We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mountain house with a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mohonk Mountain House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“mountain house with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

What a great,unique and individual place to visit . An historic gem, Rooms where unique , although i found my shower not that powerful .
Good activities to be out on the lake , canoeing , rowing or swimming . I preferred this to the indoor pool, which is small and full of families/ children , not ideal for laps.
The rock scrabble is good fun i can recommend that.
The other main feature bieng the dining experience , all inclusive 3 course meals 3 times a day certainly fills you up and you will definitely leave much heavier ,,,!!!

Room Tip: upper floors are better , for the views , either side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsmithybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    491
    194
    130
    84
See reviews for
539
781
38
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stayed over for several nights with family. The lodge is beautiful, with many porches with rocking chairs, and many vistas to enjoy the surrounding view. Most service and the food were great overall. And numerous nature trails and rock scrambles are immediately accessible from the property.

The biggest disappointment for me was the LACK of true FITNESS CLASSES. There were only 4-5 classes offered per day (August peak time), and many were meditation or relaxation without any cardio or strength-training. This would have been nice, especially on the rainy days, which were half of my stay. The tai chi/acupressure classes were good, but it would have been nice to have other options as well. I attended Zumba with Alisha, but this was disappointing as she repeated all of the songs twice.

The on-site SPA is lovely, but *only* accessible if you have a treatment that day (or $25 for a day pass). So I wouldn't really include it as an amenity, even for overnight guests unfortunately. The jacuzzi/sauna/steam room were nice, but the treatments for me were hit or miss. I had a mediocre massage with Susan, and an excellent one with Hope.

DINNER in the formal dining room and the buffets for breakfast and lunch were typically delectable, with only a few exceptions. Sometimes parts of dishes were over-salted, all of the grains were mushy/overcooked (risotto, quinoa, etc.). There was also one evening in the West dining room - Monday, perhaps - when the dishes at our table were poor across the board. Service was often slow.

TRAILS on-site were excellent, although sometimes poorly signed. Despite directions from different staff members on multiple days, we never managed to find the "Lemon Squeeze." The trails and scrambles I did experience were lovely. A good range of difficulty levels, with many lookout points and benches to enjoy the beautiful scenery.

If you get a chance to go ROCK CLIMBING through Alpine Endeavors on the property, that is highly recommended!

Would possibly go back for additional hiking and/or a spa treatment, but not to stay overnight.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMohonk, Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Mohonk Mountain House regarding your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facility and took advantage of the many offerings that are included in the price for overnight guests. We are always interested in learning about what is important and of interest to our guests. We take pride in our ability to offer a wide variety of activities during every season and make every effort to accommodate all interests. Our rates do include three meals a day and afternoon tea and cookies, and whenever possible our meals incorporate seasonal, local ingredients prepared by award-winning chefs. Vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free options are also available.

Please contact us at bmoran@mohonk.com so that we can discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay with us even better by providing opportunities for the types of activities you most enjoy and also, whenever possible, provide for you the menu items that better suit your taste.

Brian Moran
845.256.2149
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We've been twice with our 4 year old son, one January weekend and another in August. (Full disclosure: we were incorrectly told the kids club was open during our January stay, so Mohonk gave us a free night, which we used in Aug.) We've visited overnight and as day guests (spa) several times before, too. Obviously, we keep coming back; we think it's a great resort, particularly for New Yorkers antsy for some nature;it's less than 2 hours away, the setting is gorgeous, the building is historic and well renovated, the food's gotten a lot better over the past few years (albeit still a bit heavy with huge portions; scale it down Mohonk!), and they typically have lots of great activities on offer so you can do quite a lot over a weekend.
In the winter it's definitely more low key--we did ice skating, the indoor pool, a few walks (many hiking trails closed), and lots of sitting by big fireplaces. We lucked out with a snowstorm, so we also snowshoed and cross country skied. Unfortunately they fell down on the snow tubing front. All the kids (and their parents!) at the resort had a hard time believing they had all this snow and they weren't able to offer tubing.
The summer season has many more activities--the totally fun and challenging scrambles (climbing over/under boulders), lake swimming and boating, and barbecue cookouts. At long last we were able to get our son into the kids' club, which he adored--he did tennis, played in the hedge maze and met with the in-house naturalist. All in all, we enjoyed the summer experience more and will certainly be back for those activities, but if there is a lot of snow during the winter, we would probably going back for a weekend then as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50JMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

I can't say one negative thing about this hotel. I will tell you it's very expensive, but it was worth it's weight in gold. You pull right to the front and from the moment you step out of your car, they take care of everything!!! They took our luggage out the car, they had someone waiting right inside the door to direct us. The woman at the desk was so warm and friendly. She gave us all the information we needed to enjoy our stay. The minute our room was ready, all our bags were delivered within minutes. They have so many activities for everyone in your family. Great place for little ones. They have a kids club with different activities every day. I downloaded the activities before I arrived, so I had my agenda ready. The hotel has an old world charm to it. I felt like I was in someone's home. The food was outstanding, the service impeccable. Every breakfast, lunch and dinner you had 3 waiters tending to you. There was only one place we didn't enjoy and that was The Picnic Lodge. That is one of the places they offer lunch offsite. It's very hard to find. It's a 10 min walk through the woods and once you get there, they seemed annoyed and did not live up to the "Mohonk" quality of food. No big deal though. You can go and play pool, paddle board, kayaks, hiking, swimming , biking or take the daily classes they offer. It's now one of my favorite places thus far. So quiet and peaceful and stress free. Every single employee was nicer than the next. Incredible! Once we left the grounds, my daughter realized that she left a few electronic items in the room. We all panicked of course and raced back to the hotel. My husband and daughter explained to the concierge that we checked out at 1pm (it was now 6pm) and we left some electronics in the room. She called security and the cleaning crew. After a few short minutes, the security guard handed us a plastic bag with our belongings. We cannot wait to return and tell all our friends that we found Paradise!!!

Room Tip: You must have lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyQ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Recently stayed here and was delighted with the extraordinary service and meticulous care of the grounds. The addition of the spa with the indoor pool was brilliant.

If you are a foodie, don't bother with any place that is all inclusive. I will say, that this was the BEST all inclusive food and menu that I have ever had. Choose the BBQ lunch, breakfast is a winner, and use the sit down menu at the from the restaurant.

The evening events and "entertainment" are dreadful. They should not even bother. There is so much to do during the day (make your own fun... hiking, biking, water sports, beach, pool, gym, spa), but nothing at night. The other stuff isn't even an option in the dark...

All in, a great spot. I would not spend more than 4 days here, otherwise the been there done that feelings will kick in. Oh... and we had great weather... you might lose your mind here if it rains.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower,,, larger nicer rooms... otherwise, meh
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYorkBeechBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The grounds surrounding the Mohonk Mountain House are spectacular. Gorgeous gardens, lakes, hiking trails, tennis courts. But inside is an antiquated hotel that has a musty smell and drab appearance. For $800 a night we had a tiny room without television and a bathroom barely big enough for one person. Three meals were included but despite what Mohonk would have you believe the food is mediocre and sometimes terrible. The breakfasts are at the level you can get in the cheapest Holiday Inn. Other meals are institutional. It is too bad you cannot enjoy the great outdoors surrounding the hotel but stay overnight somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsMohonk, Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear JackG

Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our beautiful setting and disappointed to learn that your room and dining experience were not to your liking. In our historic hotel we offer 33 different room types among our 259 rooms. Many are unique and we understand that on occasion some may not be a perfect fit for every guest. We are disappointed to hear that some of your meals were not what you had expected as our chefs make every effort to provide meals which use only the freshest ingredients, sourced locally as seasonally available, to prepare creative dishes that include vegan, vegetarian, and gluten-free options.

Please contact me directly at guestrelations@mohonk.com if you do plan to visit again so that I may work with you to plan your stay.

Sincerely,

Brian Moran
Guest Relations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Just returned from our 3rd visit this year, and the place is still great..our 1st visit this year was during the Norovirus Breakout and unfortunately I got it..Can't blame Mohonk, sometimes this happens, and many times it is the visitors who carry it in..Went back again in the spring with friends, had a great time, though a very slow time of year(which has its pros and cons) ..Just came back form a 3 day visit with our children , had 2 rooms, and summertime has so much going on.

I need to disagree with a poster a few threads below.The food is very good, considering how many people they are feeding at each meal.It was said the main dining hall is loud, food only marginal..A very easy way to avoid that is to sit in the seperate dining room, where sportscoats are required(though not always followed), and few, if any young children...Not a buffet, so food is much different ..

Hiking was great, though can't believe they haven't finished renovating the Tower yet..Took a horseback ride, took advantage of all canoes,paddle boats, row boats, paddle surfing..one day we had massages..played shuffleboard,croquet, etc...

Sat on the sunset porch and enjoyed a few cocktails at sunset..

Given ALL that you can do,and food and all taxes and gratuities included, the price is not terrible.Every single employee we encountered was friendly and polite. I read some complaints about rooms, but they are perfectly fine, not your run of the mill hotel, look at the craftsmenship in each room..The tiled bathrooms are perfectly done, not some mediocre tile job ..

We have visited Mohonk many times, and each visit brings a new experience.And each season gives you new opportunities.We usually visit and enjoy the spa, but have visited a few times and never stepped foot into the spa..

looking foward to our next visit!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Qdogpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
13.4 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
5.5 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
5.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Property: Mohonk Mountain House
Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing