We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B!!”
Review of MapleStone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MapleStone Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have to echo many of the other positive reviews on the MapleStone. My wife and I recently spent the weekend, and I have to rate it an all around excellent experience. And like other reviewers we have stayed at many B&B's around the US and around the world, and this place rates up there with some of the best. It's obvious that Sean and Patty have put a lot of effort and care into building a great experience for their guests...from the beautiful grounds to the tastefully appointed rooms to the great breakfasts, they pull it all off extremely well. It helps that they are genuinely nice people...and seem to have mastered the fine art of being extremely friendly and helpful, yet are in no way overbearing. The New Paltz area is one of the gems of the Northeast, and this place is a real gem in that gem. Thanks so much Sean and Patty!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jerseyrural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Of all the places we have stayed, this was truly exceptional. This is down to the wonderful hosts who could not do more to make your stay special. They are really distinguished people, and are there when you need them but give you all the space you need. The room and the whole property were exceptional, and the breakfast was outstanding, wonderful home cooking but to a very high standard. You really are staying in someone's home, and you feel most welcome. Cannot recommend this more highly, we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank themooseinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Sean and Patty have done an outstanding job renovating an old house into a stunning B&B. Yes, it is a little pricey, but our room, The Hunter Room, was huge, beautifully decorated, and well thought out (but could use an extra mirror outside the bathroom, my husband and I were elbowing for the 1 mirror in the bathroom) It was worth the price when all was considered. We never got a chance to sit on the beautiful terrace, next time we must stay more than one night! We loved our early morning coffee and tea delivery, and the breakfast was outstanding. Lovely fruit, and a perfectly cooked frittata which was then ( !!!!! ) followed by blueberry pancakes (for my husband, I was already too full!) We ate dinner at A Tavola which was excellent. We didn't get to meet Sean, but certainly enjoyed chatting with Patty. They have a remarkable property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wrenwood_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've stayed in many, many B&B's/Inns and there aren't many I've found that are of this caliber. The house itself is beautiful -- very tastefully restored with the highest quality materials and workmanship throughout. Room furnishings and decoration are very tasteful. The grounds are idyllic. In terms of guest services and amenities, the attention to detail is outstanding -- everything from the bed linens to the breakfasts are absolutely top quality. We stayed in the Jenkins Suite, which is truly lovely. In addition to the large bedroom, it has a separate sitting area, a fireplace, and an enormous bathroom. Both the bedroom and the bathroom feature natural stone accents that add a lot of character. Due to the warm weather while we were there, I didn't get a chance to try out either the steam shower or the very inviting claw-foot tub. Will have to return some time to do so!! Nor did we use the fireplace but I'm sure would be wonderful if you were there in colder weather. There is a fridge/microwave out on the landing for guest use. The fridge was always well stocked with water -- both plain and fizzy -- and tea-makings.

Breakfasts were truly delicious. Each day -- we were there three nights -- Patty very kindly brought us thermos of coffee first thing in the morning to help us get up and going. Even this was beautifully presented, in a wicker basket with a lovely checkered cloth. Breakfast is served in the oldest part of the house -- which I believe dates from the 18th century -- on a table that sits in front of an enormous old fireplace with beehive ovens. The room opens out directly to the front lawn and the old stone well -- it's really an idyllic place to begin each day.

I would return to this Inn anytime -- and truly hope I have the opportunity to do so sometime.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nendrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in many wonderful Bed and Breakfasts - MapleStone Inn, without question, is one of the very best. The home is beautiful, clean and tastefully decorated. The 3-course breakfast was delicious and the innskeeps were incredibly hospitable and nice. Our room was immaculate and both the room and bathroom were clean (and free of any hairs). Also, the bed was very comfortable. We plan to revisit the MapleStone Inn again very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cbrombe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

this B and B was absolutely lovely and charming. The grounds were beautiful and our room was perfect. The house was beautifully furnished and very clean. The breakfast was DELICIOUS. It is very close to town and to all the sites. Couldn't really say enough nice things about this location. Well worth the money

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank behappy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Spent a weekend at the Maplestone Inn. Great hosts, Sean and Patty; very friendly and welcoming. Stayed in the Jenkins Suite, which had a nice gas fireplace in the bedroom. Wifi available. 3 course breakfast was amazing! Definitely a class above the type of food usually served in B&B's. They also offer a pre-breakfast coffee delivery to your room. Very responsive to dietary requests. My partner requested soy for his coffee; they didn't have any on the first day, but on the second day they had it! Easy drive into downtown New Paltz. Overall great experience and would return again!

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms available, I would go for one of the suites on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gatzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
24.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
7.6 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
7.9 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
11.2 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MapleStone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MapleStone Inn

Address: 541 Rt 32 S, New Paltz, NY 12561
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Price Range: $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maplestone Inn - where the comforts of the present honor the past. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, all with private baths, fireplaces, A/C and wireless internet access, as well as a 3 course gourmet breakfast, served each morning. This renovated 1790 stone farmhouse is your home away from home, minutes from New Paltz, and a short drive to Mohonk, Minnewaska Preserve, local wineries and all the wonderful attractions of the Hudson Valley. Come home to Maplestone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maplestone Hotel New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing