We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad diner”
Review of Johnny D's Diner - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Johnny D's Diner
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
upstate ny,
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a bad diner”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Parts of the salad bar was actually very good. Salads overall were good; crisp greens, excellent pickled salad, very good imitation seafood salad. The pea soup was excellent, but the chicken soup was nasty. Open faced turkey and pot roast were ok, they might think about upgrading the canned gravy, but not bad. I will never understand serving frozen soggy vegetables in the summer, but we had more than enough to eat with the salad bar. Decent price and they did take the ten percent off the specials with the days inn room key. Good service. Not. A destination, but not a bad diner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shavidlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    14
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Burger! I was starving!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Taken here by Newburgh natives who said that this place was under new management and the feeling in Newburgh is that the restaurant is better as a result. Enormous menu! Hard to make a decision. I had the Aloha burger with pineapple, onion, terriaki sauce and Swiss cheese. It was delicious. It came with fries , coleslaw and a pickle (a whole pickle!). I scarfed it up! I was really hungry but even if i wasn't i would have enjoyed it! The other folks with me enjoyed their sandwiches too. Service was fine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethB112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
1 review
“Unfreindly management and utrained staff”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stay at the Days Inn which offers a 10% discount at Johnny Ds which they will find any reason not to honor! (no drinks, no specials,ect...) the first time iwas there the cook showed up drunk and was threatining the staff with a knife. The staff is totally untrained. i would not reccomend this place at all!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had their specials and the food was very good with large portions and a nice salad bar with unique items on it. We enjoyed our meal,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladycjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A little pricey for a diner but the food and service were good. We were spoiled by our waitress. There are lots of items to choose from on the menu.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scottaenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny D's Diner also viewed

 
New Windsor, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing