We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Day Pass”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just a Day Pass”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We drove up to Hike. We purchased a daypass to the grounds for 25 dollars and parked in the lot. A shuttle picks you up from the entrance and drives you approximately 2-1/2 miles in and drops you off at the ice cream shoppe. From there, where you go is your choice.

We hiked 5 different trails and only covered a portion of the grounds. Paths vary from easy to rugged and difficult. Lots of wildlife, flowers and scenic overlooks to admire. Boat rental is an option.
Lots of people on the grounds - including a wedding - but not crowded. Nice place to relax and picnic

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    518
    207
    136
    86
See reviews for
570
820
39
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
greenwich, CT
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Given its proximity to NYC (sub 2hrs without traffic) and spectacular natural setting (think pocket-sized Lake Tahoe), Mohonk could probably charge more for providing such an accessible weekend retreat for busy families who are very time-constrained. Super family friendly, great easy hikes, and tons of kid-friendly activities on the lake and around it. Food and rooms are adequate, but not for people who want a Ritz-Carlton experience, but the reason to go is to be outdoors – you will not care that there are no TV’s. Staff is good without in-your-face obsequiousness. Two, three days max before you would start to get bored, but excellent for a weekend if your budget permits. Too many kids running around for it to be a good couples weekend, go to a B&B in New Paltz for that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family and I just spent 3 nights at Mohonk. We really enjoyed the stay, but I must say this property is very difficult to evaluate. There are so many things that are positive and can be enjoyed, however other things are frustrating. I'll try to give a concise list of what I perceive to be the positives and negatives:

Positives:
-The outdoor facilities are GREAT. Plenty of outstanding hiking trails around the property. The Rockscramble hike is unique and unbelievably fun (but not for those completely out of shape). The lake is tons of fun and the property does a great job in making many types of boats avaiable for easy access (kayaks, canoes, rowboats, stand-up paddleboards).

-The spa is really nice. It features a nice-sized indoor pool, a gym with a good amount of equipment and a lovely spa area with all the standard treatments.

-The food is plentiful and good. We stayed in the traditional "not formal" restaurant where you could order off the menu or have the buffet.

-The house itself is historic and it's fun to walk around and soak in the history.

-They have plenty of activities every day, including seminars/discussions, hikes, etc.


Negatives:
-While it's great that they have a beach area, it is really small. It's about a five minute walk from the hotel down a steep staircase. When you get there you realize that most of the space is actually on one of two docks - there is really very little space to hang out on the beach itself. This isn't a huge negative, but it was a bit disappointing.

-There are lots and lots of rooms. The problem is that some of the "key rooms" are very small. For example, the game room is very tight, barely fitting in ping pong and foosball tables, along with a few pinball machines/video games. If it's raining out and there are alot of kids at the property, you can forget about getting into this room. It is way too small. The same is true for the "billiard room". It's kind of a joke - one billiard table in a very tight room with barely enough space to fit your pool cue. In my opinion, they need to re-orient some of these activity rooms and make them larger. It was particularly frustrating since there were many other large common rooms that were not really in use. Seems these could be put to better use for indoor activities.

-The rooms are only average. We were in the renovated section and the room still felt only "okay". The air-conditioning was noisy. My sister's room didn't have proper ventilation in the bathroom and every time they took showers, they set off the fire alarm. These are unacceptable things for a high-quality hotel property.

-The overall place feels a bit "long in the tooth". The rugs are dated and there are "interesting" odors throughout the corridors. I'd love to see a freshening up of the main hotel.


Despite the negatives, this really is a special place. It is easy to get to from NYC, fairfield county; westchester county, and northern NJ. It's a fun place to do family reunions/get-togethers. We met several people who have been coming back with their families for years on end. If nothing else, the outdoor facilities are worth a few days of visitation. We enjoyed it and I'm sure you will as well.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a renovated room. Also, f you are mildly adventurous and in decent shape, definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dwhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We paid $700 a night for the basic room (approximately $400 more per night than normal). This in mind our initial reaction when walking into the resort was why haven't they updated this resort in the past 30 years, it can't be for lack of money. Our second thought was, wow this wasn't the right trip for our age group - most people were significantly older and looked very much more outdoorsy than we are. We are from NYC, i was shocked at the number of international guests and how they heard about and chose to come to Mohonk.

We went on the kayaks - the lake was absolutely beautiful; it's kind of small though so there isn't far to go.

We went on the rock scramble. We consider ourselves young and athletic, but we have never climbed a mountain before. This was INTENSE. I knew to wear sneakers but some other people had gloves and climbing shoes on! The views were beautiful and we felt like we had accomplished something.

We went to the spa. I had a facial which was incredible, my fiancé had a reflexology massage which he said was just okay. The inside of the spa is gorgeous. This added an additional $250 to the trip, but I'd still recommend getting at least one treatment.

As for the food- it was not that impressive. I actually thought the breakfast and lunch buffets were better than the sit down dinner.

My overall conclusion is that next time I'd come up for the day- do one of the hikes, go to the spa and eat at one of the super cute looking restaurants in the town. I'd save a ton money and probably have better food. Also they really should consider updating the resort. It can keep its old world charm and have a less retro feel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ICanBeCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was our first time coming here. We read the reviews and some criticized this hotel and some praised it highly. It looked nice and it appeared to appeal to children so we went for two nights. We live 2 hours away by car and was there in no time. We were really surprised to see a beautiful looking house/hotel on top of a mountaintop just like in the pictures. The scenery is gorgeous. There are mountains all around. The house is made of stone and another portion which is colored green has other rooms. The house was huge and magnificent. When we went inside we noticed that this was a very old house/hotel. In fact it is over 140 years old. The wood throughout has a smell of old wood, and the carpeting, furniture, and pictures on the walls depict the history of the house. Everything is well kept and in its original condition. The staff at the front desk were friendly and efficient. We came very early and were allowed to participate in activities even though our room was not ready. Our luggage was held by the bellstaff who greeted us and were efficient. When we walked around the house, we were greeted by staff as well as other hotel guests. People seemed to be friendly. We saw the lake which was huge and rowboats, paddleboats, and kayaks were available for complementary use for guests. We made much use of the boats and had a great time. We saw turtles on the rocks while on the lake which was nice. We also saw other guests on horseback on trails, as well as on carriage rides. The hotel offers several activities each day from morning to night which is listed in a newsletter type guide. We first went on a hike of about 3-4 miles and walked all the way up the mountaintop and saw a tower, two hawks, as well as a deer. We enjoyed that. Then, we went to the garden and saw beautiful flowers we never saw before. The colors were so beautiful. We then had lunch in the main dining room. We were again welcomed and brought to our table promptly and seated. The wait staff were very attentive and efficient, filling our glasses with beverages. There is a huge buffet offered for breakfast, lunch, and dinner which contains everything you could imagine from different entrees, desserts, salads, breads, meats carved at a station, fruits, vegetables, children's buffet, an omelet station for breakfast, waffles, pancakes, hot cereals, cold cereals, muffins, and other breakfast items. The quality of the food was high and the food was very well-prepared. We were very pleased with our meals. We were also very pleased with our room. The beds were very comfortable, the room was very clean, and we had a balcony with rocking chairs and were able to sit outside and see the beautiful mountains in the distance. You could tell the room new. The bathroom was large and nicely decorated. We were kept busy from morning to night with activities. There are tea and cookies served 4-5pm. The cookies include chocolate chip and oatmeal raisin. Tea consists of herbal, orange pekoe, and black tea. It was nice to sit inside and drink tea and eat cookies as a break in the day. There are rocking chairs all along the big porch facing the lake, and many guests sit on the porch looking out at the lake. It is very relaxing. Also there is a pool of koi fish in this area along with flowers growing around.
There are greenhouses which we did not get a chance to see. The property has many types of flowers and offered lectures by gardeners about flowers at the time we were there. Lastly, we went to the indoor pool twice. It is located in the same area as the spa. The pool is large and we enjoyed it as well. We noticed that the guest were mostly older adults, families with young children, and some couples. It seemed that guests come year after year and are regulars. Overall we truly enjoyed our stay and would stay again. The price is high. It does include meals and actitivies, and does make a nice vacation. If the price was somewhat less, it would be even more desirable.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the mountains with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NewJerseyMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spend several days each August at Mohonk Mountain House with our children and grandchildren and year after year it maintains its high standard. There's always something to keep everyone in our large group busy (and happy). The staff has a "can do" attitude. The food is delicious (and plentiful). We are often too tired for the evening programs, but this year two of the Arts festival classical music concerts were memorable. We've already reserved our rooms for next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn Heights, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our third family trip to beautiful Mohonk Mountain House. My grandson who is five, cannot wait to go there. There is beauty all around you,starting with the gorgeous lake, where you can boat, swim and fish. There are eighty five miles of hiking pathes for all levels. One of the hiking highlights is the trip up to the tower. It is an easy 30 minute walk,all uphill. You are rewarded with aWait till the winte gorgeous view of the Shawangunks and the surrounding area. For those who are braver and agile, there is the labyrinth, that also takes you up to the tower, There`s an indoor pool, just in case of inclement weather. My favorite things are the unlimited free exercise classes and the food, which is gourmet. Wait till the winter There is snowshoeing on the trails, which I love. Anytime you go is a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
149 reviews
3.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
10.1 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
422 reviews
4.1 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Property: Mohonk Mountain House
Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing