We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad!!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Place is overpriced! My night here was so unconfortable, desk,chair,carpet were dirty. The room had a share bathroom with the neighbor,bed very unconfortable and on top i could hear the neighbor snorring, disapointed! I will not and certainly not return

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank est559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econo530, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

when we rented you the room there was some miscommunication the whole room was yours both side. you did not share the room with anyone. Your room was one of our family/group rooms. so if you were part of a group and two couples it would work like this, on one side one couple would stay and on the other side the other couple would sleep so you pay for one room but its like you get two. sorry for the miscommunication we do wish that you come back and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 90 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

Do Not Stay At This Place!!. People who work here and run this place Lie!! Do Not Attempt To Book A Reservation Because They Don't Cancel And Will Charge Your Credit Card!! My husband called way in advance ( a week in advance) and the nasty woman said we don't have a reservation. It turned out our name was spelled incorrectly and the woman refuses to give us a refund. It is a scam!! My husband called to cancel and the woman originally said we don't have a reservation because she had us under another name. The place is run by disgusting people who refuse to honor the cancellation agreement!! They are Liars!! We can't even give this place a proper rating because we cancelled well in advance and they refuse to refund our credit card. Stay Away!

Room Tip: Don't even book a reservation Here!! If You Change Your Mind In Advance About Staying There Th...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank David s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here 1 night in August 2013. Room was fine. And the pool was nice.
Breakfast was decent. I don't know what the other people are complaining about.
It is a basic hotel -- what do you want? Everything was just what you could
hope for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Almost gave this place a 2 star based on the Value vs Price. For what you get, this is priced about 3 times higher than the value merits. Way overpriced. For what I paid, including the pet fee, the exotic dancers from next door should have been coming over to do a private show.

Yes, breakfast was included, but no waffle maker, no fruit, so so juice, and only 2 cereal selections. For what was paid for a room, this was seriously lacking. Should have at least had raisin bran. Was only fruit loops or rice crispies. And a few muffins for selection. OJ ish type drink and milk, while sitting in the hotel lobby. No real breakfast area. Maybe for $40 a night that would have been ok. But not for what is charged!

That being said, was a decent hotel. The room was spacious enough. Stayed here to race BMX at New Paltz. The room had carpeting which was nice. The refrigerator was decent sized for storing my drinks and some left overs. Microwave was there, but didn't use it. Plenty of lighting. Bathroom was ok. All in all, a decent room. I did bring my own pillows, which I thought did help. Did have a thermostat in the room, but I don't think it worked. AC was either on or off. Was able to sleep. However, did hear guests at 6 a.m. saying ready freddy? Who gets up that early? Was totally annoying.

There is a big step up about a foot high to get into the room though. If you are not paying attention when going out the door, you could fall. Would have been nice to have been able to park in front of the door, but was too crowded. They did have plenty of parking on the side though.

Front desk people were friendly.

Since I had been in the area before, I knew I DID NOT want to eat at the nearby College Diner as it was not very good and service was awful. The clerk said drive toward Main street and would see other options. Found Genesis Diner just up the road on the right. Was a great place. Open till midnight I think on Saturday. Service was exceptional from the host/manager and the waitress. Even the busboy offered water. Prices seemed reasonable for NY and got good value for your money. Had a lot of food options. Would highly recommend the restaurant.

A plus for the hotel was the Econolodge was pet friendly :-) One of the main reasons I stayed here. So a decent stay. Would stay here again for the purpose. But would have to close my eyes to the price/value. They could do way better in that regard.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 112 on the ground floor with 2 double beds. Was pricey for what you get. But decent...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oquick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was an overnight stay and that was plenty. We arrived late and had no trouble with check in, but we were on our own to find the room. As we drove up to it and got out of the car, there was an obvious "smell". The units were ok, ours had a 6" burn hole in the rug. The room had window air conditioning which was adequate. The bathroom door had cob webs behind it and the there was a funk smell that would not go away in the bathroom, some relief was brought by the bathroom fan. Other than that that it was clean. The room and ammenities were basic, sm refrig and sm microwave-no coffee. We did have to call once to the front desk with a simple question and the responses were minimal, not very helpful to someone unfamiliar to the area. Very probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redcatcec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed one night of a longer trip.

Had trouble checking in on Sunday as the clerk appeared to be unfamiliar with some procedures; I asked to charge a different card, and he took quite a while to find my reserved rate - had to go back to the car to get a copy of my confirmation.

Note: As you enter the lot, it appears the office requires climbing up a floor - proceed uphill to other side for same floor access. No signs to alert you of this!

The room was very basic Econo Lodge - no coffee maker, guest directory or TV roster, old and faded but basically clean with all utilities functional. Bed was comfortable and internet dependable.

Very basic breakfast, too - no hot or heatable items, no fruit, but coffee was OK.

Hotel is on outskirts of town (though near Thruway), with restaurants, etc. a mile's drive away, nothing in walking distance. There's a strip club next door, but didn't appear to be open on Sunday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge for the Marist College graduation. Most of the other hotels in the area were booked or gouging prices. We booked 2 double rooms and this hotel is just awful. First off, there was a horrendous smell in our room, second, there were dead bugs in the bathroom that I cleaned up before my wife saw them. Third, we went to the front desk to ask for more towels, since the towels in the rooms were not much bigger than a wash cloth and got major attitude from the young man working the front desk. He came to the desk from a back room and gave the impression we were interrupting him. He also didn't have any shoes on and was walking out barefoot, which was quite disturbing. We asked for towels and instead of getting them for us, he peppered us with questions, Why? Are you going to be in our your room? When will you be back?

Don't book this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UpstateNYer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
170 reviews
4.5 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
435 reviews
7.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 530 Main St, New Paltz, NY 12561-1609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range: $69 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge New Paltz
Econo Lodge New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing