We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioning not working and no fan available”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Air conditioning not working and no fan available”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Worst hotel night ever. It was a very warm night and the air conditioning was not working. I went to the front desk and was told that they could not do anything. I asked for a fan, and they had not any left. We had to use wet towels to try to freshen up and my daughter even slept on the ground because her bed was too hot !

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kcirtap70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager0101, Front Office Manager at Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear kcirtap70, thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about your stay. We sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction and if we failed to meet your expectations.

During your stay our area was in the midst of a heat wave. Our A/C units kept up to their capacity, but their is only so much to be done versus mother nature. It is not normally our hotel policy to provide fans to patrons. However Management gave out any and all fans on a first come first serve basis.

We apologize for the inconvenience and encourage you to try us again. We will do everything we can to ensure your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    14
    15
    63
See reviews for
42
12
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Going to my nephews graduation, we chose this hotel. It was so filthy we slept on top of the bed and used our raincoats as blankets. I wore shoes/flip flops the entire stay. Walking on the bathroom floor your shoe would stick. There was never any breakfast which I would not have eaten even if there was. For the amount of money charged, you should be ashamed of yourselves! Nasty , nasty, nasty!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria020688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager0101, Manager at Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Maria020688, thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about your stay. We extend our sincerest apologies .Words cannot express the disappointment we feel knowing that one of our patrons left feeling any dissatisfaction and if we failed to meet your expectations.

We encourage you to try us again. We will do everything we can to ensure your satisfaction.


Warm Regards,

Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here from May 15th to the 18th and although the mattress was very comfortable, the pillows are hard lumps of foam rubber. Miserable to sleep on!

Extremely noisy neighbors and apparently paper thin walls allowed us to hear everything going on in adjoining rooms.

Otherwise clean with basic necessities and a pleasant shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager0101, Front Office Manager at Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Royedingauer, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Rundown, wornout rooms. Noisy frat party guests. Depressing breakfast room. Incredibly loud air conditioner that didnt really work. Broken shades on windows. Shower was good. Would never stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
7 Thank LouiseW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager0101, Front Office Manager at Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Mrs. Sally L, Mr. William B, thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about your stay. We sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction and if we failed to meet your expectations.

We encourage you to try us again. We will do everything we can to ensure your satisfaction.


Warm Regards,

Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Staying at this hotel is seriously bad for your health. Moldy walls, roaches, peeling wallpaper greet you as you arrive. A pervasive odor fills the air. The toilet bowl was stained and looked as though it had not been cleaned for a while. The front desk was not staffed for most of my stay.

The restaurant is unhygenic.

The operators of this establishment must be comatose. At times I was worried about the structural integrity of the building. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyManager0101, Front Office Manager at Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Mr. William B, thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about your stay. We sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction and if we failed to meet your expectations.

Currently the property is undergoing a reclamation project. We continuously strive to meet all industry standards and exceed consumer needs.

We encourage you to try us again. We will do everything we can to ensure your satisfaction.


Warm Regards,

Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburgh
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newburgh Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
8.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge

Property: Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge
Address: 90 Route 17k, I-84 Exit 6, Newburgh, NY 12550-5008 (Formerly Knights Inn Newburgh)
Location: United States > New York > Newburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Newburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center ... 121 Rooms and continental breakfast Mon - Fri 6 - 9 am and on the weekends Hot breakfast from 7-10 am. We have plenty of parking and room for buses. The Fitness Center and Business Center are ready for use. 3000 Square Feet of Conference Space & Catering Services for your meeting or party needs.Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center is close to the US Military Academy at West Point, Woodbury Commons Shopping Center, and the Newburgh Waterfront. Local restaurants include Fridays, Chilis, Applebees, and Cosimos on Union for fine Italian dining. Shopping in our area includes the Newburgh Mall, Kohls, Walmart, and others. The Hudson Valley is noted for fine wineries including Brotherhood Winery and Benmarl Vineyards.Stay to visit the historic Hudson Valley sites including The Purple Heart Hall of Honor, and West Point. Experience Adams Fairacre Farms, Orange County Choppers, or take "The Pride of the Hudson" on a Hudson River Adventures cruise to Bannerman Island. Bar is open 6 days a week. Some weekends will have special themed events or musical entertainment. Ask about the special room rates for yourself and your love.Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center welcomes groups and provides Catering. We have 5 meeting rooms with a total of 3000 Square Feet. Let us work with you to set up a successful meeting or party. Aqua restaurant opens daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner . The restaurant with dance floor is also available for meetings, that special corporate event, a catered function or a wedding.This beautiful 10+ acre property exterior access to your room for easy, convenient and free parking. Our corporate rates are perfect for the extended stay and truck parking is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hudson Valley Hotel and Conference Center by FairBridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Valley Hotel Newburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing