We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel will be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Giacomo
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Thompson, Connecticut
1 review
“Great hotel will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Giacomo after booking a short vacation to meet up with his family who were coming over from the Canadian side. Due to current circustances my husband can not cross into the Canadian side -but we really enjoyed our stay at the Giacomo. After driving all day 8 hours upon arrival the valet was great came right out when we pulled up to the hotel and helped get our bags out. They even valet my brother in laws car the next day at no additional fee while we walked over to the park. I enjoyed the bar/lounge area and thought the decor was just amazing. The bar tender Eric was very interesting to chat with giving us the history of the building and offering advice on things to do, places to eat ect. The bed was SUPER comfortable -and house keeping was on the money with our room. We enjoyed the sky lounge on Friday night and saw some of the fire work show. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would most definitly stay again as well as recommend the place to friends.

Room Tip: Corner room did seem very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyBeautiful621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    172
    56
    16
    19
See reviews for
155
432
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because it was #1 on Trip Advisor, and were looking forward to staying here for three nights whilst in Niagara.
Great location, or at least it looked it, but is surrounded by a cheaper hotel which had the parking lot adjacent too, but valet parking was available.
We booked in and all was well, but no welcome folder showing the amenities on offer.
no restaurant to eat at in the evening either.
Small bar, which had an entertainer playing, but drinks were pricey. So we went to the bar next door, as it was convenient. Returning to the hotel bar for a night cap.
The bed was VERY comfortable, but mattress sits in a large box that i kept scratching my shin on when moving around the edge of the bed. The room was highly decorative and even had hotel branding on the coffee cups.
Next morning, things started to go down hill for this place.
The breakfast room was small, seats about 30 guests. The carpet looked as though it had not been hovered or cleaned for days. There was no bread, yogurt or coffee available. I had to wait 15 minutes for a waffle as there was only one machine, no maple syrup either!
After we had gone out for the day, we returned to find house keeping had visited to make up the room, but to be honest, it seemed they had spent two minutes making the bed, but doing nothing else.
The glasses we brought up from the bar the previous night were still exactly where we had left them, above the bed. The sheets had been pulled up and pillows returned, but the pillows were not fluffed up as I would of thought they would have been.
The empty toiletries we had used in the shower were still there and had not been replaced.
It was late so no complaint was made at that time, and we went to sleep in the very comfy bed.
Next morning, we went to make coffee in the machine in the room, there was no coffee in the adjacent tray! Which would have meant there being none when we arrived two days previous, as we hadn't had any when we arrived, and were not replenished when house keeping visited the next morning!
Expectations were not being met, for such a highly represented and pricey hotel!
Next morning in breakfast was a repeat of the first!
Therefore we decided to cut our stay short.
On complaining at the front next and advising we were checking out one day early, there was no attempt of apology, no explanation, only to advise us check out was at 11am.
To sum up, I would say this hotel is pretentious. Has very nice decor and even branded mugs etc in the rooms, but the little things that actually make your stay comfortable were missing.
The staff were not really helpful at all, apart from the valet parking man, who got our car very quickly on check out.
US$250 per night would be better spent elsewhere at the Sheraton.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Spongeandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
393 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a nice hotel with attractive rooms that has been relatively recently renovated. It offers breakfast in the morning and has a small bar. The rooms, particularly the corner rooms are quite nice as are the bathrooms. They offer valet parking and will soon have more convenient parking across the street. They do not offer lunch or dinner service, but there are several good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Get one of the corner rooms. These are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Let's face it - the American side of the Falls leaves a lot to desired. City is largely run down with many vacant buildings. BUT, this hotel, sandwiched between the Seneca Casino and the Falls, is wonderful. Trendy and comfortable with great service. Very clean and bed was super comfortable. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book early because it fills fast on weekends during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfer328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstonville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We did a road trip from Washington DC to Niagara Falls staying at quite a few basic motels along the way. Giacomo was a wonderful treat before flying to LAX. Rooms bog and comfortable Staff very helpful. Warm cookies delivered at bedtime. We wanted to stay longer than 2 nights!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-CCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

After looking reviews on TripAdvisor we booked this hotel but it was big mistake. After long haul flight the staff was not ready to accommodate for early check in before 4.00pm. There are lot of other hotels near to Niagara falls. No good restaurant in hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank HARRYGOYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Booked this hotel as a mystery pick @ Hotwire for 1 night. Check-in is a rather late 4pm and checkout is the standard 11am the next day.

Overall satisfied and recommended, although it is almost always at $200+ per night, so the budget concious should be aware.

My review is greatly biased by the fact that they have retained a lot of the art deco charm and added the finery of modernism, making for an interesting mix.

On check-in, you will be subject to a rehearsed welcome speech that at some point will make you wonder if its coming from a person or a machine...i kept twitching the whole while that the narrative went on, not knowing what i was supposed to do just standing there and was glad it ended. For starters, most of the info they relay is what you probably already know, since you are reading this review. And some of their check-in clerks do a great Siri-type delivery! (OK Siri can be a little bit more personal sometimes!!)
Note to hotel: This welcome speech is reminiscient of the airline safety drill. Look at the airlines for a cue, they themselves are trying to find ways to make that drill enjoyable. You could too!

OK I ranted too much on that..minor quirk!

Parking is across the street and is managed by the front desk. So if you forgot something in the car, that will be a hassle.

Checkin lobby is tasteful and the process is smooth enough.

The elevators will smell of bacon in the morning.

The rooms are nice - the wallpaper, the art deco mirror, the bed and the view ( we were on 6F - the last floor before the apartments start). Only peeve here - the lights are too dull. The dinginess is def. not a must have component of the art deco make up - lose it!!

The ceilings are partially left unfinished w/ exposed pipes for the pseudo-industrial look.

The wash rooms are unique in that there was a huge space in ours that just sat there and did nothing. The shower stall does not have any ledge / holder to hold your shampoo soap etc. Did the designer take a nap while putting this design together? The towels were about 10 feet away, tucked under the wash basin...so if you forgot to take one before hitting the showers, it was an archimedial run to the towels!!

Breakfast was satisfactory and served in a really nice setting. Note: Get there early before the crowds run it down! Has the standard hot fixings, bread station etc.

Dint have time to enjoy the lounge, though it did look inviting!

The 19F observation does not show you the Falls, this is the US side after all, that luxury is the sole property of 'em Canadiennes! But it still has a nice all round view of the surroundings! Def. worth it and possibly you could enjoy a good bottle of wine w/ friends (hardly anyone showed up while we were there).

The staff is courteous and knowledgeable. you can always check w/ them for restaurant recommendations. We did and were very pleased with the recommendation.

Room Tip: Go as higher up as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_Bug_Neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara Falls
0.1 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#5 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#7 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#6 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 933 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Property: The Giacomo
Address: 222 1st St, Niagara Falls, NY 14303-1238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member(R) in Niagara Falls, NY near Maid of the Mist is a towering achievement of art deco architecture. Located in a nationally-registered historical building, this boutique hotel in Niagara Falls is within walking distance from the brink of the naturally beautiful Niagara Falls, as well as a host of other attractions The Giacomo is the premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing