We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down hill”
Review of Steak & Stein - CLOSED

Steak & Stein
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Broomall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going down hill”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This used to be a great stop while staying at the Days Inn up the hill. Today, it's a shadow of itself. First of all, the hostess (I think one of the owners) doubles as the bartender. Did you ever hear of that?? Try getting a drink when it gets a little busy with guests coming in. Every beer (same brand) you order comes in a different glass. Come on! Hire a full time bartender. Secondly, both the exterior and interior are tired and worn out. Needs a facelift for sure. The food is adequate. We stop only because of its location to our hotel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BFC065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    10
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overcooked Steak and weird smell in dining room..”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was the first time I ever been here. I wanted a medium steak and it came out well, tough and like chewing dust. I refused to send it back, but my boss even thought it was ridiculous. There is a funny smell in the dining room. I can't place the smell to describe it, but the best I can say is OLD smelling. I would not return. Maybe it was a bad night..I cannot weigh in on that as this is the first visit for me and probably the last.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soulful403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not the same owner, but not bad”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We'd gone here for maybe 20 years when it was Banta's. Now it's changed ownership. It's gotten a little pricey but the steaks are still excellent. They come rare when I order rare, so that's good. I haven't ordered anything but club steak in a long time, but my husband gets a smothered chicken breast that he says is very good. My only complaint has been that they don't serve smaller sized steaks. However, the waitress this last time was able to get me one from the early bird special menu even though it was 7PM. The atmosphere was still good - early American - but very quiet the last time we went.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoriCrisster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice menu choices. I still wish it was owned by the same owners. They carry many original menu items from previous owners before remodel but dishes don't taste quite the same. Stuffed Shrimp and shrimp scampi are too buttery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The steaks are the best in the area ! I also do like the Early American decor. I had my baby shower there and We were all very happy with the outcome.
Very accommodating!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beeaach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak & Stein also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing