We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars! Amazing! Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 stars! Amazing! Loved it!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here and we loved it - it is so worth the money. The lake and nature surrounding it are so beautiful, full of wildlife and amazing views. From the top of their lookout tower, you can have a view of 6 surrounding states! I love how the resort is all inclusive of activities and food, the food was outstanding, and I appreciate how gratuity was included - it was only 15%, and the valet or bellmen wouldn't accept tips, which was one less thing to worry about. The spa was so peaceful and relaxing, the services are reasonably priced, and the massage I had was great! To me, best of all was the friendly, and truly sincere service by the employees. From the valet, to the front desk, the ski shop, ice skating rink, the servers, our spa attendants, to our room attendant (who found and so kindly turned in my husband's watch when he mistakenly left it behind) and the lost and found even mailed us the watch for free! We stayed during a time that wasn't full capacity, so they gave us a free upgrade to a Victorian suite with a fireplace! As frequent travelers, we have stayed at great resorts all over the world, but we didn't have to travel far to visit such a gem of a resort so close to us in New York City. We were so impressed with the beauty of Mohonk, and most especially the staff. We cannot wait to go back for another visit!

Room Tip: high floors, overlooking the lake, with a balcony, a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyLATravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    512
    205
    134
    85
See reviews for
562
809
39
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

So many things were wrong. First make sure you book the spa before your room. We reserved a room for the night but there were no spa appointments open, they would not refund our reservation. Was able to get the worst manicure ever, but the pedi was nice. Access to the spa area was an outside hot tub for six people only. Our room was promised to be in a child free area of the resort..... Not true. The food was good, however limited service for alcohol, only in the one bar or your room. Cannot sit on the deck and enjoy a drink. Lastly I have seen water fountains with greater pressure than our shower. I will say the staff is extremely gracious and the views are magnificent. However I do not understand how this is listed as the #1 spa in the US.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank khiggs65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned after a one night stay at Mohonk - our first, but definitely not our last.Traveled with my two children and we arrived about 12pm and were upgraded to a suite which was ready for us. During our two full days there we cross-country skied, skated, took a guided snowshoe hike, swam in the beautiful indoor pool, and the kids participated in the kids club (animal tracking with a naturalist, indoor games etc), while mom used the spa facilities! We left at 7.30pm the second day and were able to use the facilities until we left. We had an amazing time. It is a breathtaking property with vistas that are a feast for the eyes. The food was wonderful, the staff was superb. Was it expensive? Yes it was, but we came back feeling like we'd just experienced something really special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siojan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Had husbands 70th birthday here over a snowy weekend. Ages from 6 -70 attended. Although had to work with multiple people to make arrangements, in the end all was terrific. Rooms clean but dated and pillows hard as a rock, although feathers & soft was requested.
Food plentiful and very good and allergies accommodated. Activities for all ages are included. Selected to do, for an additional charge, a Scavenger Hunt, that was a lot of fun and something all could do together but skip the Ice Bowling as very problematic and much too expensive for what it actually is. Would recommend going, especially in the warmer months as much to do for all ages. (We were lucky there was snow that weekend so could choose among snow related activities. If no snow in winter it is pretty limited).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freshfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Just got home from a 2 night stay at mohonk Although the hotel is perched on beautiful grounds, I must say that we felt our stay was not worth the money spent. We spent $1000 for 2 nights which included dinner and breakfast. It did not include a tv, nor a fridge, nor any of the luxuries you would expect when spending 400 a night. The hotel was beautifully maintained dispite it's age I understand that it is a historical hotel but I do not feel this experience warranted these prices. Everything we wanted to do was extra too. We were charged $50 to use the mineral pool which truly was just a hot tub. Plus there would have been an additional fee of $25 to get a tv for our room. Once every additional fee was taxed and added to our room we spent $1000. For that price we could have spent 4 nights in the Caribbean or Mexico. We did enjoy our stay however we just felt it was not worth the money we spent

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chrisandmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have visited the wonderful grounds at Mohonk many times, but never had the opportunity to stay as an overnight guest until this year. It is a very charming lodge and a great place to escape for a relaxing weekend with friends. The new spa is terrific -- and you will love the pool! The exercise classes are okay, but there is a full gym available. The food is very good and there is a wide selection every day at every meal. The service could not be better -- everyone is so friendly and can not do enough to help you. The rooms are what you would expect for a lodge built in the 19th century!! They are cold, but there is central heat and air. There are no televisions but there is WiFi. The common rooms are rustically and comfortably decorated. The house is full of so much history, and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Upon arrival I was really excited about staying at this hotel. The grounds were beautiful on the way in. It all went down hill from there. Valet had a wait of about 45 minutes to get out of the car so I self parked down the hill. Quite a hike with a bag. The hotel was crowded with day visitors everyday. The interior of the hotel is terrible and needs an update. The hotel rooms are horrid. This place reminded me of The Shining. Also, you can only have a drink in the basement or in your room. Its a shame because the views from the porch were amazing. Staff is terrible too. No service training what so ever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
132 reviews
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
5.5 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
4.1 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Property: Mohonk Mountain House
Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing