We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Victorian Paradise in the Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2006

My husband and I stayed on a Sunday through Tuesday and got a special deal that included breakfast and dinner. The rate did not include lunch. We did not miss it. We had never stayed here before and had wanted to for many years. We stayed three days and two nights and checked out on Valentine's day and our entire stay was fantastic. We loved our warm, quiet, and cosy room, the incredibly picturesque surroundings both inside and out, and the snow was perfect. We also had a balcony that overlooked the mountains, and we went out on it several times. We had a very pristine private bathroom with a real claw foot tub too.

Some of the reviews here are so unfair to this place and frankly, I am shocked at some of the things people say about this gorgeous resort. We thought that the food was excellent, expecially for dinner and the custom made omelettes in the morning. There were NOT ANY poor quality issues. We encountered friendly and helpful staff all throughout the hotel, but then again, we are very friendly and kind people. We find that we get excellent service ALMOST everywhere when we appreciate people and smile and look at them in the eye instead of treating them with distain like we noticed that some guests did during our stay. We especially noticed this at dinner. We had fantastic and personal service, and kind and friendly waiters, with cuisine bordering on the sublime. Local gourmet cheeses and other unique ingredients were showcased, to our delight. The cookies at the informal Afternoon Tea were surprisingly homemade tasting.

I think that one of the perceived problems with this resort is that they charge according to the room you choose and the meals are included. People think that the better the room they pay for, the more outlandish the food should be. Everyone gets the same food, despite paying $250 or $2000 per night. If you do not like this arrangement, stay in the smaller rooms. Ours was extremely nice and had beautiful mountain views even though it was NOT on the lake side of the hotel.

The setting of the Mohonk Mountain House is nothing short of a page from a lavishly illustrated fairytale book. If you love historic hotels, or Victoriana, or romantic old world resorts, you will love this place. We can't say enough good things about it.

The same people are running this resort as previously ran it, and they still have to overcome the all hardships of getting the staff, food, and people up onto the mountain. It is quite out of the way and a major effort. I am very grateful that the family still makes the incredible effort and allows the public to enjoy this miracle of hospitality that is a world unto itself.

There are so many charming public rooms at this hotel, like the billiard room, the library, little parlors for ladies, and so much more. Also each wing and floor of the hotel has differant art, antiques, and sitting areas. We especially loved sitting by the huge fires in the bigger public rooms. Many of the guest's rooms have their own fireplaces.

While we were there, some of the rooms were being renovated. Everything was sealed off carefully so that guests would not be troubled by it, and the hours of work were only during the day. We were in an area that was down two halls from there, and we could not hear a thing due to the thickness of the walls. Actually we were intrigued and got to peek inside some of the "in process" rooms. They all had fireplaces and were in the older section of the hotel. They look like they will be gorgeous! If you are concerned about being put near renovation work, you should mention it when making your reservations. We were put far out of the way and did not know about any renovations until we got there and happened to go by when they were working. It is common for a historic hotel to be doing renovations, but it can happen at any hotel at any time.

My husband and I have traveled extensively in the US, Canada, and Europe. We feel well qualified to rate this place among our most enjoyed and best loved of all places we have been able to visit. As an Historic Hotel, it is a must see for the United States. We recommend taking the free historic tour for hotel guests that is offered most days.

We can't wait to get back there and hike all the trails and visit all the rustic gazebos and outlooks that dot the property. We were amazed and totally addicted. This hotel has character. Please don't compare her to chain hotels in the middle of a huge city. This is a grand and enchanting Victorian lady and she is one of a kind.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank LoraLee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,036)
There are newer reviews for Mohonk Mountain House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,917 - 1,923 of 2,036 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Memphis, TN
114
Reviewed March 1, 2006

Victorian Hotel, yep; over priced, yep; great lake and trails (the 'lemon squeeze'!), yep; bad food, yep; rude managerial staff yep, yep, yep. .....in my opionion, of course.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
227
Reviewed February 25, 2006

For anyone who is expecting super Posh accomodations, with brand new everythings... this isn't the place for you, but then again why would you pick a place built in the mid 1800's? Some of the rooms could use a little renovation... but in general, the place is amazing. You are not really paying for the "room", you are paying for an amazing experience. Having just returned after a extremely cold weekend, we still managed to take in as much of the outdoors as we could without getting frost bite. I would love to return in the summer. We went for the more modest accomodations/price rooms - and we thought of it as staying at Grandma's house - complete with the squeecking of the floors! People are charming and warm. The views are breathtaking. A true nature lover's paradise, and the closest thing to a Castle in the US.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2006

My wife and I just returned from Mohonk after spending two nights there with our three daughters. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we were treated with excellent service. The staff was very customer oriented. Our large lake tower room was cleaned by housekeeping before we returned from breakfast.

If you are interested in an activity or outdoor oriented vacation in an atmosphere that is welcoming for families, Mohonk is for you. Our daughters enjoyed ice skating and swimming and of course the large dining hall buffet is great for families.

If you are not going to take advantage of the spa or the beautiful outdoor amenities, Mohonk probably is not right for you.

For two nights, we had a great time. I strongly recommend this as a great short trip for families.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2006

We went to Mohonk for a second time expecting a quiet , relaxing, romantic birthday & Valentine's day. It was anything but that. We were put in a room right next to closed off construction area for asbestos abatement.We asked to be moved to a quiet room away from construction so they put us down a floor to solve the problem. We were awakened at 8 am by hammering & sawing. Incompetent "kids" at the front desk did not even investigate to see if the room we were being moved to was in fact away from construction.We left the room to go to breakfast only to be blinded by flying dust, and maybe even asbestos.Complained to the manager. Nothing was done. I had to keep on asking to have a room change & for them to close doors to construction. Any self- respecting high end hotel would have immediately taken care of the problem, and offered a reconciliary room upgrade .Not this one. Manager seemed just as incompetent & clueless as front desk "kids".
We liked this place before but because of the way they reacted to our concerns & room issues will never return.The hotel should have notified all guests booking that they are under serious construction & allowed us to decide to go or not. Instead, nothing was said and we were trapped w/ these conditions.Don't get trapped in Mohonk Hell.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank beigekc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Massachusetts
114
Reviewed February 8, 2006

I guess people no longer research where they are planning to take their vacations. If they did many people would realize that the Mohonk, is by design, for certain vacationers who appreciate its history and the outdoors.

I’ve been amazed to read some of these reviews where people thought this hotel was “data” and old. No kidding Sherlock! This resort is from another time in the history of the United States, and I pray that it stays that way.

If you don’t enjoy the Victorian error, you won’t like the Mohonk. If you like chain restaurant food or fast food you won’t like the Mohonk. If you’re looking for something other than rest, clean air, good company, good food, then you won’t be happy at the Mohonk.

I was at the Mohonk for the first time a year or so ago and fell in love with the place. Yes, it is expensive but then again what resort isn’t. As with many resorts the more you do, the more you get for your money. I was there on business and during meeting breaks would dash about trying to see as much of the resort as possible. In the evenings I really loved the idea of men having to wear jackets, and women having to dress properly. I love my jeans as much as the next, but there is a time and place for everything. I like that there are expectations of the guests at the Mohonk to behave and dress in certain manner. It goes back to the olden days of respect for ones self and others. Thank You Mohonk Mountain Resort for keeping the standards high.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2006

The Mohonk Mountain House is a very nice place, but there are a few things we wish we had known beforehand:

1) we stayed there during MLK weekend, and there were A LOT of kids there. We expected more couples, but it really was more families. We love kids, but it wasn't as romantic as we expected.

2) there is definitely more to do during the warm months than the winter months, especially if there is no snow. We wanted to go snowshoeing and cross country skiing, but just not enough snow. They do have a nice ice skating rink.

3) Your "extras" (wine, etc.) can add up very quickly, especially when you start factoring in tax and gratuity. We were also not aware that the rate you are quoted does not include on overall gratuity charge, which can be high.

Overall, a nice place, but be prepared for a high bill. If you want fewer kids around, it's probably best to stay during the week.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank molin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
170 reviews
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
331 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
10.1 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
435 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range: $379 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing