We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel...great experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Giacomo
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Himrod, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel...great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and I just spent a few nights at the Giacomo to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. The hotel was unique and I always appreciate when effort is put in to style. We were a bit confused right when we got there about parking since it is valet and the lot is across from the hotel (they do have a valet sign but it wasn't out on that particular day) but the staff was helpful and our check in was fast and professional. We booked a jacuzzi room and the styling was sleek and sophisticated in our suite. The king bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large and well stocked with comfy robes and crabtree and evelyn bath products. The location is within walking distance of all that we wanted to see and visit so we didn't even need our vehicle...it was parked in the gated lot and we traveled on foot for the rest of the time. We enjoyed the continental breakfast each morning. I'm a yogurt and fruit breakfast eater and my husband prefers eggs, bacon, and pastries and we both were able to enjoy our breakfast... lots of options. We didn't use the lounge/bar area at all and instead ventured out into the Niagara Falls area for the cocktail/night-life scene but I did peek in a few times and it was very elegant. I did enjoy the fitness room and treadmill and had the area to myself in the morning!

Our one issue was that our "do not disturb" sign was removed from our door sometime during our second day there... but since I cannot be sure that it was hotel staff I could never place the blame on the hotel. (We did get some tasty cookies left in our room) When we left that late morning the sign was on our door and was not when we returned.... who knows, it's a mystery!

Overall our visit to Niagara Falls and The Giacomo was a success. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return to the hotel on our next visit to the Falls. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HLtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    196
    64
    19
    19
See reviews for
168
510
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Lovely renovated office building in downtown Niagara Falls, a short three minute walf to the Falls, built in 1929 and reopend January 2010.

Great helpful staff, valet parking included in hotel stay; or for a quik trip shipping at the Outlet Mall or a trip to the Casino the hotel provides a complimentary town car. A hot breakfast was included each day, with happy hour benefits in the afternoon.

Great experkience, loved the room and the sky lounge located on the 19th floor. Terrific place to view the fireworks over the Falls on Wednesday and Friday nights during the summer!

Planning a trip back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the rapids or Canada and you will be impressedx!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjo_atlanta_ga_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We arrived to the hotel and there was no valet or clear indication where to park our car and check in. So we just parked in a side lot that turned out to be someone elses lot. It was too early to get in our room so we left our suitcases in an open closet away from the front desk. Not really a secure place but we didn't back any diamonds or gold so we felt it would be ok. When we returned to check in a few hours later the front desk attendant greeted us with a what in the hell do you want attitude and checked us in. We arrived in our small room with only one window we could open the drapes and a very loud ductless air unit. Lucky for the hotel we drank enough during our stay...we were able to sleep with this noisy thing. The first shower I took was with almost no water pressure. It seems ashame to have that nice big shower and have to freeze in it because the water is trickling out. The following morning we went down for their continental breakfast which was a joke. There were a lot of people working in there but I'm not real sure what they were doing. There were dirty tables everywhere so we decided to get food first but there was no food. No bowls, no silverware, hot juice. It was terrible.
The bar is nice but only has wine and beer and the wine selection isn't great.
The best thing this place has going for them is Chris, the Saturday night bartender. He was very apologetic about our experience and was very personable and helpful about breakfast suggestions for the following day. We would return to see him but not stay at the Giacomo again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Funky_Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel on our way to Canada. It's in a very nice location, about 2 blocks from the falls. There is a casino right behind. The hotel is beautiful and is also a residence. I found the room to be a bit on the small side, but it's very pretty. They have a observation area at the top of the hotel, but we didn't stay long because it was so hot. They have a beautiul lounge/bar, but during our stay, there wasn't much staff around and we weren't able to get a drink. The have valet parking which is great and a complimentary breakfast. Overall, this is a nice place to stay if you want away from the crowds and want to feel a little pampered.

Room Tip: knowing where to park when you first drive up is frustrating. Just pull up to the front and they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodyh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed here in mid July 2011 with wife and young teen. We loved the location and historic building. Drove the rental car up to a side parking lot, handed our keyes to a valet guy (no charge for valet service) and proceeded to check in with that same guy. Yup, that's the kind of small boutique hotel this is. Very nice. Very relaxed atmosphere. We never needed to set foot in our car again as the hotel has a town car service that will drive you anywhere within a 10 mile radius -which in Niagara Falls, that is pretty good because other than the falls and the Rainbow Bridge which links you to the Canadia side of the border-both only a short 10 minute walk, there isn't much else to see.

Rooms are very modern and trendy with exposed beams; free daily American style breakfast is also very nice with plenty of wait staff. Tthe staff is young and some are not very polished for a hotel that charges pretty high rates, but I give them an "A" for attitude and going out of their way.

Only complaint is the bathroom. Actually, our bathroom was larger than the living area-not sure why they set it up that way?? It was in fact larger than some hotels I have stayed in. It was very modern with above average plumbing fixtures but our main issue was with the shower. After sightseeing all day in 95 degree weather, we returned to the hotel wanting a nice shower. But our shower was not working correctly which left us very dissappointed. Staff called in their maintenance person at 10 p.m. on a Saturday night to fix the problem which eventually was resolved. But the staff did offer us another empty room to shower up while the issue was being resolved which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joidevivre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

The room was beautifully decorated and very large. The bed was wonderfull and we had a great night's sleep. The included breakfast was better than expected.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richterrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We would highly recommend The Giacomo not only for the beautiful rooms with views but the staff truly made our trip a great one. They picked us up from the Niagara Falls International airport and took us everywhere we wanted to go on the American side of the falls within a 10 mile radius. We walked over the Rainbow Bridge several times to get to the Canadian side. I would suggest actually staying on the American side, it's less crowded and the rooms are cheaper. The Giacomo is beautiful and one of the tallest buildings on the American side. Joy, Jason, Sarah, Tom and Josh really made us feel welcome and everyone was very nice and helpful. Joy went above and beyond in getting us on a wine tour on our last evening. We loved the whole experience!! Cathy & Avery in Myrtle Beach, SC

Room Tip: Room 408 was a corner room so you could see all over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CdaleinMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara Falls
0.1 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#5 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#8 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#3 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Property: The Giacomo
Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member(R) in Niagara Falls, NY near Maid of the Mist is a towering achievement of art deco architecture. Located in a nationally-registered historical building, this boutique hotel in Niagara Falls is within walking distance from the brink of the naturally beautiful Niagara Falls, as well as a host of other attractions The Giacomo is the premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing