We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel set on a Lake and surrounded by Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel set on a Lake and surrounded by Mountains”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Hotel has a great mix of old architecture and new improvements.

The staff were courteous and helpful...surprising how they are able to attract good quality staffing in the middle of no where.

Our room was recently renovated, and was very spacious with a large outdoor terrace, which we could not enjoy because it was winter time.

The food was very good--better than expected, and I am very picky--says my wife.

The highlight of the trip was the hiking and outdoor activities. Next time we'll come back with the kids.

Room Tip: Please ask where your room is in relationship to the Cafeteria, and the stairwells. Our room was nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYReviewer99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    506
    203
    133
    85
See reviews for
555
802
39
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
264 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Mohonk for 4 nights, including Christmas. Overall, we have been there over 20 times, at least 4-5 times at Christmas. The hotel was nicely decorated, and there were numerous activities all day to occupy people, including many craft activities (making ornaments, gingerbread houses, etc.). For those who ice skate, there is a very nice ice skating pavilion. And, of course, miles of carriage roads and trails to explore - which is one of the main reasons we go. Snow fell on day 2, and it was cold, but we still hiked many of the carriage roads. (Note that most of the true trails are usually closed in winter). Surprisingly, most of the people do not get out on the carriage roads, so you quickly have them to yourself. Our favorite hike is the Eagle Cliff road, which is just under 2 miles long, with incredible views of the Shawangunk and Catskill Mountains. Next best is Skytop road, also with incredible views. There is also a nice gym, with pretty new exercise equipment. I use that when the weather is bad, or I need an early start (gym opens at 6 am).

Mohonk embarked on an ambitious renovation program a few years ago, and the results show, Many rooms with new woodwork, and less drafty than before. Our room faced the Catskills, and there were a couple very nice sunsets over the mountains.

We ate the buffets, including dinner. Unfortunately, the food wasn't as special as past holiday meals we have enjoyed there. On the plus side, when my wife commented to a dining room captain that an item she liked was not on the buffet, it showed up at the next dinner - a nice touch. However, the cost of staying there (room plus mandatory gratuity, plus various taxes) continues to rise, making it less likely that we will go 2-3 times per year as we used to. For a decent room for two, you can figure on about $650 up per night. In addition, extra meals for guests (out son and daughter in law usually come up from New Paltz for a couple meals) are quite expensive -- usually $60-$70 per person before taxes and gratuity.

People reading this review should note that it is not possible to just stop there to look at the hotel and grounds - you will not make it past the gatehouse off the main road. This is strictly enforced. The best way to look at the property is to make a lunch or dinner reservation, which gives you access to the hotel and grounds for the day.

In summary, Mohonk continues to be a special place, but very costly, and many may not think it is worth the cost.

Room Tip: Many people want a room looking out over the lake, but we prefer the rooms facing the Catskills (the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wtrav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This Christmas was our seventh time at Mohonk Mountain House, and each time the experience was better, from the food, spa, activities, to the general ambience. A long way from the meatloaf and canned peas and Spartan rooms of 30 years ago, the rooms are wonderfully comfortable and attractive, the meals include things like fois gras, lobster bisque and fillet mignon. Also the lounge and drink service at meals didn't exist 30 years ago. And the wellness classes (yoga, pilates, water aerobics, etc.) are all terrific.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the least expensive and was not on the lake side. However it was spacious with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Although I did not 'stay' at the hotel/resort, I took a family member for a day at the Spa (her first time at a spa) and it was wonderful!! They made her feel 'at home and very special' and were extremely helpful as she needed assistance from the entrance of the House to the Spa area and back. A great 'experience" for all ages!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4US2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have stayed several times at Mohonk and I LOVE the surroundings/hotel and ambiance. However, I have noticed that the dinners are NOT what they used to be. For instance they no longer allow a salad and appetizer at dinner - choose one now. Also, our waitress was horrible. We waited a very long time in between courses. An hour and a half max for dinner - we were there over 2 hours 15 minutes way too long. There was no busing and the waitress had tables all over the large dining room. Mohonk needs to hire a new manager for the dining room. the last two times I have stayed over night were disappointing compared to times past. It was not a busy week there was no need for poor service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marienjnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visited Mohonk again this year over New Year's Eve and New Years Day. You eat like you are on a cruise. Lots of food every time you turn around. We were placed in the same room as last year 289, right near the spa. Good location, and probably one of the least expensive rooms which was just fine. A double bed, couch, porch looking out at front of property (it's winter, who cares) bathroom was nice, updated, simple. No fridge in room but a safe was there. Very cozy- no tv. I don't mind but some guests we were with did. Plenty of activities, beautiful trails to walk- bundle up. I took a tai chi class this time. It was good, and free. Spa is beautiful but I did not get a treatment this year (I should have). Pool is beautiful too. Fireplaces were working. Could have been more roaring and attended to by staff. They were small fires. All staff are friendly. Activities for kids are plentiful. My sister had a room closer to dining rooms. Larger bed and fridge in room. Only negative was they lost one of her bags when they stored her luggage. Still waiting to see if they resolve it favorably for her as she had brand new sneakers and ugg boots in the bag. Afternoon tea at 4 pm should start at 3:30 and should offer coffee as well. Coffee at breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jciaramella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohonkMountainHouse, Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Jciaramella,

I'm so sorry that your sister's bag was left behind, but I'm delighted to report that it was returned to her shortly after she departed.

Thank you for your comments - New Year's Eve at Mohonk is a special tradition and I'm so glad that you returned to enjoy it again!

Sincerely,
Katie Martello

Assistant Director of Marketing
Mohonk Mountain House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I had spent a week at the awful Hilton New York for work with my fiancé last year, after which he took me for a long weekend away to Mohonk.
The drive up was lovely and the hotel was a breathtaking change from the fast pace of New York.
The weather was cold, the wood fire was burning, the staff were welcoming . Every afternoon there are fresh cookies and coffee served downstairs.
There are great walks and tracks around the grounds
The food is buffet style for lunch and a la carte for dinner. The food was good, nothing to amazing but definitely good food.
The spa was fantastic. It was unisex and had all amenities one needs from a good spa.
my massage was the perfect balance of deep tissue and relaxing. the hot water spring style poor outside was also great with breathtaking views of the mountains.
There was "dirty Dancing" feel about the whole place and you can see how it was exactly as Baby would have remembered it back in the day.
perfect for both family and couples only holidays.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X-rays-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
109 reviews
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
5.5 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
12.5 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Property: Mohonk Mountain House
Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing