We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Always top notch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Have been staying at this property on a regular basis since 10/2011. Property and rooms are very clean. Facilites are always well maintained and secure. Breakfasts and dinners are very good quality. Staff is very friendly, helpful and very attentive to details. Have never had a bad experience yet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbbrn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyRusso, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear barbbrn7,

To hear such amazing comments from a loyal guest is very rewarding for the entire team. Because you stayed with us since 2011, I hope that you trust that our commitment to service is genuine!
Although my hope is that you never have a bad experience, know that if there is a mistake made…we react quickly and sincerely!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kathy Russo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    106
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
248
85
26
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin County, PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My family has stayed here twice now, and we find the hotel to be the best choice in the area for convenience, cleanliness, and comfort (we have also stayed at The Days Inn, Hilton Garden Inn, Ramada in this area...but we will stick with Homewood from now on). We love the suites, especially since we have 2 kids. It's great to have a full kitchen, including utensils, cups, can opener, etc. The property is on the ground at Stewart airport but I don't recall hearing plane noise at all. It is off the main road as well, so very quiet, My only complaint is that whenever we've stayed here we've tried to get a suite with 2 queen beds and both times they've been sold out (we made our reservation weeks in advance). The only other minor issue was that the property has flood lights outside the windows, so even with the curtains closed there was a glow in the room on the 1st floor. When we stay again, we will request a higher floor to avoid this. Overall, this is a great hotel and easily the best choice in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor if you want to avoid the lights on the ground floor landscaping at night (even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patravels_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyRusso, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear patravels7,

Thank you so much for your comments and we are honored that our Homewood Suites will be your first choice when you visit the area. We appreciate that you love our suites and you are right…our one bedroom suites with two queen beds (all suites have a pull-out sofa) are extremely popular. We are an extended stay hotel so these suites are also booked by families staying for long periods of time.
For your next stay you can certainly request a higher floor but please remember to draw the “black-out” curtains located behind the sheers. This will eliminate the glow from the standard outdoor “up lighting”.
Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Kathy Russo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crivitz, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The wife and I enjoyed our stay. Full breakfast, close to WP, and shopping. The pool and hot tub were in very good shape and the room was clean and nice. We were able to purchase wine and beer from the front desk and it was very reasonable. We will stay here every time we visit the area, can't say enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricATC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyRusso, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi EricATC ,

I am so happy that you and "The Wife” (lol) had a nice time visiting the area and staying at our Homewood Suites. You covered so many of our important services and features in your posting and yet it was short and sweet! Thank you for the compliment of saying that you would always choose us!

Kathy Russo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
265 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you are flying into Stewart Airport and looking for a place to stay, this is your best bet. The hotel is clean and the service is friendly. This is one of the nicest Homewood Suites that I have stayed in and I have stayed in many. This is also a good location for exploring the Hudson Valley area. As others have said, there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity so you will need a car. The hotel provides a full breakfast as well as a dinner on Monday thru Thursday evenings. The rooms are nicely furnished and I found the location very quiet. Could not hear any planes taking off or landing. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plasmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyRusso, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Plasmid,

Thank you for posting your comments! We really appreciate hearing that you rate us as one of the nicest Homewood Suites because we know we are in such good company. As a brand, Homewood Suites is excellent and I am so pleased that we are upholding that reputation.

Although we have to prioritize our van shuttle for airport runs, we are always willing to drive our guests to shopping and restaurants in the nearby area. Please let us know when you are returning if you won't have transportation and we would be happy to make arrangements for you.

Thank you again!
Kathy Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently visited the Hudson Valley to see the leaves and the Hyde Park area, and stayed at this hotel. The hotel itself is right next to Stewart Airport (but you'll never hear a plane), so it's a great choice if you want to fly in/out of there. Be warned though -- there is nothing else in the vicinity, so if you want other amenities (like nearby restaurants/stores/etc.) you will need a car.

The arrival at the hotel was a little odd -- there were several vehicles parked up and down the entry road to the hotel, making it impossible to pull under the canopy for check-in as I usually do. We had to park quite a distance away just to check-in. We also were never told about the (apparently-secret?) second elevator and entry door, which were much closer to our room than the main one we were directed to.

My only complaint about the room itself was that you could hear every step the person above you took (that even included in the hallway!). I also still don't understand why chains like Homewood Suites go to the trouble of posting in the room what the dinner menu will be, but don't do the same for breakfast, even though it was different every day we stayed there.

Overall, I would stay here again...though I might choose another property next time just to be closer to amenities. (By the way, just a tip, this area is also a great place to stay if you want to day-trip to NYC...you can catch commuter rail on both sides of the Hudson into the city. The trip into the city via rail on the east side of the Hudson is awesome with great scenery.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spade7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyRusso, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Spade7,

Thank you for a favorable review, though I cannot help feeling like we
disappointed you. Please allow me to address several points that you made so
that maybe we can convince you to come back to stay with us again:

1- Local access, though a car is certainly convenient to have, we do
offer free shuttle service for dinner, shopping, etc.

2- I am not sure why the car port would have been blocked but am going
to research this as it is clearly not acceptable. We have an additional parking lot for "Event Parking" so this isn't typical. So sorry for this
inconvenience.

3- We do try to explain to every arrival where their suite is in proximity to convenient parking, entrances and the lobby and then direct them accordingly. It sounds as though this was an oversight and I apologize.

4- Noise- fortunately not a complaint that we hear often, but perhaps
if you come back we will make certain to put you on our top floor so that
there is no guest above you.

5- Breakfast posting- have not heard this request, will definitely look
into adding this to our in room menu.

6- NYC by train- great observation, and we can help put together a really fun itinerary of things to do, places to eat, etc.

Thanks again for the review and hopefully, if we can get you to come back,
we will be able to make your stay a better one,

Sincerely,
Kathy Russo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is awesome. Although right beside an airport, we never heard a plane. It's a beautiful place with pristine rooms. And the food!!! No junk food! We just ate chicken cacciatore and salad served with wine!!!! Unbelievable! This amenity alone saved our family of 9 a bundle of money. I will be looking up Homewood Suites wherever we travel. Thank you for making our stay better than home...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msdpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyRusso, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello MSDPowell,

Wow, a family of 9, now I know why we ran out of food one night in October ...of course I am kidding. On a more serious note it is so nice to hear that the exact convenience that you describe is one of the reasons that the owner’s built a Homewood Suites. Travelling can
be harrying when with a lot of people and a little convenience like not
worrying about where to eat can make all the difference. Thanks so much for
the great review and enjoy your family!

Warmly,

Kathy Russo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently took a trip to New York and Vermont to see the Fall Leaves. We knew about the Newburgh Airport (which is only a block away) from family members who had told us how easy it was to get in and out of the terminal, and not much of crowd there. There are also direct flights from my home town to this airport on JefBlue. So we decided to use this Homewood Suites to start and end our trip. When we checked in, the front desk let us know that in addition to breakfast, there would be a complimentary dinner from 5 - 7. The meal is different every night (and only conducted on week nights). This night it was lasagna. This was a pleasant surprise since it was late in the day when we arrived and was pouring rain. We had a one room suite, with nice size living room, kitchen and separate bedroom and bath. The rooms were very clean and comfy. We did go down for the dinner and enjoyed salad, garlic breadsticks and free wine and beer. How nice! The business center was a smaller room with two computers but they had paper, pens, tape, staples, etc... there to support and assit. Very convenient. Breakfast was good with an egg scramble (veggies in it), sausage and homefries. Other standard offerings as well. On the return leg we stayed in the room directly above where we were the first time, on the third floor. The only issue I had is about 6pm the room started smelling badly of cigarette smoke. I thought at first it was my imagination. We went to dinner (kielbasa and perogies this night) and upon return when I was taking a bath, it got really strong. I get headaches from cigarette smoke, so I definitely am bothered by it. With some experimentation, I realized it was coming from the vent in the bathroom. So I closed the door and turned on the fan and just kept it running all night and that did the trick. I did let the front desk know in the morning, but not sure what they can do about it but I dont want someone to get blamed for smoking in a non-smoking room. There are two gas stations right down the street where we filled up in under 5 minutes before returning the car to the airport, where you walk 50 feet into the terminal, with NO ONE in the security line...life is good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jpape_titusville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyRusso, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear JPape_ Titusville,

I was so excited to read about your wonderful stay and then so let down by your experience with the cigarette smoke, I am sorry about this. We do have several smoking suites and no matter what we do, the smell does travel. We are considering seeking a waiver from Hilton to become a "smoke free" facility because of exactly the experience that you had. Perhaps if you come back, you might give me a call ahead of time and ask for the Assistant Manager, Hans, or me, and we will make sure that your suite is far from any possible smoke smell. Thank you so much for noticing the effort that we put into our food and beverage offering, we do try hard.

Warmly,
Kathy Russo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Windsor
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Newburgh Stewart Airport
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Newburgh Stewart Airport
10.6 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Address: 180 Breunig Rd., New Windsor, NY 12553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite hotel is located within Stewart International Airport in New Windsor, New York (just two minutes from the main airport terminal). And we provide our hotel guests with 24-hour airport shuttle service. Enjoy complimentary WiFi, a hot and full breakfast (buffet-style every day) as well as a 24-hour business center, fitness room and swimming pool. Guests also enjoy the evening social* and friendly service from the multi-lingual staff at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Windsor Hotel New Windsor
Homewood New Windsor
New Windsor Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing