We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Diner...order Diner food”
Review of The Gateway Diner - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Gateway Diner
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's a Diner...order Diner food”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have dined at Gateway plenty of times. I think the exterior is nice, and the interior is nice as well. Diners typically have a bizzillion things on the menu. I typically have the specials or the main-stream items like burgers or breakfast. There were a few dishes that perhaps shouldn't be experimented with if the chef has never had that authentic food. Example would be ordering sushi at a diner - I'M NOT SAYING GATEWAY OFFERS THIS - it's an example.

The salad bar is good, there is all the veggies you want and there are typically 2 soups. I usually have the salad bar, Anyway - it's clean, always friendly and reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    2
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Very nice diner”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a very conveniently located, clean diner. Food is tasty, attractively presented and reasonably priced. Good stopping off spot for a break if you're traveling on the NYS Thruway, Rt. 84 or Rt. 300.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emptynesters09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW WINDSOR
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Nothing special here, you're often treated like they are doing you a favor. Average food for a higher price. Not my favorite. Staff seems like it could care if you are there

Helpful?
Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really Disappointing”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Having passed it a number of times in the past and commenting on how nice the place looked, we recently had the occasion to try the Gateway for pre-flight bite as a substitute for the Stewart Airport Snack Bar. While the diner appears glistening from the parking lot, it is somewhat different on the inside. Tacky, faded, cheaply-framed posters adorn a mostly un-polished--and sticky--90's era classic diner interior. Frankly, the place appeared not to have had a thorough cleaning since it was built. While the operation claims to have a CIA trained chef in it's employ, he/she must have had the day off. Generally, I can tell how good a diner is by their cheeseburger. If that is good--and it should be at a diner--we will graduate to a Turkey Club next, then on. In the Gateway's case they'll be no turkey sandwich. The burger was barely edible and the fries were cold (maybe because the waiter and most of the other employees were enjoying televised soccer, ignoring the 'crowd' of 5 or 6 guests). A chicken frajita was surely prepared from a frozen envelope. Should have held out for the airport snack bar--or at least Johnny D's Diner down the road. (They progressed past the Turkey Club a while back).

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ebz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Denied service to disabled patron with service dog”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

After many hours of exhausting travel on the way to help a family member who had just been hospitalized, we stopped for some dinner in Newburgh, NY. July 1, 2011, at approximately 7:20 PM, the self-identified owner of the Gateway Diner in Newburgh refused service to our family based on the fact a family member was accompanied by a (task trained, ID identified, organization certified, vest wearing, well-behaved and groomed) service animal.

When told the dog was a service animal, the self-identified owner, continued to wave his arms at us and said that unless the dog was a "for a blind person", we would have to leave. He said as the owner, this was a private place and he could do as he pleased. When attempting again to tell him that the dog was a "service dog" he continued to wave his arms demanding we leave and not allowing us to speak to him. He was given the written (American's with Disabilities) law on the front and back of an index card. I also attempted to show the organization placement certification card I carry but the owner would not allow any discussion. We were not allowed to speak at all. The owner constantly spoke over me every time I attempted to explain. He continued to wave his arms. He ordered us out of the restaurant saying (to the card with the ADA written on it) that he was not interested.

I asked him to give me his name again. He refused at least 6 times to give me his name. An alleged off duty police officer in the restaurant also refused to identify himself. We left and went back to the car. We called the local police department to document the denial of access to a person with a disability accompanied by a service dog. The report was taken.

While making a police report to the Newburgh police, the owner came out of the restaurant to the car and told us he could put us in a "back room". I guess he thought this 2nd class citizen" accommodation" was sufficient to cover his blatant violation of the ADA. However this just added insult to injury. We told him no thank you and that he had already upset my family enough and again was in violation of the ADA. He continued waving he arms and left.

We felt as though we might have just taken a trip in the "Wayback" machine – way back to a time when people of color were told they could not eat in diners and other places simply due to their race.

Bottom line - The owner of Gateway Diner is in violation of NY State Civil rights laws as well as Federal Law under the American's with Disabilities Act (more than 20 years old). We will be filing a complaint with the Federal authorities as well as any other NY state entity protecting the civil rights of individuals with disabilities. The good news is that we went across the parking lot to Chillis and were welcomed with open arms - I highly recommend the good people and fine food in Chillis. They even provided water for our service dog.
I would encourage those with a conscience and who believe in social justice not to support establishments that discriminate against people just because they have a disability.

My family member's service dog has been in service since 2006, He has accompanied his partner on airlines, the Amtrak Auto Train, he's been to Disney 2x, and he's met former President Jimmy Carter as well as had his picture taken with the Gov. He is certified by the organization who placed him and is re-certified with their director of training annually. The service dog at the time of placement, had more than 500 hours of specialized training. He’s since been working almost 6 years. The cost to raise, task train and place him was over $20,000.

A service dog is not a pet, they are considered necessary durable medical equipment. Denying access to a someone with a disability (partnered with a service dog) is a violation of the law and is also just morally WRONG.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Annienonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Internet response at The Gateway Diner, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Contrary to what you have have posted there are five eyewitness accounts of the incident you so ineptly describe. Your animal was NOT wearing a vest, The animal was not under controll, as three witness's stated to the United States Assistant Attorney, on a leash. Nor was it harnessed tethered or otherwise under control as required by the ADA. You would not answere the two questions which we are allowed to ask as per the revised ADA requirements for Service Animals. 1) is the dog a service animal required because of a disability and 2) what work or task has has the dog been trained to preform. Your only answere to these questions was " It is a service dog and that is all you need to know". The two lawyers that you had contact us were told what had transpired and they never called back or sent any letter. We have provided the Assistant United States attorney with letters from the five witnesses and a copy of the police desk report which only states that you called and the reason you called and that they were taking no action. The attorney is also receiving copies of your online posts.
We do accept service dogs and have several customers who come to dine and bring their service dogs. Those animals are leashed or harnessed. They do not interact with anyone but their owner. They are calm and quite and lay under the table . Our staff is familiar with service and guide dogs and they and their owners are most welcomed customers.
You may and probably do not have a service dog however your attitude and demeanor and unwillingness to answere the allowed questions precluded our allowing your dog to enter the diner. If you should ever be in the area again and have your animal leashed or under some form of controll and you answere the questins that the ADA allows us to ask you will be welcomed .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gateway Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing