We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, very fancy for this town”
Review of A Tavola Trattoria

A Tavola Trattoria
Ranked #3 of 99 Restaurants in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New Paltz,NY
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous, very fancy for this town”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This restaurant serves delicious food, probably the best food in town. The prices are steep but the quality is excellent. We go there for special occasions. Had Christmas Eve dinner there last year - the service was fantastic. I highly recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank catsaresmarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    43
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A very fine restaurant to ring in the new year!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have now eaten in A Tavola in New Paltz 7-8 times and every meal has been much better than average. This is a fine restaurant and still very casual, as is fitting in a town like New Paltz. None of the dishes is standard "Italian-American" fare. The food is fresh, the preparation is inventive, the presentation is friendly and the wine list is superior.
For appetizers, two of us had oysters and one had a salad that was delicious. For mains, two of us had a very interesting pasta: tagliatelle with squid ink; one had chicken under a brick, the fourth had pumpkin ravioli with wild boar. We shared a bottle of Barbera d'Alba 2009, which was very robust and satisfying but not heavy. We really liked it.
Afterwards, we shared a chocolate sorbet, which if you have not had, you should; and we also shared something like a cheese cake, but more cake than cheese (I did not order it but I did get a nice piece to finish off my meal.)
I recommend A Tavola with enthusiasm.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trocc0_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic atmosphere and food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our family (all adults) on a Christmas week getaway and enjoyed a wonderful dinner at A Tavola. We were in Italy this fall and we found the atmosphere and food authentic. We sat at a cozy upstairs table, and since we were eating early, there were families with children. The service was great and our waiter was very helpful with descriptions and suggestions. I enjoyed a special cocktail that was tangy and refreshing, a celebratory change from wine. We ordered an assortment of small plates and half orders of pasta and shared. Every dish was wonderful. Hot, addictive rustic bread. Service was attentive but relaxed, we were not rushed and enjoyed a long meal and conversation. We had a reservation and were seated immediately. Very nice evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A treasure”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have dined here perhaps a dozen times; the food has evolved from nearly-perfect to perfect. The antipasti A Tavola changes daily but always delights. Last night I had the sweet potato gnocchi with wild boar ragu. The gnocchi were light and flavorful on their own, and the boar ragu topped any ragu I tasted while living in Italy. The braised pork cheeks were prepared to perfection. The cheeks were plated with a parsnip puree, roasted brussels sprouts and a black truffle vinaigrette which gave the dish complexity and richness. The staff are both attentive and knowledgeable. Wines are affordable but quite good. Give the bartender the opportunity to work his magic with cocktails; he will never disappoint and sometimes amaze.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JiminBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful space and super food”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The place is beautiful and cozy. The food is terrific and they have small plate entree options which we take advantage of so we can try more of their creative selections. Drinks & beer selection good but priced a bit too high.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HLLillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Tavola Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to A Tavola Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing