We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently strong service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Phila
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Consistently strong service.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Spent a long weekend and was sorry to leave. Staff is pleasant and accommodating. Rooms are clean. Food is good and plentiful. Children enjoy the kids club. Hiking is fun and as strenuous or laid back as you like. Followed our ears to a field of cicadas!!
Our waitress, I think her name was Tristian, was fantastic.

Room Tip: Reservation agents know the rooms well. Your call isn't outsourced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    512
    205
    134
    85
See reviews for
562
809
39
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place is beautiful! My suggestion try it once! The cheapest rooms are $466 a night! The grounds are absolutely breath taking, but the only real thing to do is hike (which you can do for free, without staying the night). Guest services will automatically recommend the Labyrinth and the Lemon Squeeze rock scramble which is hands down the coolest thing about this place. You have to do it! But beyond that they will recommend a lot of other hum drum hikes. We asked the guy, "we want an adventure! and we want to be gone from breakfast till lunch" He didn't have much to give us, so he clumped a bunch of the walking paths together. We tried to make our own trail and came across a Ranger that made a lot of Mohonk Preserve recommendations that totally made our day, we got to go on some real hikes!

The dinning room is stuffy and filled with a bunch of pretentious people...we were not our most comfortable there, but the food was VERY good.The afternoon tea time is great. Take advantage of all the free stuff. We were bothered by the fact that not one drink was included in the expensive price so we brought a bunch of our own wine.

Long story short, from now on we will be hiking in for the day, and most likely never being able to afford to stay there on our own. I assume they do that on purpose, they have such expensive prices to keep young riff raff from being able to stay and ruin the experience for the very old traditional people that keep this place going. However, they will have to switch their marketing sooner or later to take in some of these more conservative young people.

The spa was amazing, but again EXPENSIVE! We both got massages and the total was $415! It was very professional, and relaxing. We both love it but had to dig deep in our pockets for it.

Also, there isn't much to do there at night. If you are in your 20's, you have seen the movies before, and the TV room was filled with old people watching the Tony awards. We really wanted to go out for a stroll after dinner but there were no lit paths. So we ended up going to bed really early since there was no TV in the room.

The rooms are nice, AC and have a great balcony overlooking the lake or mountain view. Classic feeling and quaint. I would say try it if there is a great deal online somewhere but if you can park at lake minewaska and hike in for the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flaggjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The Smiley family have continued to bring forward an excellence and attention to the pure essence of this mountain that make it possible for so many to have an experience of natural beauty at its very finest.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ValleyFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Incredibly beautiful nature, imposing old castle-like hotel so close to the major metropolitan area.
We been there at least 3 times: during summer and autumn, It is especially striking on a clear warm days of Indian summer or when leaves change their color. It is possible to walk up from the parking lot through the woods to the hotel, or take a shuttle bus if you can't walk. The only problem is that if weather is fine, it might be necessary to make an advance reservation for the parking: the space is limited. Or come very early.
We have never dined in the hotel but once spent time boating, and in the gardens and barns: they have an interesting mismatched collection of old newspapers , magazines, garden tools, carriages etc. Be prepared for surprises. Definitely walk up to the observation tower: the view is amazing! A small glacial lake has dramatic rocks and lovely blue color. I adore this place and would like to go there again. And recommend to spend a full day.

Helpful?
1 Thank sikora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went with our family of four, including a baby and a pre-schooler over Memorial Day weekend. It is really a perfect destination for a family with small children, lots to do (the putting green was a big hit), a playground, fairly easy hikes (the ones up to the tower and around the lake were the right length).

The setting is stunning, very beautiful.

The rooms are nice, if a bit underwhelming, the food was good, buffet style although you can get a la carte. It's definitely an old-school big family resort, so if you prefer smaller more intimate restaurants you might go into New Paltz which is a nice town.

The only downside is that the hotel seemed a bit dated (which gave it a charming rustic feel), but could certainly use some investment.

But overall I'd highly recommend it and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherief M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A few years ago my mother told me that the one place she really wanted to go was Mohonk Mountain House. After initially looking into the prices and the accommodations, I came away with the impression that it was an overpriced over-the-hill resort that I would never spend my hard earned money on seeing.

Boy, was I wrong.

While planning for my mother's upcoming 75th birthday, I remembered her dream to visit Mohonk and decided to give it a second chance. I stumbled across a special rate and decided to surprise mom with a trip.

Mohonk is a truly wonderful historic resort with exceptional staff. The restaurant staff in particular were incredible and even remembered little details, such as where we liked to sit, asking about our dinner at the formal restaurant the night before, etc. Amazing!

The spa was also top notch. I had a reflexology massage, and my mother got her hair done at the salon. We were both very happy with our services.

Overall, I don't think there are many places left in the country like Mohonk. The history, location, grounds, and interesting little nooks and crannies to explore all add up to a very special resort where you can just kick back and truly relax. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nodice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Mohonk Mountain House, but it won't be our last.... what a wonderful get-away. We arrived on a Sunday and our reservation ended after lunch on Wednesday. Since check-in is at 4:00 and the reservation starts with dinner, I called about arriving early to ask if there was someplace we could get lunch. After a short conversation I disclosed that we were leaving before lunch on Wednesday, and it was suggested that we switch our lunch meal to have the Brunch on Sunday instead of lunch on Wednesday. WOW! I'm so glad we didn't miss that Brunch, it was beyond amazing.... and they even gave us a delicious boxed lunch on Wednesday to take with us anyway!
The food is EXCELLENT, varied, and beautifully presented... and there's so much of it, .... hence the Land Cruise reference. The grounds are magnificent, in the fog and the sun, and everything is very well cared for. We had a mountain view Country Room which is much brighter and airier than the Victorian rooms that we passed on our way to dinner, and more to my liking.... but next time I'd like a Lake view in the same area. The entire place is very clean and polished, right down to the brass locks on hundreds of windows throughout the place.
We went on several different hikes (don't miss the Sky Top Path to the tower) and all do-able at 65 & 72! I took 687 pictures, the vistas were amazing.
Both my husband and I had pedicures. They weren't the best we've ever had, but our feet were happy, and we could then use the spa facilities for the rest of the day, so that was great.
There's no doubt that a Mohonk Mountain House escape is totally worth the money!

Room Tip: It's very quiet in the south wing (Spa end) but there's a bit of a walk to the elevator if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
132 reviews
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
5.5 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Property: Mohonk Mountain House
Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing