We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst, but could have been alot better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Newburgh
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Yes, the place is dated. I can live with that. It's an original HoJo, but I have been to some well kept ones where you can tell the owner takes pride in their property.

It's all the small issues that add up and most of them are easily repairable/fixable. First, cleanliness was OK in the room, but dust visible in the corners and along the baseboard. Secondly, the mattress was like sleeping in a bowl. The middle of the mattress was depressed in the middle, I just kind of rolled down into the valley and had to climb out. Third, Hair along the baseboard and on the tub in the bathroom. The towels and sheets are worn with threads coming off. The anti-slip mat in the tub just collected dirt around the edges and you can see the dirt come off when water is run over it.

Lastly, I have a gripe with tubs that don't drain properly in hotels. Does anyone NOT notice this when supposedly cleaning the bathroom or do they not clean the tub/shower at all??? There's a Lowe's next door- invest in a snake and some Drano maybe.

Safety:
The hot/cold directions on the tub was reversed. Took me a minute to figure this out when the water wasn't getting hot after turning the knob all the way to 'hot'. This can burn some one if they aren't paying attention.
I never felt unsafe around the property and didn't observe any doors being left open. It is literally right off the Thruway, so of course anyone can come and go easily, but that's any hotel in the area. They do require and swipe a credit card at check-in, so this probably keeps the undesirables planning on anything illegal away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmh7020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo1951, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hello traveler I'am so sorry for your unhappy stay. At any point you were no happy we always allow the option to change your room or for you to cancel your reservation without penalty. We always want our guest to be happy and strive to improve in any necessary areas where there needs to be a change. We have a excellent housekeeping staff and exceptional front desk clerks that go beyond the normal realm of job expectations to satisfy our guest with their concerns and such matters. I apology for your uncomfortable experience. I will look into these matters promptly and all of your feedback was greatly appreciated. It always help us to improve our guest relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 529 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

This place was only $48 a night since I booked at least 3 nights in a row for off season, so that was the good, since it came with a free breakfast and wifi.

The Bad: The staff was the worst I have ever encountered. IF they spoke, very rude and brief. Rooms, very gross and run down. Locals say this is a "prostitute spot" in summer. My bathroom fixtures were falling off the wall. The tub/shower was so clogged with hair it didn't drain until we pulled it out. I wish I can upload the picture. If you can, go to Ramada Inn since its not much more money. Some have mini fridges while others do not. Smoke fills the halls so if you are sensitive, don't go here. Security door is left open downstairs all night and day during winter to air out place since this place is so old it doesn't have central air to bring in clean fresh air.

Room Tip: Get one with a mini fridge and upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo1951, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for you unhappy stay. At any point you were unhappy we do offer the option to change your room or offer a refund. It is never our intention for our guest to be unhappy. We lock the doors to the hotels to ensure safety and security, we also have video surveillance 24 hours. Our hallways are equipped with automatic spraying air sanitizing. Under any circumstance do we allow any illegal activity at our establishment. I will address all of your concerns and thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Co L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojo1951, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

There are a couple of other inexpensive hotels in Newburgh, but I keep coming back to this one. Having stayed here about 10 nights in the past 12 months. It's a bit dated but the rooms have nearly always been clean and comfortable. Breakfast is one step above basic but does have some healthy choices, (Fruit Oatmeal etc) Overall not bad and excellent for the price

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo1951, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you Simon for your comments. The Howard Johnson Inn thanks you for your business. We are an economy hotel and we offer a free continental breakfast with a variety of choices to accommodate all lifestyles. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and always look forward to seeing u again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank jbuki
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojo1951, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojo1951, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojo1951, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburgh
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newburgh Stewart Airport
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
9.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fishkill - Westage Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Address: 95 Route 17k, Newburgh, NY 12550-5009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Newburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Newburgh
Price Range: $71 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh Hotel Newburgh
Howard Johnson Hotel Newburgh
Howard Johnson Newburgh
Newburgh Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing