We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family day”

Lawrence Farms Orchards
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Newburgh
Attraction details
Highland, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great family day”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a great time with the family playing in the little village, walking around the store, and picking our own fruits and veggies. The food there was reasonably priced, but not too fantastic. A picnic would've been a better option. Bring your sunscreen n say hi to the animals!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathrynT29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    11
    8
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to visit for a couple of hours. Grounds are beautiful with really nice views of the surrounding hills. Very quiet and peaceful way to spend some time. The selection of fruits and vegetables available for picking (depending on the season, of course) is varied and interesting. They are somewhat expensive to purchase upon your leave, but you can always look at that as in place of an admission fee (which there isn't).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMJ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For the prices they charge, they should pay customers for picking...”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Prices on average are at least twice the price, if not triple the price, of supermarkets, and supermarkets have it picked and delivered to your neighborhood market for purchase. Not only were cherries $7+ per pound, but donut peaches were $4.99 per pound and regular peaches $3.99. Why bother spending the money for gas and stomping around a large farm to pick your own if it's not to get great quality at a reasonable price. They even threaten to charge you for sampling. We felt taken after paying for the fruit we picked, which truly took away from the experience.

This was my last time visiting Lawrence Farms. There are too many other farms to pick from.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 15Zap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family day”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Love Lawerence farms orchards. I have been coming since I was a kid and now I bring my own. Great day to experience picking veggies or fruit. They have a lot to offer. The views are amazing and bring a picnic lunch or have a snack they offer a concession stand on site. Its a good wholesome family fun day or romantic walk through the orchards. They have goats, horse and ducks to check out amongst other things to do great day trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank superstevek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“ARE YOU KIDDING?”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I pick our own sour cherries every year. We usually make an event of it and sometimes drive an hour or so to a farm, usually the Hudson area. Today we arrived at Lawrence farm-bucket in hand and saw the price per pound sign (in the orchard) I guess most people that get that far 't turn back. To add insult to injury there was also a sign asking people not to sample more than one or two cherries. Okay ,their price pound $7 INSANE!!! Please don't come here to pick cherries. Every place up a bit is $2 a pound and you can sample all you want. These people are %@&$%@#$@ disgusting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank ssproutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawrence Farms Orchards also viewed

 

Been to Lawrence Farms Orchards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing