We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ajs Burgers

Ajs Burgers
Ranked #1 of 192 Restaurants in New Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: AJ's is a collaboration of America's Favorite Foods served seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. AJ makes everything in house using fresh ingredients and an orchestra of recipes. We serve pan sandwiches on our homemade bread; chicken, broccoli, rabe with provolone and hot cherry peppers is one of our most popular, beyond our burgers, sliders, chicken parmigiana and our delicous 12” thin crust pizzas!
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

It's just not that good. Nothing is really standout, I felt like everything was underflavoured. The staff is very polite and helpful, though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annadoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Ajs Burgers, responded to this review, January 5, 2016
Thanks for giving us a try and taking the time to write this review. I’m glad to read our staff provided you with good service, we hope all our customers feel at home at AJ’s. I’m sorry to read your meal lacked spice, maybe next time you could try our Habanero Burger. It’s served with our in-house 5 pepper blend salsa, cheddar, sliced onion, tomato, lettuce and mexican crema on our artisan garlic bread. It may just be that added wow you were looking for. We hope to see you again and really appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    27
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice burger spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice place to go for burgers and pizza. Pretty average place nothing too special about it, but the food is rather decent and the staff is pleasant.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadyElle_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Was looking for a Quick and easy place to go for dinner with our 2 year old grandson. We are visiting the area and had been here for take out only. Thought we would try sit down this time. We were so happy with our choice of places. We were immediately greeted and seated. Before the waiter left he asked us for our drink order. They were brought with a smile. Two seconds later our server came with a pizza pan and a piece of bread/pizza dough for our grandson to play with. So much more entertaining than a box of crayons!! Our food came and the burgers and fries came in a frying skillet instead of the usual plate or basket. I wasn't hot so you didn't have to worry about burned fingers. The burger was cooked to perfection, loaded with the "works", including carmelized onions instead of raw like we asked. The service was friendly - always coming to refill our glasses or ask if anything else was needed. Even the owner came over to greet us and really seemed to care everything was as we asked. Definitely will return. Would love to try other burgers or even try their Wed pizza and salad special.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Norene_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good diner food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Surprise, surprise. The food is good diner food. Good burgers, skillet food, family atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank MusicFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

AJ's always has good quality food and a very welcoming atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ajs Burgers also viewed

New Rochelle, Westchester County
New Rochelle, Westchester County
 
New Rochelle, Westchester County
New Rochelle, Westchester County
 

Been to Ajs Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing