We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spa Getaway”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This year's girls spa weekend getaway was at Mohonk Mountain House. Upon arriving we were in awe of the beauty and architecture of the property. It felt as if I was part of a Harry Potter movie and visiting Hogwarts. It felt magical. The property surrounding the resort is spectacular. There are a number of trails to hike and the lake is serene. The dining service was great! Our waiter, Patrick, was so funny and friendly. The food was excellent too.

However, I was a bit disappointed with the inside of the hotel. It felt a bit dated and the various common rooms including the parlor were cold and empty. There were no fires burning in the fireplaces. The spa itself was just okay. Although the facilities were nice, it lacked the small touches such as ice cold towels for the sauna, lemon water, cookies/ fruit. In addition, we didn't even have the chance to use the mineral pool since a group of 6 young men monopolized in for 2 hours. It was so small that it couldn't accommodate others unless they left. Honestly, I don't understand how the spa received a top 10 Best Spa by Conde Nast. For the price, I would have expected more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pipsy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    512
    205
    134
    85
See reviews for
562
809
39
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our second trip to the Mohonk. Yes, it is expensive...but many services are included. The main building is very large and requires ongoing upkeep. However, this is what makes the establishment wonderful; and the latter coupled with the large staff no doubt drives up the cost. You do, however get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If it is available, a fireplace room with a balcony is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyUpstateNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess County, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Mohonk is a very special place. Everything from the rooms to the fabulous meals to the best hiking around, I've stayed there many times and it's never disappointed. The addition of the pool and spa just make Mohink better than it always was. It truly is a magical place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KBofNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I can't speak to the overnight accommodations at this grand old resort but have spend a number of extremely pleasant days there. If you make reservations for one meal you are allowed use of the facilities and can participate in many of the scheduled activities for the day. Granted the meals are pricey but they are full buffets with many choices and the dining room provides a spectacular view. The grounds are beautiful - a gorgeous garden and greenhouse, lake, and many hiking trails. The hotel provides a multitude of comfortable areas - both inside and out - to sit and enjoy the wonderful scenery. It also has interesting pictures and explanations of the area from varied eras. My favorite activity is the Labyrinth rock scramble leading to the unique Crevice (a narrow passage between two parts of the cliff - you must navigate precarious ladders to reach the top and enjoy an incredible view). This is a strenuous path but anyone who is reasonably fit can do it and the hotel offers a guided tour of it if you don't feel brave enough to do it alone. The hiking paths above the hotel provide a view back to the Labyrinth and Crevice so you can understand and marvel at what you did (also watch others in the process). I feel that I have moved back in time and into nature at it's best when I am there. It is one of my favorite ways to spend a special day with special people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Love2Travel06117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived at Mohonk Mountain House the day before Hurricane Sandy hit New York and New Jersey with such devastation. There were tons of people leaving to get back home the day we arrived, and just a small handful that were there to shelter from the storm, knowing home was going to get clobbered. This made it feel like a very intimate hotel, almost a B&B, despite it's massive size. The property is gorgeous, and the buildings are reflective of the era each was built in. What was especially amazing (and why we went) was the spa. It is absolutely one of the best spas I've ever been to, with lovely services, great staff and a beautiful, serene design. All of the hotel staff were phenomenal, and were very kind to all of us who stayed through the storm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Sometimes we cant afford a full vacation. Mohonk is a fantastic way to recharge your batteries without spending for a whole vacation. Getting a spa treatment entitles you to use all the amenities on grounds from 8am-8pm, except for the pool, that is for overnight guest only. Overnight stays can be a bit pricey. There is so much to do in the area that we spent the night in Poughkeepsie and traveled a half hour to the spa in the morning. The area is beautiful during any season. Don't forget to visit the town of New Paltz at the bottom of the mountain. Shops, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dberrios2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

fantastic place....charm everywhere...great staff....good food....ambiance that you cannot put a price tag on...we spent the weekend there celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with our entire family and we loved every minute. It was a dream and we left with memories that will last forever.

Room Tip: we had mountain view - - the lake view some of us had was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiraz-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
132 reviews
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
5.5 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
4.1 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Property: Mohonk Mountain House
Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing