We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Restaurant”
Review of El Solar Cafe

El Solar Cafe
Ranked #29 of 180 Restaurants in Newburgh
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Latin, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A CHARMING LITTLE PLACE IN THE MIDDLE OF UPSTATE NEWBURGH NY OFFERS NOW A PERFECT COMBINATION OF ECLECTIC LATIN & MEDITERRANEAN DISHES AND ONE OF THE MUST DELICATE AMBIANCE IN TOWN, COME TO TASTE THE FLAVORS BLESSING FROM THE SUN, HERE IN THE PERFECT SPOT THAT WE CALL "EL SOLAR" WHICH MEANS "NUESTRA NOBLE CASA" OUR LOVELY HOUSE.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Restaurant”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were staying in Newburgh on our way to the Cape. Intrigued by the TripAdvisor reviews, we went to El Solar Cafe for dinner. Its quality and our experience exceeded our expectations. The food was spectacular and the service even more so. It is a wonderful family enterprise; we were delighted to meet and talk with all of them. This is a must visit, worth a trip to Newburgh!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    14
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Welcome Surprise”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A friend and I took a road trip to the New England coast and on our way back decided to spend the night in Newburgh before heading home. Neither of us had been to this area and upon entering the restaurant were welcome with an outstanding experience. The wine was a generous pour! The specials that the waiter quoted seemed to originate for the Greek Isles. Wished I lived closer! I would definitely come back!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennieKeyPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Culinary Oasis in Downtown Newburgh”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Been to El Solar Cafe twice (and counting) and have had a great experience both times. The food is expertly prepared and the husband and wife team that run the restaurant handle the service and both do an excellent job.
There are always many delicious sounding specials offered, as well as a pretty diverse menu. There are many fish and seafood offerings.
I would say the menu is somewhat Italian, but with South Amercan influence, but not overly Spanish (hopefully that makes sense).
There are a handful of outside tables for sidewalk dining, if Al Fresco would interest on pleasant evenings.
Full bar and cocktails are expertly prepared.
Atmosphere is very nice and decorated very tastefully with nicknacks and artwork throughout. Comfortable seating, as well (very important to me; we've all sat in those booths that we wished we hadn't sat in)
This is one place that I will be back to many times ...... you will enjoy it too. Give it a try !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
2 reviews
“Newburgh Treasure”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Last evening I visited El Solar Cafe for approximately the seventh time. On this occasion I brought out-of-town visitors, both of whom were as delighted with this restaurant as I have been. Dinner was as delicious as usual and beautifully served, Most importantly, the owners made us feel not only welcome, but very special guests. Food, decor, and service are all first-rate. This is truly a hidden treasure in the city of Newburgh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Himrod
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I had the opportunity to dine at the El Solar Café in Newburgh, NY. It was excellent. I had calamari as an appetizer, then a shrimp dish that was also delicious. The owner checked on us to make certain all was well. The service was fantastic. I can’t wait to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Solar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing