We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WORTH GOING”

Gus's Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #11 of 61 Restaurants in New Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
chester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH GOING”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We went for the prime rib and it was terrible. The PRIME RIB had no taste and when we said something the owners didn't try to fix the problem instead they got mad and said nothing was wrong with the meat and we should like it. They never asked if we would like anything else instead. Waitress service was just as bad. She never came back to the table to see if we needed anything else or if we needed refills on the drinks .There was no reason for the waitress not to come back since she only had one other table. Resturant was not crowded at all. We were looking so forward to this prime rib and were very upset with results. I would not go back and would tell people it is not worth going to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lsb118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, N.Y.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My kinda food!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Nice clean and servicable with a rich atmosphere and delicious menu items!!!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good sandwiches and steaks”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The service is great and the food is too, particularly sandwiches and steaks.

Helpful?
Thank GroundwaterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
368 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Went there with my husband and adult son on a Wednesday night. One other customer in the restaurant (other than the bar patrons). The waitress was excellent. Food was good, but definitely overpriced. If you're not wild over German food or beef, you're out of luck. A lot of fried foods listed on the menu. There were no free refills on soda. That's just silly! How much does soda cost compared to the price of the menu items?? I can't say there was anything extraordinary here to draw us back another time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emptynesters09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always great service and food!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We eat at Gus's at least once a month...We always bring different people with us and it is always a hit. We love the oysters and the prime rib is amazing but be sure to call ahead!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank felicity31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Gus's Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing