stay in Niagara Falls, NY before we headed east for the remainder of our vacation in the Finger Lakes region.
The hotel itself is nice. The décor is very eclectic and has a Parisian/Italian/Victorian mish-mash theme going for it. I liked the darker, rich color schemes with the heavy upholstery, dark stained woodwork and deep toned paint colors.
The room was average sized for a King room with a good sized TV, desk, armchair, ottoman, closet, Keurig coffee maker, an amazingly comfortable king bed with excellent pillows, and a full bath with a stand-up shower (no tub). The room had some minor flaws, including: a birds nest of wires under the desk - including the unplugged, tangled cord to the coffee maker, lipstick on one of the two coffee cups (gross!), and a solid, wood pedestal for the king bed that is approximately 3" - 4" larger than the mattress - meaning it was only a matter of time before I cracked a toe against it in walking across the room (ended up breaking the 4th toe of my right foot...ouch!). The ice machine, BTW is clear down on the first floor through a weird maze of "exit" doors.
The hotel staff were pleasant enough, but seemed a bit under-trained regarding hotel services, local attractions and perhaps challenged if given an atypical customer request.
For the $188 paid for the one night, this was not a bargain, but neither was it worth the higher price tag - regardless of the "summer season". One redeeming quality was the better-than-average hot buffet breakfast included in the stay. Overall, the stay was OK, but not as good as I was hoping for.
Now for the bad news....While the hotel is located in the historic United Office Building from the mid 1920's, the walk into or out of the front door and clients are greeted with an unbearable stench of raw sewage emanating from nearby sewer manholes. It is really bad...and there is little to do to escape it - except to hold your breath as you enter/leave for at least 1/2 block!
Further, Niagara Falls has become the worst parts of Las Vegas or Atlantic City in that this majestic building is surrounded by casinos, cheesy souvenir shops, empty buildings, and a 1/2 dozen Indian restaurants/food carts all vying for your attention and your money. Now, for the record, I l-o-v-e Indian food. But, how about a cheese steak cart? Or, a yakisoba/teriyaki chicken truck? Or, a good old burger & fries wagon? A little variety would be nice. I am convinced...no waterfalls, no Niagara Falls.
Ultimately, in our 28-hour stay, we'd seen plenty. Maybe next time, we'll stay across the border.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 6th floor for a decent view and as high as you can go in the hotel portion of this 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott_McCanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    205
    64
    19
    19
See reviews for
173
527
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Staff was always great, everyone treated us nice. Room was great! Only con was my husband knicked his leg on edge of platform bed. Breakfast was good and the cook was very
nice. I thought the location was perfect for us .. Near enough to the sites and away from the crowds. I will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1216322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

There are a lot of dumpy motels and hotels in the Niagara Falls area. We wanted to stay at a hotel that was a little bit nicer. The Giacomo fit the bill well.

The hotel is quite old, but it's been very well maintined. The interior is fairly modern. Our room was a little bit small and had an odd layout. We actually didn't realize that there was a closet in the room until we were packing up to leave (it looked like a door to an adjoining room). If we used the closet it might not have felt quite so cramped.

The free breakfast was somewhat minimal, but it was great to have it available. The free Internet access worked well.

We had no issues with the valet parking. We were always able to get our car when we needed it, and the staff picked the car up right away when we arrived. I would prefer self parking, but the valet worked well enough.

One of the best aspects of the hotel is its location. The Niagara Falls State Park area is very busy, and it's nice to be able to just walk a block down the street from the hotel to get to the falls.

The only issue was a lack of towel racks in the bathroom. Otherwise, our room was nice and we had a pleasant stay. Thanks to the AAA discount the hotel was price competitive with other hotels in the area and, frankly, much nicer.

Room Tip: The view of the falls from the lower levels isn't that great, so don't worry about the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Giacomo after booking a short vacation to meet up with his family who were coming over from the Canadian side. Due to current circustances my husband can not cross into the Canadian side -but we really enjoyed our stay at the Giacomo. After driving all day 8 hours upon arrival the valet was great came right out when we pulled up to the hotel and helped get our bags out. They even valet my brother in laws car the next day at no additional fee while we walked over to the park. I enjoyed the bar/lounge area and thought the decor was just amazing. The bar tender Eric was very interesting to chat with giving us the history of the building and offering advice on things to do, places to eat ect. The bed was SUPER comfortable -and house keeping was on the money with our room. We enjoyed the sky lounge on Friday night and saw some of the fire work show. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would most definitly stay again as well as recommend the place to friends.

Room Tip: Corner room did seem very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyBeautiful621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because it was #1 on Trip Advisor, and were looking forward to staying here for three nights whilst in Niagara.
Great location, or at least it looked it, but is surrounded by a cheaper hotel which had the parking lot adjacent too, but valet parking was available.
We booked in and all was well, but no welcome folder showing the amenities on offer.
no restaurant to eat at in the evening either.
Small bar, which had an entertainer playing, but drinks were pricey. So we went to the bar next door, as it was convenient. Returning to the hotel bar for a night cap.
The bed was VERY comfortable, but mattress sits in a large box that i kept scratching my shin on when moving around the edge of the bed. The room was highly decorative and even had hotel branding on the coffee cups.
Next morning, things started to go down hill for this place.
The breakfast room was small, seats about 30 guests. The carpet looked as though it had not been hovered or cleaned for days. There was no bread, yogurt or coffee available. I had to wait 15 minutes for a waffle as there was only one machine, no maple syrup either!
After we had gone out for the day, we returned to find house keeping had visited to make up the room, but to be honest, it seemed they had spent two minutes making the bed, but doing nothing else.
The glasses we brought up from the bar the previous night were still exactly where we had left them, above the bed. The sheets had been pulled up and pillows returned, but the pillows were not fluffed up as I would of thought they would have been.
The empty toiletries we had used in the shower were still there and had not been replaced.
It was late so no complaint was made at that time, and we went to sleep in the very comfy bed.
Next morning, we went to make coffee in the machine in the room, there was no coffee in the adjacent tray! Which would have meant there being none when we arrived two days previous, as we hadn't had any when we arrived, and were not replenished when house keeping visited the next morning!
Expectations were not being met, for such a highly represented and pricey hotel!
Next morning in breakfast was a repeat of the first!
Therefore we decided to cut our stay short.
On complaining at the front next and advising we were checking out one day early, there was no attempt of apology, no explanation, only to advise us check out was at 11am.
To sum up, I would say this hotel is pretentious. Has very nice decor and even branded mugs etc in the rooms, but the little things that actually make your stay comfortable were missing.
The staff were not really helpful at all, apart from the valet parking man, who got our car very quickly on check out.
US$250 per night would be better spent elsewhere at the Sheraton.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Spongeandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
517 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a nice hotel with attractive rooms that has been relatively recently renovated. It offers breakfast in the morning and has a small bar. The rooms, particularly the corner rooms are quite nice as are the bathrooms. They offer valet parking and will soon have more convenient parking across the street. They do not offer lunch or dinner service, but there are several good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Get one of the corner rooms. These are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Let's face it - the American side of the Falls leaves a lot to desired. City is largely run down with many vacant buildings. BUT, this hotel, sandwiched between the Seneca Casino and the Falls, is wonderful. Trendy and comfortable with great service. Very clean and bed was super comfortable. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book early because it fills fast on weekends during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfer328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#8 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,340 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#6 of 51 in Niagara Falls
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#11 of 51 in Niagara Falls
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Property: The Giacomo
Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member(R) in Niagara Falls, NY near Maid of the Mist is a towering achievement of art deco architecture. Located in a nationally-registered historical building, this boutique hotel in Niagara Falls is within walking distance from the brink of the naturally beautiful Niagara Falls, as well as a host of other attractions The Giacomo is the premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing