We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for your money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Coqui - CLOSED

Don Coqui
Price range: $0 - $55
Cuisines: Latin, Puerto Rican, American, Caribbean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value for your money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great atmosphere here. Huge plates so you get your monies worth! Food is excellent. Drinks are really great too. They always have specialty drinks. Mojitos and Sangrias are the best!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tash_300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    34
    17
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We wanted to try this place for a long time but unfortunately went on a Friday night. The tables are ridiculously close together and the music very loud with dancing right near and while people ate dinner - extremely uncomfortable. The food was nothing special - would not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Beachfun12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice waiter but Worst meal ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Seriously worst food ever, 1 star is a compliment. The paella was inedible and I sent it back replace only by fried shrimp and french fries that made Mc Donald's look like cuisine .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ripb747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Visited for drinks and dinner. Experience, food, and music was great until about 9:00pm. After 9:00 the place is transformed into a make do disco lounge without forewarning to paying customers. Bouncers, waiters and waitresses turn disrespectful and selfish to clear the place for an underage and loud crowd. We all felt disinvited, not welcomed and rushed. It is a shame!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orlando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
238 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Groupon Dinner for four”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

A couple of things noted. . . . . . ..1). Dinner at 6 pm on Sunday. The music all in English and a mix of 80's, 90's and 2000's was way too loud. Loud music in a night club: cool. Loud music at diner so you had to yell across the table : annoying. 2) Women diners were all nicely dressed. Men with Jeans, basketballs shorts showing underwear, sneakers, shower shoes, T shirts and one shirt all wrinkles just out of the drier. . ..what gives? Show some respect for the woman you are with and dress as nicely as she does.

We had a Goupon dinner for four: one bottle of wine, two appetizers and four main dishes. We chose the Pinot Grigio and Yucca rapped Pernil (not dry). We got 12 pieces presented like sushi rolls Three liked this a lot and one thought it was not spicy enough. The other appetizer was the calamari. . ..a huge portion. Very good and not rubbery or chewy. Two chose the Pernil for dinner and both liked it a lot. Each portion would feed 3 people. One red snapper: mushy and tasteless and one fried coconut shrimp and tostones. . .8 of each. I ate 3 and took 5 of each home. I thought this was very good.

Our water was Angel. He was very thorough and efficient. He explained the menu in English and answered questions in Spanish when asked. And he translated to English, although this was not necessary.

We did not use valet parking. We walked from home and did not use the Ladies room so we did not encounter any of these oft mentioned problems. The Men's room was fine.

Bottom line A nice Sunday dinner

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjm814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Coqui also viewed

White Plains, Westchester County
 
New Rochelle, Westchester County
New Rochelle, Westchester County
 
New Rochelle, Westchester County
New Rochelle, Westchester County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing