We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson
Ranked #2 of 9 Newburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is a great house. It's old and feels classic, from the gorgeous wood in the floors, walls and railings to the layout and details. The room was very comfortable (we stayed in the Queen Anne room) and having a fireplace was very, very romantic. Nancy & Parish took great care of us and were always happy to answer any questions and go the extra mile to make sure we were taken care of.

There's not much to do in Newburgh, but it's so close to Beacon and New Paltz and there's so much to do nearby.

All in all, it's a really great place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itsmehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 100 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent a very relaxing evening and morning (September 28/29, 2012) at the Stockbridge Ramsdell House B&B in Newburgh, NY. This large, graceful Victorian on Montgomery Street in the historic district of Newburgh overlooking the Hudson River has been restored to its authentic 1870 origins. It is loaded with interesting architectural details, yet there is nothing precious or prissy about it. And with its modern baths and conveniences, innkeeper Nancy Russell has planned for the complete comfort of her guests. Relaxing in the commodious, well-appointed parlor, we could imagine the original owner, Homer Stockbridge Ramsdell, President of the Erie Railroad having his evening brandy as he contemplated the future of the beautiful Hudson Valley.

We stayed in the lovely Queen Ann room and awoke from a wonderful night’s sleep to a spectacular view of mist rising off the Hudson. The towels in the full private bath were softer than the towels in our own home. We followed the smell of Nancy’s freshly made apple muffins to breakfast in the bright sun room off the warm kitchen. And what an abundant breakfast it was. It was typical of Nancy’s sense of hospitality that when I explained that decaf was my morning drink of choice, a pot went onto the stove and decaf appeared soon with delicious French toast and sausage. Breakfast talk was of Storm King, apple picking, and architectural gems in the area. Nancy’s knowledge of the area and her low-key manner helped to make us feel at home. We looked out the panoramic windows at the Hudson River with the Newburgh-Beacon Bridge to our North. And as we peered over a thick stand of trees with their still-green leaves, we were already planning a return to this comfortable B&B for Fall colors.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoltanNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed a couple of times with and without our two teenage children. It is such a comfortable place with fantastic views of the Hudson. With our teenagers it gave us plenty or room to spread out & to feel at home. Nancy and Parrish are relaxed and engaging hosts who make so many things easy for you like storing your bikes. The final treat was a most delicious breakfast!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank eric_ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Ferry Crossing Room at Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson sports an exquisite view of the river, and comfortable furnishings for one or many nights. The house itself is very pleasant yet unpretentious. Nancy and Parrish are gracious and active hosts. The casual atmosphere immediately enables guests to feel right at home. Newburgh is marvelously historical, and sits at the center of variety-filled destinations for a rich array of daytrips. This is a place that one wants to return to . . . . Rich & Betsy, July, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReavesBurmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the Beau Rivage room. The room and the sun porch are quite spacious. Our daughter gets up early so we were able to watch the sunrise- gorgeous view. The room was very comfortable. There is a new mobile air conditioner that is well-positioned, and it kept the room at a nice temperature on a very hot day/night. (Others had complained about the air conditioning, but the situation has been fixed.) The breakfast was delicious, and Nancy actually baked a cake because she knew it was our daughter's birthday. We had a great visit.

Also, we were visiting Dia Beacon and Storm King, and it was very easy to get everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a great place to hold a small quiting retreat with very good friends. I have organized over 50 retreats in the past 15+ years and this location will become a yearly destination. My group was slightly larger than Nancy usually handles but once settled in, the group easily cooperated and shared the working space. The sleeping accomodations were excellent with well appointed and clean rooms. Being an antique collector, I loved the antique furnishings and the art on the wall depicting the Hudson Valley and other appropriate themes. The food was plentiful, varied and freshly prepared every meal: fresh fuit with the morning breakfast selection, fresh vegetables, salads and home made desserts along with the main entre for lunch and dinner. Nancy accomodates those with special dietary needs. She was willing to change meal times to accomodate my group. She was an excellent hostess, available for special request (where are the neartest quilt shops? can you pick up such and such when you go to the store?) but not intrusive into my group. The caretaker, Parrish, was 'Johnny on the spot' for our every need in carrying luggage up and down to our rooms, sewing supplies to and from the sewing area, serving the meals and anything else he could do to make our stay more enjoyable. The view of the Hudson River is spectacular from every level in the house including a view of the Newburgh-Beacon Bridge on Route 84. The river front is within easy walking distance - although be prepared to walk back UP the hill. My group looks forward to its return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was a lovely experience. The Inn is historic, beautiful and cozy. Innkeeper Nancy Russell was attentive but not hovering and gave us delicious meals. The rooms are well-appointed, charming and very clean. And, the view! Absolutely spectacular. I highly recommend the Stockbridge Ramsdell Bed and Breakfast - a jewel in the Hudson Valley. Sharon C

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newburgh
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
2.4 mi away
Roundhouse
Roundhouse
#2 of 2 in Beacon
195 reviews
5.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh
5.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Newburgh Stewart Airport
3.3 mi away
Super 8 Newburgh - West Point Stewart Intl Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson

Address: 158 Montgomery St, Newburgh, NY
Location: United States > New York > Newburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Newburgh
Price Range: $125 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson, is a graceful Queen Anne Victorian, located in the beautiful historic district of Newburgh, New York. Built in 1870, it is situated on a hill above the Hudson with panoramic river views. We are 55 miles from Manhattan and accessible by public transportation via MetroNorth to Beacon. Our five comfortable guest rooms are air-conditioned in season and furnished with antiques and luxurious linens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing