We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So unique and beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights, starting on Sunday, to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We can't say enough about the staff. Everyone seemed happy to be there and pleased to help us make the most of our getaway. I had read many of the reviews posted, and tried to follow the suggestions that seemed as if they would make our trip better.
When we arrived, we asked if there was a room available on a higher floor than or reserved room. The woman at the desk did some checking and moved us into a beautiful room on the top floor of the renovated wing. We had a lake view, and it was really pretty. Ask for a mountain room if you'd like more quiet, but we enjoyed watching people coming and going on the resort grounds. We really liked our room. It was newly renovated and very clean. Since there is no TV or radio in the room, it was VERY quiet. It would have been nice to bring some music along.
We spent most of our time hiking, and it was so much fun! Our favorite hikes were the Labyrinth, Arching Rocks and Rock Rift Crevice. We have not done hiking like this before (rock scrambling), and it was certainly an adventure. We were proud of ourselves after having finished the Labyrinth, but we did have some nervous moments when we reached the top of the last ladder in the crevice. We still had another 8-10 feet to go straight up in a really tight section, and it took us each a good 5 minutes to figure out how to get up and through. It was pretty scary. The rest of the scramble is so much fun and the views along the way and at the top are amazing! Arching rocks was a really fun scramble - got our hearts pumping, but we never felt that we were in danger. Same goes for Rock Rift Crevice - this one was actually my favorite. The path sends you in and out of caves and crevices that you can't believe actually lead anywhere. It was so different and beautiful. We also did Zadie's Bower, but I didn't love that. There is one section that you have to scootch for about 10 feet across huge rock that is slanted on both sides, and the fall on either side would definitely hurt you. We made it just fine, but the hike wasn't that interesting or pretty enough to justify the fear I felt :) Carlos from the Mountain House was a great resource for hiking advice, and he was fun to talk to.
The grounds were so beautiful, and we had gorgeous weather. We played the 18 holes they had set up on the putting green twice, played shuffleboard, took out a rowboat, visited the Barn Museum (so interesting) and the gardens, and did some other really nice hikes. We went to a bonfire last night at the Granary, where we met another nice couple and had an interesting time talking to them and Danish and Maria from Mohonk. Danish had great stories!
The atmosphere in the dining room was very nice. The food was a little rich for us (I came home longing for a plain old chicken breast and some broccoli), but we certainly did not go hungry. We felt a little guilty after spending so much to stay at Mohonk, but we actually went into New Paltz one night to get some pub food at the Gilded Otter. They had great specials and the food was good.
We loved having cocktails on the Sunset Porch. They even gave us blankets to wrap ourselves in to keep warm as we sat and rocked on the porch with our drinks. It was so relaxing.
The buildings are beautiful, immaculate and so well kept. The entire experience was unlike any other we've ever had. You really can't compare Mohonk to a newer resort. There is such a different feel there from the attitude of the staff to the unbelievable surroundings to the wealth of things to do for people of all ages and interests. There is no doubt that it is very expensive, but once we made the decision to go for our special occasion, we tried not to think about it too much. As the resort makes it clear, tips and taxes are automatically added to the base rate. We did not feel at any time that staff members expected extra tips. They actually seemed happy to help us in any way they could.
We loved our time a Mohonk Mountain House!

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms are really nice and very clean. We had room 406...the top floor of the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcichocki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,371 - 1,377 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We love this resort and visit about once a year. There is everything or nothing to do and the food is great. We love the spa and enjoy each and every visit. You will feel welcome and the staff are helpful and courteous. The hiking and views of the mountains and lake are breathtaking. This resort is wonderful for all occasions from couples weekend to family gatherings to special occasions like weddings or reunions. Get away and relax and be pampered while enjoying great food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bramram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Beautiful grounds, gardens, hiking paths. Beautiful spa and great yoga classes. Food was excellent a large choice including ethnic foods. The hotel though old has old world charm, bathrooms are updated.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake - quite spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potlowmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Mohonk Mountain House last week as a part of a family birthday celebration.The moment we arrived the graciousness and professionalism of the staff made us feel welcome(having not been there as over night guests for years). In a way nothing has changed; the same
elegant old world comfort of the many public rooms, the beautiful walking
and hiking trails,and the magnificent wood paneling in the dinning room.
At the same time a really lovely spa and indoor swimming pool have been added. The pool has many windows which look out to the trees
surrounding the building. If you appreciate low-key elegance, and the quitetude of nature, along with a great choice of cusine at dinner,and a really good wine list with a nice range of prices, as well as a place with a sense of history this hotel is a must!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor in a more modernized room overlooking the lake in a small suite for three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citycat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Mohonk Mountain House for 3 nights over Labor Day weekend. The experience was absolutely wonderful! That said, no matter how you slice it, it will not ever feel like a good value. But if you are willing to swallow the high cost and put it out of your head completely, bliss and serenity await you here.

Pros:

- hiking trails are nothing short of spectacular! The trails close to the hotel were a little crowded, but just a mile or so into the hike it felt like we had the trails to ourselves (and this was on their busiest weekend of the year). If you are fit, make sure you try the rock scrambles, especially Cathedral Rocks and Giants' Workshop.

-Food: I found it all to be all delicious! I especially enjoyed the lobster bake at the Granery.

- Easy to get to from NYC - and you do not need a car! If you arrange in advance, Mohonk will send a car to pick you up at the New Paltz bus station for no extra charge. There is so much to do right on the property we never felt a desire to leave during our stay. The trailheads are right at the hotel.

- the setting: absolutely beautiful!

Just Okay:

- our room itself was nothing special. It was cute and comfortable, just not what you would generally expect for $600 a night. Although the view was amazing.

- there are a lot of families with young children who visit, so the dining room can get pretty noisy. Perhaps it would have been quieter if we had chosen the formal dining option, but that just wasn't going to happen.

So overall, if you love the outdoors, and have a little money to burn, Mohonk is a wonderful getaway! I can't imagine there is any other place like it this close to NYC.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy_bunny02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Mohonk for one night to attend a wedding, then have some fun with the wedding attendees the next day, many of whom were good friends. We loved the grounds and the hiking was spectacular. It was fun to be able to just take a canoe out on to the lake for a while without additional cost of hassle. The staff is terrific and they make everything very easy for guests. Our room was very nice, spacious and was nicely updated. We had a deck with rocking chairs and a spectacular view. Valet parking was very easy. The only two items that we found somewhat lacking -- guest services and the food. Guest services provided little information on some things we needed outside of the facility. They were polite but short on information. The food overall was a very big disappointment with breakfast being the exception. The food at the wedding was overcooked and dry with little flavor. They didn't offer the beef dish in any other way but medium. We opted to NOT join our friends for dinner since we weren't staying the second night and didn't really want to pay $150 for dinner. Most in the group that did eat in the dining room were not blown away, which they should have been for the price. Overall, it was a beautiful place, we had a great time, and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

For my wife's 50th, we relaxed at this mountain paradise. 3 gourmet meals a day and outstanding service make it all worth it. We biked and sunbathed on the scenic lake. Much more to do if you want to. Trails for bikers are outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank char c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
916 reviews
10.1 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
21 reviews
5.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
10.0 mi away
Twin Lakes Lodge
Twin Lakes Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hurley
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range: $379 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing