We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bannerman's Castle Tour”

Bannerman Cruise & Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Newburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pollepel Bannerman Island Cruise and WalkingTours. Explore the mystery and enjoy the history of Bannerman Island! Board the Pollepel for a 30 minute trip to the island, where you get a guided tour. May 1 - October 31. Saturdays, Sundays, and Selected Fridays. Call or visit web for full schedule.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bannerman's Castle Tour”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Took a day trip with a friend to Newburgh, NY to explore Bannerman's Castle. Although there is an option to go on the island unguided during certain parts of the year, I definitely recommend the guided tour. The sight of this one impressive munitions factory is amazing. The history you learn from the tour guide (Wes) almost transports you back in time, to imagine what it was like living on this remote, little island with no power or running water. It makes the visit that much more interesting. I thoroughly enjoyed my time here. If the sight of the ruins does not impress you, check out the amazing views you get of the Hudson Valley on a clear day. They're breathtaking.

Totally worth the price of the tour and all of the proceeds go towards preserving this historic site. They hold special events and even a special photography tour during certain parts of the year. Check their site for the schedule.

PS - this is a very primitive island. Still no running water or power. No active toilets - just port-a-potties. Also, if you have difficulty walking, you may have trouble walking around parts of the island. Some parts are pretty steep and there only a few paved trails. However, most of the seniors walking with us were able to manage through most of it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Linda929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Site Not to Miss!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Although there is a very active group trying to preserve what is left of Bannerman's Island - do not wait to see this wonderful spot before more is lost & hear the incredible story of the Bannerman's. A trust is trying to stablilize the structures still standing with some lovely fundraisers like a musical presentation of Show Boat this summer by our local Opera Company headed by Claudia Cummings - see their website. We have also been there for the regular island tour and are so impressed with the docents knowledge, pictures of it in its prime & commitment to its preservation. When I first moved to the area in the late 70' s I remember a native Newburger recalling to me that he remembered his Mother taking him to tea with Mrs. Bannerman in their row boat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Clancy159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had seen the Bannerman Castle on my trips by train from New York to Albany but did not know the history behind the structure. The tour was great with a knowledgeable guide named Wes. Take the tour for yourself and learn about Francis Bannerman and his family and why he built these wonderful strctures.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank amezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bannerman Island”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Cruise was ontime and enjoyable; volunteer guides on the island were very knowledgeable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“See Bannerman Castle Before It Crumbles Away!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We took a boat from Beacon, NY, which was enclosed and kept us out of the scorching sun on this hot July Sunday afternoon. The windows were open and the breezes were refreshing. On the half hour trips to and from the island, the director kept us entertained by describing points of interest as we passed them, and showed a short video. After landing, we climbed seventy-two steps, then followed dirt paths around the island, so wear your walking shoes. The walking tour lasted about an hour and a half. Basically, there are two structures --the ruins of a residence and the ruins of three warehouses (warehouses all connected to each other) built of brick & mortar in the early 1900s. Beautiful ruins that keep falling down a little more each year. Therefore, it's not safe to get too close, so you are not allowed to. The structures were built to resemble Scottish castles. There was a fire in the 70s that burned the entire island for three days. After that, the island was left alone and became overgrown with vines, weeds and trees. Awhile ago they started beating back the brush, clearing paths, and re-establishing gardens so this beautiful site can be enjoyed once again. Ruins of a Scottish castle on an island in the middle of the Hudson is something you should see it before it crumbles away!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank HappyHelloHowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bannerman Cruise & Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to Bannerman Cruise & Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing