We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday”
Review of Don Coqui - CLOSED

Don Coqui
Price range: $0 - $55
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I was waiting with my family watching people get the entrance in front of us. After one hour people on the line were only adults more than 35 years. Unfortunately they admit only young people and short skirts. I learned the lesson, never again. I heard about this situation here before.

Helpful?
2 Thank Monika46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    34
    17
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was a perfect night for all of us!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We can honestly say thank you Mario for your superior service we received while dining at your establishment last night. Thank you so much for your outstanding professionalism and warm hospitality shown to our group who attended your restaurant on Monday, February 17. Mario without a doubt went above and beyond to make sure our experience was the best it could be and it sure was. The meals were delicious and the bartender prepared us the most incredible drinks! I was impress by both, the drinks and how she was able to remember each one us our name.
It is service like this that will keep us coming back to your restaurant again and again.
Yours truly,
the best well behave teachers!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My friends Birthday!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The food was very good, prices for the food not bad, prices for drinks way to expensive, $8 for a beer! and a glass of wine $9.75. I had grilled shrimp which it was delicious. The music was awful, no salsa or any other Spanish music, the reason we went there, we asked the DJ and he put 2 songs and went back to American music, hiphop/soul music, I didn't go there for that. Some ghetto woman came over looking for trouble with one of our friends, we left because we are decent people. I won't go there again. I went to the DC website and they make you believe that this is 1 100% Spanish restaurant but some staff don't speak Spanish at all and the music stinks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nenalinda1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunday 1/26/14 at Don Coqui”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The food was without any doubt good but not amazing like I expected. I don't care about large portions, what I really want is QUALITY that is something they do not offer. I ordered pork chops with white rice and black beans but the waiter brought the pork chops with tasteless yellow rice and brown sauce for the chops. I told the waiter about it and he was not too accommodating. My husband ordered chicken and rice with peas which was good. and my sister's soup was tasty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GogRiCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Bad”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stopped on here on a late Saturday afternoon because I enjoy Puerto Rican cuisine.

Was recommended a platter that was the most popular and was basically a big plate of various fried food. I knew something wasn't right especially when the person I was with who is from Puerto Rico barely ate. She said it was just bad. Seems like it was refried. The server saw that we didn't eat it, but didn't ask if everything was ok.

I may return to the Astoria or White Plains location for a drink and the nightlife, but as far as food goes, I think I'm all set.

Sorry

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTGuy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Coqui also viewed

New Rochelle, Westchester County
New Rochelle, Westchester County
 
New Rochelle, Westchester County
New Rochelle, Westchester County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing