We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly staff and horrible food”

Billy Joes Ribworks
Ranked #5 of 180 Restaurants in Newburgh
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: 845-565-1560 Zipcode 12550
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unfriendly staff and horrible food”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

the very first time i went there they IDd me at the door at like 6 PM when i was going for dinner. the prime rib was an absolute joke and some security guy yoked me for smoking outside. ever since then ive been going out of my way to inform people how much better brians backyard is Brian's Backyard BBQ has REAL BBQ, not that fake crap Billy Joe's Ribworks tries to push off as BBQ, id rather have a mcrib over anything from Billy Joe's Ribworks

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    144
    93
    40
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stop and eat on the way back from upstate.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were headed back from Saratoga to our home in Staten Island and decided to look for a restaurant in Newburgh and came across this place. We decided that it seemed the same cost of the major chains like Applebees, Fridays etc, so we went. We we're pleasantly surprised it was on the Hudson River with a gorgeous view through the large windows on the waterfront. We were say right away (it was about 6pm on a Monday night) and our waitress was pleasant and helpful. The food wax good, plentiful and priced as we expected. It cost us the same amount for a family of 4 as if we went to any chain restaurant but the atmosphere was way better. There were vintage style signs hanging, a beautiful view of the river and mountains, and was not something you can just find in any old neighborhood. I definitely recommend eating here, a 10 minute ride from I87 and easy to get back on as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Healthygina-aol-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callicoon, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, louzy parking”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went there yesterday for the first time, with family, loved the food, service was very good the place was crazy busy. We wanted to sit outside on the water but it would have been a 25 minute wait. Unfortunatly that just wouldn't have worked with the people we were with. Our waitress was wonderful and very quick to help our every need but get us to an outside table. So we ate inside, there the decor was fun to look at but you couldn't carry on a conversation to save your life. Way way way to loud. So go enjoy your food and the suroundings of the hudson river good for people watching, get your belly full. But don't think your going to geta word in because the band was to loud. I know that where the reasturant is in Newburgh, NY on Front Street but there was only two handicapped parking spots, really need to change that. If you cannot walk a far distance, hard to be dropped off and then go find a spot to park. Very busy street. Your party drops you off and then you wonder if there every coming back to join you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not that good this time”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our first visit, the food was the star, not so this time. We dined with another couple and I didn't want to complain in front of them.....they don't like when I do! I ordered a combination platter that included a half rack of St. Louis ribs, they were awful, dry as a bone chewy and not edible. The waitress didn't question the ribs being left on the plate and my not wanting to take them home. I would have asked the manager to bring me something edible in their place if not for the couple we were with. I can't blame them for that, but where is the standard? Why would any chef send out that product? Terrible. The pulled pork was excellent, so if we go again I will stick to the pulled pork.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chefspalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Scenic”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The food was ok but if you eat outside it's quite scenic. They are literally right on the water! (Inside reminded me of a cafeteria.)

The waitress was a doll - polite and friendly - she really went out of her way. Loved her.
Food was ok. Unfortunately since we sat next to the railing overlooking the water we had a slight problem with gnats. I covered my drink with a napkin. Live music was playing which was very nice!
I recommend for the music and the view, but don't sit right next to the railing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gram777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Joes Ribworks also viewed

 

Been to Billy Joes Ribworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing