We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure pleasure and comfort”
Review of MapleStone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MapleStone Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Baltimore Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pure pleasure and comfort”
Reviewed August 23, 2007

This was our second visit to MapleStone Inn and we enjoyed it as much as our first time. We stayed in The Tucker Room on the second floor. It has an enormous bathroom that is immaculate, luxurious and totally fabulous. The tub is really large and there is a separte shower and a Vermont casting stove. The bedroom has lots of light and a king size bed with high quality sheets and quilts. There is also a loveseat and plenty of good light for reading. Breakfast is a treat and everything is fresh, delicious and presented beautifully. Sean and Patty are among the finest innkeepers we have met in 30 years of staying at bed and breakfasts. Everything about them and their inn is authentic and we cannot wait to return in December.

  • Liked — Comfortable and luxurious but without pretense.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeriBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
92
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Looking for a place to stay while my husband I were to take two precious days to ourselves, hiking and exploring the New Platz area, we discoverd the Maplestone by searching on line. Every review we read was positive, and we totally agree! Sean and Patty are perfect hosts. Their home is charming. We loved our room (all the rooms are beautiful) and the history and decor of the house. Wish we could have stayed more than one night! DO NOT skip breakfast! Not only do you get a most delicious and perfectly presented three course meal, we enjoyed Sean and Patty's conversation and company like they were old friends. We will go back and tell all our friends to do the same. Chris & Matt Forster, Kailua, HI

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

If your first stay at a B 'n B is at the Maplestone Inn, you have started with the best. There was nothing about our stay that was less than perfect (I think that Patty and Sean somehow even managed to control the weather ) The room was very spacious, immaculate and decorated with lovely taste. They have done a wonderful job with the Inn, keeping the period features,while installing more modern conveniences, such as Wifi and Central Air.
Breakfast alone is worth the trip: their daughter, a Culinary Institute graduate, planned the menus. Both days of our stay, the three courses couldn't have been more delicious, and the presentation was so lovely, the food could have been used to illustrate a cookbook. A really nice touch is that, if you wish, they will bring a pot of coffee or tea to your room a half hour before breakfast.
Nothing that adds to their guests' comfort has been neglected. I hope this Inn is around for a very long time.

  • Liked — The atmosphere created by the hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LRF131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Our stay at Maplestone was enjoyable from start to finish. We enjoyed the serene respite from our usual noisy Manhattan life. The food was excellent, Sean and Patty were cordial and accomodating, the house is beautiful. Having coffee delivered to our room 30 minutes prior to breakfast was a thoughtful touch. We thought we would get tired of driving the mere 4 (?) miles from the inn to the main area of New Paltz, but we did not---in fact, the isolation from "town" was refreshing. Highly recommended as a nice getaway from NYC. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

We stayed at the Jenkins Suite for 3days/2 nights in March at Maplestone Inn. No details were overlooked in this place! All your needs are anticipated. Everything you would ever need during your stay is available. Some of their exceptional amenities/services include coffee delivered to your room 30 minutes before breakfast, books that you can read while soaking in the bathtub, the DELICIOUS breakfast, a complete inventory of toiletries available in room; from hair dryer, cotton balls, cotton buds to shaving kits, and the lovely innkeepers. Cozying up by the fireplace, whether in the suite, dining room, or sitting room are not to be missed. Sean & Patty remembered our dietary restriction and not once served it during our stay. Sean also went out of his way to make a reservation for us at Beso. I love this place. I will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank KD123NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2007

Maplestone Inn was a dream come true! It was our 10th anniversary, and the innkeepers made it so special. They welcomed us like family, ready to care for all of our needs. They give their guests privacy to relax and exist in the inn like it's home. When you need them, they are right there.

The breakfasts served were beyond compare! Three course meals, by the fireside, perfectly paced at a time you chose convienent for you. The meals were fresh, delicious and creative.

Our room was the Jenkins suite, which was meticulously clean, very inviting and cozy, as were all the rooms. Our room included a gas fireplace and a steam shower and claw foot tub. Wow - how could you be disappointed? The bed is the real treat - a "feather" cover under the mattress sheet makes it feel as if you are laying in the clouds. The most comfortable bed I've ever been in.

My husband and I had a dream-come-true anniversary. We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Liked — clean and cozy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CountryGirlwithtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

I have to say that seldom do my wife and I stay at a place that the minute we left, we were in the car talking about when to come back. The place is so clean, well maintained and above all, ran by two of the nicest people you could ever meet. The rooms all have alot of space and the most wonderful bathrooms with tubs to die for. I would rate this place five stars and when the Inn Keeper asks you what they could do to make your stay better, after they just served you a three coarse breakfast that was the best you ever ate, you just find yourself at a loss for words, this is a find.....I almost do not want to tell anyone about it and keep it as my secret, but please stay here and take all of their recommondations to heart.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank weeder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
145 reviews
5.3 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
7.6 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
4.2 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MapleStone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MapleStone Inn

Property: MapleStone Inn
Address: 541 Rt 32 S, New Paltz, NY 12561
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maplestone Inn - where the comforts of the present honor the past. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, all with private baths, fireplaces, A/C and wireless internet access, as well as a 3 course gourmet breakfast, served each morning. This renovated 1790 stone farmhouse is your home away from home, minutes from New Paltz, and a short drive to Mohonk, Minnewaska Preserve, local wineries and all the wonderful attractions of the Hudson Valley. Come home to Maplestone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maplestone Hotel New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing