We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bright Gem In a Lack-Luster Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Giacomo
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bright Gem In a Lack-Luster Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I only spent one night at the Giacomo (in town for an audition), but would go back to Niagara just to stay there again! The NY side of Niagara Falls seems a little low-brow for such a famous destination (I'm told the Canadian side is much nicer, and what I could see across the water backs this up). The U.S. hotel options are, for the most part, barely "meh"-worthy, and searching for hotels pre-trip was frustrating because every tempting option that popped up was on the Canadian side (U.S. citizens don't need a passport to ENTER Canada, but you DO need one to cross back to the U.S.). Fortunately, Canada doesn't get ALL the glory in Niagara.... we've still got The Giacomo.

Being a combined hotel/private apartment building, The Giacomo has a "low-key luxury" ambience: the lobby is large enough to welcome, but small enough to feel like home (vs. a public, high-traffic space). The lounge spaces are intimate - tucked around corners and scaled for conversation - and the decor is contemporary/plush (think "Pottery Barn catalog"). There's a cozy little bar/lounge off to one side, and a brighter, more cafe-style breakfast room on the other (there is no full restaurant, but the free breakfast was GREAT: eggs, meat, potatoes, fresh fruit salads, cold-cut trays, Belgian waffles, cereals, etc.)

On the top floor - which is key-card access via one of the elevators - there's another private lounge - basically a living room, with a wetbar, flatscreen TV, computer and single bathroom - for the hotel guests, with views on all sides (you can't see the falls directly, but there's a lovely view of the Niagara rapids right at your feet, with the mist rising from Horseshoe around the bend). You DO have to climb two flights of narrow concrete stairs to reach the lounge, once you're off the elevator on the 18th floor - I didn't have a problem with this, but someone might. It's a little like heading up to the attic.

As for the ROOM - gorgeous! I stayed in one of the King rooms and had a Jacuzzi tub so big and deep that I kept floating away from the edge, until I folded one of the towels and put it underneath me. Separate shower, also nice and spacious with a wide ledge for all your shower stuff (my shower didn't have the bench - think you get either the super-spa shower OR the Olympic swimming tub, not both - no complaints here). Their shampoo smelled amazing - wish I could buy a full-size bottle of it. Unusually comfy bed for a hotel, plenty of pillows, nice-sized closet and a mini-fridge with freezer-compartment, tucked discreetly into the console beneath the flatscreen. I was only in town for one night, so basically I just bathed and slept, but the room would've been fine for a longer stay. My room must have been adjoinable to the next room, as there was another, dead-bolted door next to the closet.

The only negatives (none of these bothered me much, they're just FYI's):

- would've appreciated an outlet next to the bed; anything that plugged in was behind the headboard somewhere, and I didn't feel like rooting around for it. The closest one was where the TV/fridge etc. was plugged in, so you'd have to unplug something to use it.

- There is no ice/vending for each floor - again, you're not staying at a Holiday Inn and this is one of the ways it DOESN'T feel like a hotel, for better or worse. The ice machine is down a back hallway from the lobby; you can follow the signs from there to the fitness room, down another windy hallway and stairs. It's pretty quiet and empty back there, so maybe a LITTLE creepy, if you've been watching too many Law & Order reruns.

- No ATM machine, but I was very politely directed to the Quality Inn, next door: ATM in the lobby.

- I think the shower had some sort of adjustable "spa showerhead" feature but the selector-switch was so tight that it seemed about to snap off, so I gave up. DID like that both shower and tub had a hand-shower, which was handy for rinsing all the suds and bath-salts residue down the drain.

SERVICE SHOUT-OUT: We'd originally booked two jacuzzi suites; when we checked in, we learned they were on different floors. This was only a MINOR inconvenience - I had an AM event that would tie me up past checkout, and planned to leave my things in the other room before heading out - but the minute we expressed surprise, even though we assured them it would be fine, the second room was upgraded to a jaccuzi/fireplace suite on the same floor.

UPSHOT: DEFINITELY recommend! Again, the NY side of Niagara seems a bit worse for wear: the local-favorite restaurant we tried was unimpressive (I've had that steak at Denny's for a lot less money) and the overall look of the town was "yesterday's big deal"....but the REASON it was a big deal is the Niagara Falls themselves, and those are STILL worth seeing in person. Get on the boat, get soaked, wring out your souvenir poncho, then dry off and warm up at The Giacomo....great way to see a deservedly famous site. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pokey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    196
    64
    19
    19
See reviews for
168
510
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a great little gem in Niagara Falls. The hotel was renovated a couple years ago at the most. Actually, it was restored to its beautiful, 30s splendour and updated where it made sense.
Rooms go up to the 6th floor (above that it is a residential building) and are indeed good size with way bigger than average bathrooms. The decor matches the old 30s design nicely.
Staff is indeed great and always there to help.

Room Tip: 5th or 6th floor in a corner if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSMVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed two nights and were very pleased with the quality and value of the hotel. Amenities offered were top notch ... we felt like very valued guests ... the room was large, clean and comfortable ... the bed was luxurious ... the staff were very helpful and accommodating ... loved the breakfast each morning... the exercise room was nice ... it is very close to attractions at the Falls and casino ... just a short walk away ... Ashleigh was very helpful at checkout and made sure a credit for AAA membership was discounted ... would highly recommend this special place ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a lovely time staying at the very modern style decorated Giacomo Hotel. We were given a free upgrade to have a Jacuzzi/fireplace room. Only problems were that the Keurig coffee maker and the fireplace did not work. The staff were very attentive and quickly replaced our Keurig with another. While the fireplace could not be repaired during our stay, our bill was adjusted to make up for the difference. But really how much can a person complain when the "upgrade" was of no charge in the first place? The jacuzzi was roomy enough for two (not cramped) and very relaxing. The bed was super comfortable and the room was very clean. We visited the Skyview lounge (19th floor) on 2 occasions to enjoy the view of both the view of Niagara Falls, NY and the Canadian skyline. Our first night, the staff even surprised us with 2 warm chocolate chip cookies brought to our room (a subtle, but memorable touch). The breakfast included with our stay was so yummy with a variety of items to choose from such as scrambled eggs, fresh waffles, yogurt, and much more. My boyfriend and I don't drink, so did not take advantage of the lounge area, but I thoroughly enjoyed each part of the hotel that I did experience. I found myself at times just looking at the decor and enjoying its uniqueness. Loved it, wish I could visit the Giacomo on a regular basis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Location on the US side of the falls is very very average. But it's a short walk to the falls and the bridge to walk over to Canada, where the views are spectacular. Hotel was clean and inviting, good value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the falls and border into Canada. It was a perfect base for a few days of sight seeing. Rooms were very spacious and clean, superb quality and very luxurious. Bed and pillows extremely comfortable and a huge bed that we could get lost in! We loved the decor throughout the hotel. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. Complementary valet parking and an excellent breakfast buffet. The cookies in the evening were scrummy. The only thing we can think of to moan about is the toilet paper! - very thin and low quality for such a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room (thats what we had) so that you get double the amount of large windows for day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very nice hotel with it's own history...It has amazing ski view lounge! Rooms are very nice,well decorated.I love the style of this hotel it is creative and interesting. I like a big bathroom. The furniture is new and nice,but not very clean...And there are a lot of artificial flowers( I don't like it,because they only hold the dust...The noise level in rooms is not high...the bed is comfortable,but it was not clean( we found few hairs and yellow stains on pillows and we asked for new bedding and for new pillows,and concierge came to check everything and to place a new sheets and pillows. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katk782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara Falls
0.1 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#5 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#8 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#3 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Property: The Giacomo
Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member(R) in Niagara Falls, NY near Maid of the Mist is a towering achievement of art deco architecture. Located in a nationally-registered historical building, this boutique hotel in Niagara Falls is within walking distance from the brink of the naturally beautiful Niagara Falls, as well as a host of other attractions The Giacomo is the premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing