We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and beauty in the countryside”
Review of MapleStone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MapleStone Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Peace and beauty in the countryside”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in the Hunter room on the main floor. We were there to relax and see the fall colors. The inn is a wonderful resoration of a home built over 200 years ago and added to over the years. The decor is lovely, the room is huge (with sitting areas), the bathroom completely renovated and there are several common areas for TV or computer use. The wifi works great and you can print on the network too. The outside grounds are rolling green meadows, maple trees and a lovely garden area. Now, the best part--the innkeepers are very warm, friendly people who will visit with you or leave you alone, whichever you prefer. They look for ways to make your visit comfortable and enjoyable. From building you a fire in the common area, making you a cup of tea, or helping with your luggage, they do it all. The breakfasts are filling and delicious, there's a microwave in the common area, and they will bring coffee or tea to your room if you want. It's a short drive to the town of New Paltz where there are many restaurants and shops. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks, Sean and Patty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank psychoteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
90
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I can't say much that hasn't already been said about this place. Beautiful house, run by a lovely couple and great breakfasts in the morning. My husband and I had spent the day on Mohonk Preserve and decided to spend the night in this place instead of shelling out $$$ for a hotel room in Mohonk after reading all the great reviews here. I am so happy we did! Mohonk is great for a day at their spa and hiking the premises but the hotel building itself seems very worn down and past its prime.

I wish we had been able to stay longer! The inn is close to everything in downtown New Paltz, and the owners were great about helping us plan dinner and the following day even though we had limited time in the area. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I hardly write reviews, but when I do, there is a reason for it. This inn and it's innkeepers deserve wonderful recognition. When you first arrive, you are treated like family. You are greeted upon arrival and shown around the house and to your room. It practically feels like a private home as there are only 3 rooms available per night and when I was there recently, I didn't even see the other people at all. You fill out a card the night before indicating if you would like coffee and tea in the morning upon waking up and then letting them know what time you want to eat breakfast.

The grounds-just lovely! During the day, you can see Patty gardening and Sean mowing the lawn. It looks like a slice of heaven and is really a nice getaway from the hectic city. The inside of the B&B has a wonderful history that you should inquire about when you visit.

The room-I have stayed in all of the rooms and love all of them. I enjoyed the Hunter room on this past visit as it was very private and the only room on the first floor. You also have a nice deck where you can sit outside and look at the stars in the evening while enjoying a nice bottle of wine. They also have 2 comfortable rocking chairs for your pleasure. You won't be disappointed with any of the rooms.

The food-Our breakfast both mornings were AMAZING. Nothing is pre-made, when you show up to breakfast, that is when they start cooking, so the food comes out hot and enjoyable. During this visit, I indicated my boyfriend liked bacon and they made sure the first breakfast included just that! The food is delicious and you feel like you are in the country in the room you are eating in...again so much history. The juices are a great accompaniment and if you leave that meal hungry, you have something seriously wrong with you! 3 courses of heaven!

The innkeepers-I don't think you can ask for 2 better hosts. Patty & Sean are just delightful, from the start of your reservation until the hug goodbye. Each morning they are there to answer any questions, make dining reservations and even provide insight on what to do for the day. We listened to them and had a wonderful getaway! They are knowledgeable about the area and can help you out with anything you need. We came home during the day and said hello, but they are never in your way. They are at your service (at least that is what it feels like), but leave you alone to enjoy your stay. I only wish I could live there permanently.

If you are looking for a nice getaway, whether with friends, family, or a loved one, THIS IS THE PLACE YOU NEED TO STAY! I can't stress it enough. You are close to awesome hiking grounds, wineries, and restaurants for at night. The way you are treated here will be unlike anywhere else you go. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MichAsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A beautiful B&B run by a lovely couple. Everything has been though of, the room has all the amenities you would need for a long weekend.
Patty cooks a mean breakfast, and Sean was very friendly and full of tips and ideas for activities nearby.
We stayed in the Tucker Room and utilized the hot tub.
All in all, a lovely stay, and so close to the city!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qls200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, ME
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a 200 year old farmhouse located well out of town, not within walking distance of any restaurants or attractions. As a result, it's very quiet and peaceful. Floors are original wide pine boards, and very well cared for, but they are a bit uneven in spots and not quite level. This could be an issue for some folks, but was not a problem for us. Lots of common space available to guests. Only 3 guest rooms, so you are not dealing with large groups of people. We had the Jenkins Suite, which was spacious and very comfortable. The Inn is very well appointed, and the hosts are very gracious. The breakfast was outstanding, personally prepared and served by the owners. We didn't need any lunch that day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 04856Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 25th wedding anniverary. Close to the charming and vibrant town of New Paltz and nestled in the midst of the thriving farm-to-table food movement, we can't say enough about this lovely B and B. The rooms were beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and spacious. The hosts were gracious and helpful, asking if we needed dinner recommendations or reservations. The breakfast was amazing - home-made frittata with smoked bacon, blueberry pancakes with real maple syrup, newspapers waiting to welcome those that want to stay connected to the real world. They even offered to deliver coffee to our room first thing! The house was still scented throughout with the lovely smell of woodsmoke from the winter. The grounds were gorgeous. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautiful. It was a lovely, seculded spot close to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lmandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
161 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Spent two nights in July '13 and could not have been happier. This home away from home is pleasant, clean, very tasty breakfast and a room delivery of coffee to boot to get you started. If you are looking for a place in the area you will be writing a positive review after you experience just like me. Did I mention the bath robe, ironed sheets and many more personal touches by Patty and Sean. Experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: Had a big room with a big tub and separate shower. The bathroom was enormous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beemanWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
109 reviews
5.3 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
24.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
7.6 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MapleStone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MapleStone Inn

Property: MapleStone Inn
Address: 541 Rt 32 S, New Paltz, NY 12561
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maplestone Inn - where the comforts of the present honor the past. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, all with private baths, fireplaces, A/C and wireless internet access, as well as a 3 course gourmet breakfast, served each morning. This renovated 1790 stone farmhouse is your home away from home, minutes from New Paltz, and a short drive to Mohonk, Minnewaska Preserve, local wineries and all the wonderful attractions of the Hudson Valley. Come home to Maplestone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maplestone Hotel New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing