We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Galera

La Galera
Ranked #12 of 289 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
224 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great price, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

The service is great, prices reasonable and the food is authentic--not americanized at all. It has grown from a little place to a booming spot with their new location in the strip mall on NFB. We frequent here monthly. Chips and salsa are the bomb!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    68
    16
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

I've been a fan of theirs since day one and they have never once disappointed. Very good Margaritas, the Carne Asada was more than decent.

But... we watched them pull all the tables out of the booths to clean. That is PHENOMENAL! Most restaurants only do this every so often and that means the seat and floor never really get clean. Which is disgusting. I happily recommend people to this restaurant frequently!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BWSummitInn33088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Mexican fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Went to the new location in the Pine Plaza. Though a bit of a wait (20-30 min) on a Saturday night with no reservations, we and our friends we not disappointed. Was it the best we've ever had? No. But were the ingredients fresh? Yes. Did we get good, attentive service? Yes. Was our food delivered hot? Yes again. And are the prices reasonable? Indeed. So for living just about as far from the Mexican border as we could get, it's not a bad choice if you need some Mexican...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieforpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Disappointing Return Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have been recommending La Galera for years as a cheap, quick bite near the Outlets. Since they have moved into their new space in Pine Plaza it seems as though the quality has seriously declined.

The quality of the food was never outstanding. But for Mexican-style food (which is rare in WNY), on the cheap, and in huge quantities, La Galera did the job. It seems with the new location came some major cost-cutting.

Prices at La Galera are still cheap. But the food, ergh. Where to begin? Dried out refried beans that tasted like they were reconstituted from powder. Soggy, watery, overcooked vegetables. Gummy flour tortillas. Salsa that tasted, dare I say, recycled from something else? It had a very, very strange flavor. Almost like watery pasta sauce.

The chips were hot and fresh, service was good, and you can still get a huge meal for <$10 per person. But why bother when you can go to Mighty Taco or Colasso Taco even cheaper and arguably better food?

Will NOT be returning and will no longer recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misscrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local Perspective ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

This is definitely one of our favorite places for quick dinner. Always fast, and good. My favorite is the a la carte menu, but they have some great combos. Very filling, always delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Galera also viewed

 

Been to La Galera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing