We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of History”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful grounds and lovely rooms at this over 100 year old hotel & resort. You can swim in the lake. They made a beach and swimming area, complete with diving board. Lake is large and there are row boats, canoes, pedal boats for use. Food is mostly average, but the BBQ lunch served outside is exactly what you would expect. Hamburgers, hot dogs, etc. I highly recommend the kids club for the under 13 set.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrooklynTravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,158 - 1,164 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

To cancel a reservation took three phone calls, endless waits with obnoxious ads playing in my ear, a "receptionist" answering the reservations line and saying that she couldn't do what I wanted, but that someone would call me back, and the same thing happening again (I missed the first call back, being a busy person) -- and I only then managed to cancel by getting irate. AND then I was told I'd be charged $25.00 for the pleasure. (I was canceling weeks in advance.) Make sure NEVER to reserve here if, like most people, you are someone whose plans may change.

Stayed: August 2013
11  Thank crulezim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohonkMountainHouse, Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear crulezim,

We are so sorry to hear about your recent experience and we can certainly understand your frustration. We do make every effort to respond immediately to all calls and we are sorry that we didn’t get through to you right away. Our phones have been particularly busy this summer with our recent recognition as the Number One Resort Spa in the United States and as the Number Six Spa in the World (Condé Nast and Travel + Leisure).

Please email me at kmartello@mohonk.com so that we can reach you directly and hopefully find a new date that works for your schedule.

Sincerely,

Katie Martello
Assistant Director of Marketing
Mohonk Mountain House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

After a two night stay the smoke smell from the fireplace could not be eliminated hence the room stunk. No other room was suggested by management. The fine dining was horrible. Food was tasteless and deserts made with lard! This was a get-away for my sister's birthday and we were very disappointed. Management tried to compensate with a 15% discount. That wasn't even
the amount for tax on the bill. Overrated and very expensive. Their spa was also of fair in quality.

Room Tip: Get a room without a fireplace. I was told to try and face the lake or mountains which is an extra f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohonkMountainHouse, Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Joyce,

We are sorry to learn that we didn’t meet your expectations.

Our chefs have won numerous awards for our food and our Spa has been recognized as the Number One Resort Spa in the United States and as the Number Six Spa in the World (Condé Nast and Travel + Leisure). These awards reflect our commitment to high standards and we apologize that your experience was a disappointment.

We appreciate that you’ve taken the time to give us this feedback and we will share it with our staff.



Sincerely,

Katie Martello
Assistant Director of Marketing
Mohonk Mountain House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We drove a distance off the nearest highway as we wanted to see Mohonk so we could decide on and plan our future stay.
We were stopped at guard gate and informed it would cost $25 per person to be able to drive up to the resort.

Can someone from Mohonk please write in and justify $50 to visit?

Thinking now, it would have been better if the guard would simply say "sorry,guests only. Here's a brochure and a discount offer. We do hope you'll come back and stay with us ". Charging an "admission fee" is an unwelcoming first impression for potential guests.

Gave ratings of 5 because we understand your reputation is excellent. Wanted to voice a concern in the most pleasant way possible. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ljwnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohonkMountainHouse, Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear ljwnek,

Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to explain our policy. We appreciate that you voiced your concern in such a lovely way!

I am so sorry that you weren’t able to see the resort after driving such a distance. The $25 per person fee is for our Grounds Pass. Purchase of the pass gives you access to our grounds (award-winning gardens, 85 miles of trails, carriage roads, and rock scrambles with spectacular views) for the entire day. This fee includes self-parking and, in season, a shuttle bus to our Day Visitor area at the Picnic Lodge.

We do have to limit the number of visitors on property to ensure a relaxing and enjoyable vacation for all our guests. Because of this, we are unable to allow guests to drive-up to explore the resort without a reservation (either a grounds pass, meal, spa, or overnight reservation is required).

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. Please email me at kmartello@mohonk.com if you have any other questions—I hope we’ll be welcoming you to our mountaintop as a guest soon.

Sincerely,

Katie Martello

Assistant Director of Marketing
Mohonk Mountain House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here with my family in July 2013 and we all had a great time. The grounds are gorgeous and there is lots to do. Both the beach and the pool are great for kids, and I especially liked the walk around the lake; there are what seems like an endless amount of little huts overlooking the lake, each of which offers a fantastic view and a private place to read in the shade. The hotel has a nice amount of common space too, with many interesting nooks and crannies. The only negative to the hotel was that it smelled a tad musty.

I was a little apprehensive about the food, given that I am not usually a fan of buffets. However, I found the meals to be consistently quite good, thought nothing memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Person3557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice setting, TV's extra. Food was average at the grand lunch buffet. We happen to be there on a rainy overcast day. Couldn't use the boats or horseback riding. Inside activities were very limited. If you are the type that like to get in the car and see other sites in the area, this is not for you. On the other hand if you like to just rest in the mountain air and except mediocre food go for it. I'm glad we went for the day, nice to check out the place. Not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICHARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

A quick drive from New York City, my wife's favorite getaway place, we've been 4 times twice brought our friends and considered most lovable in Shawgunk Mountains, on top of the tower you'll see six states in different directions. Me and my wife will compare this place to Lake Bled with a beautiful scenery of Slovenian Alps but Mohonk have no Island in the middle of lake unlike The Lake Bled with its astounding, very beautiful Island with a thousand years old church. Well, come and visit this beautiful place-Mohonk Mountain House with its distinct beauty compared to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
335 reviews
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
296 reviews
12.5 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
283 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range: $379 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing