We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of the price of specials!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cena 2000

Cena 2000
Ranked #35 of 175 Restaurants in Newburgh
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
High Falls, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beware of the price of specials!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice enough dinner until the check came and we found that our filet mignon entrees were $42. The entrees don't come with soup or salad etc, and this one was a bed of arugula with about six slices of steak on top....$42!? I did have an inkling that we should ask the price of the specials, but the other entrees on the menu were under $25.
The homemade pasta was well made but was drowning in a heavy cream sauce with almost no crab. Seafood salad, one of my favorites, was adequate and was only made with the cheaper seafood. Of course the price didn't reflect that.
The view was nice, but to tell the truth the heated porch was chilly and actually had that old catering hall smell. We liked our waiter, but there were no Italians anywhere in this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    51
    34
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We decided to take a stroll along the marina at Newburgh on Sunday & we stopped at Cena 2000 for a drink, it has a great outside bar area which forms a semi circle facing the boats moored in the marina. The bar staff were very pleasant & we decided to stay for dinner.
There is a large indoor dinning area as well as a considerable outside area, we sat out side they had patio heaters so it wasn't too cold.
The menu has a good selection suitable for all tastes & they also have a large selection of specials.
My husband had the Tuscan fish stew which he was a little disappointed with because it consisted only of sea food, there was no fish in the dish. My be it should be described as Tuscan Sea food stew.
I had the steamed halibut from the specials & it was excellent & my friend had the ravioli with mushroom sauce which she said was very good.
The waiting staff provided adequate service although the restaurant wasn't particularly busy but the head waiter/ hostess didn't acknowledge us at all. the bar man how served us when we fist arrived did say good bye even though he was busy " he could teach the restaurant staff a lesson in hospitality.
The evening was pleasant although rather expensive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GailStanway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go to a diner and save 75%”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just horrible food and a nice location. Really a shame, this could be a great venue.
The Veal Scaloppini was thin, dry, bland grilled veal with cold onions and sliced cherry tomatoes on top. It was absolutely the most horrible dish I have ever been served in a restaurant. I sent it back claiming correctly that it was inedible and asked for a bowl of Pasta fagioli to get the taste out of my mouth. That also turned out to be a mistake as Campbell's chicken noodle soup would have blown this bland terrible slop away. Stay away at all costs!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slowalkingjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Too pricy for quality of food. It was ok. Will not come back though for an average tasting meal for over $30 per plate. Calamari chewy. Filet minion just a slab of meat on a plate, no presentation. No oil for bread on table, just a bowl of crushed red pepper.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meLOONiaMEloonIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Surprised disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Most fine restaurants the host/hostess greets you with a smile and welcomes you, but on Saturday night the first words out of the mans mouth at the front desk was " You have a reservation?" not Welcome or good evening, not even a smile. It was like we were bothering him, the managers needs to go to Disney training and maybe understand that the people walking through their door are the ones supporting their establishment.. He did seat us right away though, but then we went invisible for about 15 minutes. Waiters and head waiters passing us by, even the water boy filling up glasses of water on tables next to us but again, we were invisible. We almost got up and walked out ,but finally the head waitress who was very nice and attentive gave us menus and took our order. During dinner I expect to have my glass of water refilled with out asking and i hate that i have to ask for more water ,you should not have to ask. The food and view were good but a bit over priced, especially the kind of service we received. Upon leaving the same host was at the door but way too busy to thank us for coming in or to say good evening, we actually had to ask him and his freinds to excuse us to make way to exit the door way.He was too busy talking to his freinds and having a good time. He appeared to be the owner or head manager. I am very surprised and i have eaten here before over a year ago or so and it was never this bad. If your going to pay top dollar for a meal then you should get top dollar service from the staff.It's the small things people look for and a smile goes a long way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cena 2000 also viewed

 

Been to Cena 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing