We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of MapleStone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MapleStone Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The Maple Stone Inn has been meticulously restored to colonial beauty with modern conveniences. The atmosphere of the inn is in keeping with the 1700's that is abundant throughout the region. The hosts are perfect, helpful but giving you quiet to relax. The breakfasts were delicious and our accomodations were first rate. patti and Sean were excellent resources for excursion and dining ideas. We would highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
90
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

First...the house. Beautifully restored 1700's stone farmhouse that has retained all the charm and gentile of former days, yet incorporated with modern convenience (like a steam shower and a soaker clawfoot tub in our bathroom!). The fireplaces in this house simply bring you back to another time, with some large enough to walk into! We rented with another couple and it felt like the entire house was our own. Next... the owners. Patty and Sean were gracious and accomodating to our every need, better yet they were only there when we needed them;-) Finally...the food. This was unlike any other B&B we've stayed at in terms of quality and quantity. The homemade breakfasts were different each day and each day they were equal to what you might expect sitting down at the CIA.

Bring a book...or read one of the many they have...you will be inspired to simply relax and enjoy the surroundings for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in the queen bed room and I'd do so again. There are two other king size bedrooms, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KAC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My Husband and I just had the best mid-week break ever at the Maple Stone Inn.
Sean and Patti are such lovely, kind and generous people. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had what we needed.

Here are some of our favorite things about Sean and Patti's B&B-

1-The entire place is immaculate.
2- The 3 course gourmet breakfast.
3- The gentle wake-up.

The service that we got was over the top. We loved it so much, we wish we didn't have to leave. If you want to go some where that you can relax, have amazing food and be treated like a king or a queen, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tucker Room. It was so bright and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amberleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just a 90 min drive from NYC we encountered a beautiful B&B that we will definitely return to. The house has been beautifully and so carefully preserved that you feel like you are stepping back in time while also enjoying modern day luxuries. Our bathroom had both an antique gas fireplace and a huge, deep tub. The breakfast was delicious and included three courses! Patty and Sean are so warm and welcoming that you feel as though you are with family! We are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tucker room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laur172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I live in New York city and are always looking for weekend getaways in the area. Maplestone is the perfect place - less then 2 hours from NYC and you feel as though you've been transported to a fairytale. The house and rooms are spectacular and the inn keepers Patty and Sean are a delight. Can't wait for our next trip!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Breannamacchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Just wanted to add on to our previous review of Maplestone. We've been going back annually for 5 years now because we love it so much. This time we stayed in the Tucker Room so we thought we'd add a few words about that experience. The Tucker Room has a sofa for two in the room which was nice to have and a huge bathroom with soaker tub (bigger than our NYC bedroom!) and was light, bright, and cheerful. We haven't stayed in The Jenkins Suite yet but the couple that was staying there was raving about the steam shower in that suite. As always, the breakfasts were delicious and it is always great to catch up with Patty and Sean. The Maplestone sets the standard for all B&Bs as far as we are concerned. They have a lot of happy repeat customers--we met another couple who was visiting for the fourth time!

Our previous review follows:
You know there is something special about a place that has received only 5-star ratings from everyone who’s posted a review. Piling on to the accolades, we are finally writing in after our third stay at this wonderful property. We discovered Maplestone through Tripadvisor reviews and made our first reservation there in 2007 based on the strong reviews and the beautiful pictures on the website. The pictures do not lie! Maplestone is gorgeously restored and tastefully decorated. Sean and Patty are excellent hosts. They are warm and friendly and serve the most amazing 3-course breakfasts (menu designed by their CIA-graduate daughter). The house and grounds are beautifully maintained and there is such a feeling of gracious warmth about the place.

Our favorite room is the Hunter Room, which is the downstairs room. We love how warm and bright and spacious it is. After a long day of hiking, we like to return to our room, clean up, go out the French doors on to the private deck and sit and enjoy the lovely view of the grounds. The two rooms upstairs have soaking tubs (the Hunter Room has a regular bathtub/shower) so if you are into soaking, you may want to book upstairs but we think the Hunter Room is pretty perfect.

The décor of Maplestone evokes country charm but it is not cluttered or overly done. Everything is tasteful. There is Wi-fi and they have also added a computer station in the common area. There are two large comfortable common rooms, one with a TV.

Only a 2-hour drive from New York City, Maplestone is the perfect weekend getaway. We like to come up to this area for the hiking (Maplestone has day passes for the Mohonk Preserve) and biking (bike rentals available in New Paltz and Gardiner; the Wallkill Valley Rail Trail is an easy 12-mile-long trail with some beautiful views along the way) but other visitors come to enjoy Hudson Valley’s many cultural and historical attractions. Maplestone is a great home base to return to after a full day of activities. It’s also a beautiful setting to just relax and enjoy a slower pace of life.

Maplestone is a true gem. We can’t say enough about this beautiful haven.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent: Hunter you can step out onto the deck; Tucker is beautiful and bright with a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravelTotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Innkeepers Sean and Patty are wonderful hosts in their lovely, historic home. Having our three course gourmet breakfast in the original part of their home with those hand-hewn beams was amazing. We occupied the Hunter's room for two nights and enjoyed every minute we were on the property. The gardens were all in bloom and a blaze of color. We enjoyed relaxing on our private porch with books in the late afternoon, listening to the babbling brook running through the grounds. If you are looking for clean, comfortable rooms with outstanding breakfasts, peaceful grounds, and very hospitable hosts, MapleStone Inn is the place to go. We hope to return many more times, trying different seasons of the year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Busyinnkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
107 reviews
5.3 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
24.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
7.6 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MapleStone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MapleStone Inn

Property: MapleStone Inn
Address: 541 Rt 32 S, New Paltz, NY 12561
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maplestone Inn - where the comforts of the present honor the past. Relax in our spacious guest rooms, all with private baths, fireplaces, A/C and wireless internet access, as well as a 3 course gourmet breakfast, served each morning. This renovated 1790 stone farmhouse is your home away from home, minutes from New Paltz, and a short drive to Mohonk, Minnewaska Preserve, local wineries and all the wonderful attractions of the Hudson Valley. Come home to Maplestone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maplestone Hotel New Paltz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing