We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Had a overnight stay for our anniversary. I mentioned this while booking and when we got to our room we found a picture frame and a card from Mohonk staffs. Very nice touch. Room was clean. Small but nice. No tv in the room. Entire hotel was very quite. I think you are supposed to enjoy the nature/hike trail and read a book by the fire place. Nothing much to do this time of the year but I still found the brisk walk in the trail and around the house enjoyable. Rate we got included 3 meals. Food was tasty and restaurant had nice ambience. They charge 12% gratuity that covers all waitstaff, valet parking, housekeeping, etc. Alcoholic beverages were extra. Overall very nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    497
    198
    132
    84
See reviews for
547
793
38
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

There's no doubt this hotel has breathtaking views of 6 states, beautiful trails to walk, a lovely modern spa, delicious meals 3 times a day, a stunning picturesque lake that stopped the canoes while we were there ( Oct. 23 ) , a hotel & grounds with so much history but for $758 a night it was so upsetting to have to listen to the people next door talking, hearing the tv you can rent & snooring every night for 3 nights. At midnight I called the front desk & they sent someone up to next doors room, announced "Guest Services" gave his message, left and they continued as before. It was extremely upsetting and for these prices they really need to address the extremely musty smelling hallways.

Room Tip: Room 466 has very thin walls & the hallway is very musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnMarie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Granby
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yes, of course it's a wonderful place to stay overnight but this is also a great place to spend the day too.
On the grounds are hiking trails, horseback riding, canoeing, sailing, many,many lovely gardens and much more. There are also three very large porches where you can relax with the woman you love, a good book and a nice cuppa.The views are beautiful.
So here's the thing, if you are visiting for just the day, you have to pay a fee to get onto the grounds. But if you stay for dinner, you don't pay a fee...we stayed for dinner. When we went this summer, we made dinner reservations in the Main Dining Room (jacket required). The service was excellent and the food delicious. Note: this is prix fixe and the tip is already included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAMRAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went in October for an anniversary celebration. The resort and the surroundings/gardens were beautiful. Room overlooking the lake with a balcony with rocking chairs and fireplace in room. Lots of good hiking, museum/history on premises, pool for lap swimming and nice dining. Some planned activities throughout the day and evening, sunset cocktails and afternoon tea and cookies! Definately preferred the served dining room vs. buffet dining.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are very nice, but I suspect could be noisy in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falkon181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a fabulous resort and gorgeous property wonderful food, beautiful gardens and fantastic spa. This hotel is like a Victorian castle set overlooking a pristine mountain lake and surrounded by thousands of acres of nature preserve. Tower rooms are great and i prefer the lakeside view but if you stay on the other side of the castle you have wonderful mountain sunset views. I have stayed in the Victorian rooms with fireplace and the country style as well both were very comfortable.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seatour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Visited last weekend, my first time but my parents have been there before and were excited to have me visit. We don't always get what we plan and mother nature was in full force with the fog machine so the views that people speak of weren't there however wandering around finds this place beautiful in every sense of the word. Check in was painless although our rooms weren't ready (approx. 45 min. wait) and my parents didn't get the type of room reserved and weren't able to move. The inside of the hotel should be appreciated as it's so unique in character.
Dining was quite a letdown as the dining room makes you feel like you're in a cafeteria which is really loud when full, talking is hard unless you decide to raise your voice. For dinner it said jacket required/no jeans for men but that certainly wasn't the case on the night we were there-jeans were everywhere and jackets were scarce.
There are many activities to choose from and if you can't find something to do then there isn't anything you like doing anyway. Cost is not cheap though, can't say I agree it's worth what is charged.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 528sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

An absolute pleasure! The staff were superb and the food devine! There are no televisons to add to the peace. They have so many activities for couples and families. Be sure to bring proper attire for dining. Also bring your hiking shoes, you will want to wonder throughout this Mountain retreat.

Room Tip: Any room has a fireplace and balcony, try to get a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTripChick4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
12.5 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Property: Mohonk Mountain House
Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing