We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dining Experience”
Review of Chapala Grill

Chapala Grill
Ranked #10 of 62 Restaurants in New Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was my first time dining here and I loved it. Great service and fresh food. I enjoyed the Fajita Chapala . This dish had everything- shrimp,beef,chicken, peppers, rice, refried beans, etc. so tasty. I completed my meal with a tasty dessert - fried ice cream. The atmosphere is casual, clean and very comfortable. Also their Sangrias are fantastic!. You will not regret a visit to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 47triplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food In The Area”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The best Mexican food in the area by far! I have tried multiple items on the menu and never have been disappointed. The owner is usually there and makes sure that everything is as expected. The pricing is reasonable. There's no mystery as to why its always busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Margherita's”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I enjoy frequenting Chapala grill.
It's a nice casual restaurant with very good Mexican food!
Another favorite is their fried ice cream!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beeaach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Tavern, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Mexican & Margaritas”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Chapala Grill is our go-to Mexican place for dinner. Service has always been great. Even when they are extremely busy (which is often), they always find a way to seat us quickly. The food is good and they usually have some interesting appetizers (I tried something with cactus in it last time). We usually always order a half pitcher of margaritas too, which are always delicious. I encourage you to branch out and try a different flavor - the peach ones were great! I really like the ambiance inside. They have a man walking around who will sing for your table. I always politely refuse and he doesn't mind but it is a nice touch for those who like that.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coopercoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEast
Level Contributor
323 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Mexican ingredients without the Punch”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The room and seating are comfortable. The menu offers many of the regular Mexican items from appetizer to dessert. There are a good number of combinations for those who like variety. Drinks include margaritas and sangria by the glass and pitcher. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was fresh but lacked the zing of spice. Next time we will ask for a little extra spiciness.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapala Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chapala Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing