We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newburgh
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Upon walking up to our room, i notice the paint peeling off, windows cracked and missing, but the worst of it was people were living out of the rooms like a low income apartment complex. Doors were open, people were coming and going, bicycles were chained to post, it was really bad. I opened the door to enter and the smell of mildew and mold was so potent i could hardly breath. The bed linen looked like it had been around for a while. We decided to leave, i would not stay where i was afraid. Three weeks later my credit card gets a $2oo charge. How did they have my number to charge the card again? So i canceled the credit card. Not to mention the going rate for a room was $75 but they charged us 109$ a night??

Room Tip: If you go about 10min more down the hwy to Fishkill there are much nicer hotel and rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager0101, Front Office Manager at Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

"Christine S" Your reservation was also booked in accordance with the Lucas/ Agnew (DOG COMPETITION) group. Arrival Date: Wednesday, August 28, 2013 Departure Date: Monday, September 2, 2013. The contract details for this group were as follows "The rate for each non-smoking room with 2 Double beds per night will be $109.00 plus taxes and hotel service fees. Hotel must receive notice of cancellation and/or modification of rooms by July 28, 2013." All reservations modified and cancelled after said date were liable for the full stay charges.

There is no $200 phantom charge. You were charged %109.00 plus taxes and hotel service fees for a duration of 5 nights, all in accordance with your group contract.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband & I booked for 5 nights in August 2013, The place was a dump! there was evidence of water damage which is probably why it smelled so bad in the room, the bed sheets were dirty and smelly, the walls were paper thin, I couldn't sleep because there were people yelling and slamming doors almost all night. I didn't feel safe at all!! In the morning we checked out to find another cleaner, safer hotel, and they charged us for the full 5 nights!!!! They absolutely refuse to give us a refund for the charge of $109.00/night!!! and we only stayed for 1 night!!! The owner is a scammer because if you book on-line the charge is $69.00/night! but I wouldn't stay there again if you paid me! Take my advice.....do NOT stay there!! there are plenty of other hotels in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trips082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager0101, Front Office Manager at Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

"Trips082013" Your reservation was booked in accordance with the Lucas/ Agnew (DOG COMPETITION) group. Arrival Date: Wednesday, August 28, 2013 Departure Date: Monday, September 2, 2013. The contract details for this group were as follows "The rate for each non-smoking room with 2 Double beds per night will be $109.00 plus taxes and hotel service fees. Hotel must receive notice of cancellation and/or modification of rooms by July 28, 2013." All reservations modified and cancelled after said date were liable for the full stay charges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We used Booking.com & got a fantastic price. The room was a little on the small side & we had to walk up exterior stairs to our 2nd floor room. The room was clean, the staff was pleasant & the free breakfast was better than expected: scrambled eggs, coffee, juice, cereal, muffins, pancakes, etc. Wifi is only in public areas & it is available. We'd stay there again if we were going to this area. Very good mattresses & very firm pillows. Convenient location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PsycoRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager0101, Front Office Manager at Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear PsycoRobin, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to accommodating you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff who might have helped "canddfehlauer" must have left. Remaining staff unwilling to do anything at all to help. I requested a coffee pot. It was only the first of several requests that was ignored, or disparaged. They did not replace a non-working tv remote, or fix a broken bed. Worst of all, we were going to stay 5 nights to attend a conference nearby. They charged the credit card for all 5 nights up front, and of course refused to refund. Finally got so bad we had to check out, and take the risk that we could not get help from the credit card company. They had a very loud party one night, and of course ignored all requests to turn down the music so I could sleep. LOUD music went on until 1:30, and I had to be up early. I asked the staff at a local starbucks. They told me that they don't even walk close by there. It is a known hangout for drug addicts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager0101, Front Office Manager at Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Rebecca D, thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about your stay.

Currently the property is undergoing a large scale renovation project. We continuously strive to meet all industry standards and exceed consumer needs.

We extend our sincerest apologies and encourage you to try us again. We will do everything we can to ensure your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you need a cheap place to stay and don't care about amenities this place is clean and comfortable for a good price. Nearly 1/2 the price of neighboring hotels. Request anything you need - we requested a mini fridge and it was ready and waiting when we got there. Coffee pot not included so request it if you want one. Decent hot breakfast - scrambled eggs and potatoes for the continental breakfast as well as the typical toast, cereal, etc...
Very comfortable and in a good location - easy access and within 1/2 mile to several restaurants.
The one exterior wall where the door & windows are was not very sound proof so you could hear other guests walking by, but other than that no complaints.
Not a 5 star hotel but great for those on a budget that just want a clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canddfehlauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager0101, Front Office Manager at Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Canddfehlauer, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my family in July as we were desperately searching for a hotel with an outdoor pool. It was the only hotel that had one so we booked it over the phone and drove there from Fishkill. Upon arrival, we noticed that it was a small motel, not what we are accustomed to. However, it had a pool so we decided one night won;t be too bad. We immediately changed into our bathing suits and headed for the pool. It was huge and up to 9ft. deep. The only problem was if you wanted to swim past 5ft. you would have to swim in green water!!! The manager assured us the rooms would be freezing at night. When we arrived to the rooms after dinner it was hotter in the rooms than it was outside. The air conditioner made an incredibly loud noise all night. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs and home fries that I wouldn't touch and Sunny-D. Will not be staying in Newburgh again. Didn't really care for the atmosphere. The one redeeming quality of the motel was the staff. The let us check in early and check out late. Very friendly and accomadating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager0101, Front Office Manager at Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Mrs. linda b, thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about your stay. We sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction and if we failed to meet your expectations.

During our last set of renovations the bottom of the pool had been painted a sea-foam green color. Water is translucent and it is reflecting the color of the paint. We assure you the water is clean and PH balanced.

We encourage you to try us again. We will do everything we can to ensure your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Worst hotel night ever. It was a very warm night and the air conditioning was not working. I went to the front desk and was told that they could not do anything. I asked for a fan, and they had not any left. We had to use wet towels to try to freshen up and my daughter even slept on the ground because her bed was too hot !

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank kcirtap70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager0101, Front Office Manager at Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear kcirtap70, thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about your stay. We sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction and if we failed to meet your expectations.

During your stay our area was in the midst of a heat wave. Our A/C units kept up to their capacity, but their is only so much to be done versus mother nature. It is not normally our hotel policy to provide fans to patrons. However Management gave out any and all fans on a first come first serve basis.

We apologize for the inconvenience and encourage you to try us again. We will do everything we can to ensure your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburgh
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newburgh Stewart Airport
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
8.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge

Address: 90 Route 17k, I-84 Exit 6, Newburgh, NY 12550-5008 (Formerly Knights Inn Newburgh)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Newburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newburgh
Price Range: $76 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center ... 121 Rooms and continental breakfast Mon - Fri 6 - 9 am and on the weekends Hot breakfast from 7-10 am. We have plenty of parking and room for buses. The Fitness Center and Business Center are ready for use. 3000 Square Feet of Conference Space & Catering Services for your meeting or party needs.Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center is close to the US Military Academy at West Point, Woodbury Commons Shopping Center, and the Newburgh Waterfront. Local restaurants include Fridays, Chilis, Applebees, and Cosimos on Union for fine Italian dining. Shopping in our area includes the Newburgh Mall, Kohls, Walmart, and others. The Hudson Valley is noted for fine wineries including Brotherhood Winery and Benmarl Vineyards.Stay to visit the historic Hudson Valley sites including The Purple Heart Hall of Honor, and West Point. Experience Adams Fairacre Farms, Orange County Choppers, or take "The Pride of the Hudson" on a Hudson River Adventures cruise to Bannerman Island. Bar is open 6 days a week. Some weekends will have special themed events or musical entertainment. Ask about the special room rates for yourself and your love.Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center welcomes groups and provides Catering. We have 5 meeting rooms with a total of 3000 Square Feet. Let us work with you to set up a successful meeting or party. Aqua restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner . The restaurant with dance floor is also available for meetings, that special corporate event, a catered function or a wedding.This beautiful 10+ acre property exterior access to your room for easy, convenient and free parking. Our corporate rates are perfect for the extended stay and truck parking is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Valley Hotel Newburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing