We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed & Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Gourmet breakfast was prepared each morning with great care to our preferences. Coffee, tea and snacks are available all day. The accommodations were excellent. Many recent movie DVDs were available for a leisure evening in. I very much like that the grounds show quite a commitment to the environment.

Room Tip: If you like a very warm room on cold days, the room to the left of the entrance appears to be above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeBee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
193
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Sincere thanks to Kathy for all the hospitality and kindness crammed into what was, for us, too short a stay in this beautiful property and area. We were on a sentimental journey for my wife up to the Hudson River Valley area. Minnewaska and Mohonk were places regularly visited by her as a child on family holidays. Our time was limited in the area however due to other commitments. Based upon our experience with Kathy at the house we will definitely return and will arrange for other family members to do likewise. Everything was perfect, the room, ambiance, comfort, scenery, the grounds around the house etc. + a couple of very cute pugs!
Breakfast was delicious in the morning and to sit and gaze out onto such a pretty woodland area made it even more of a treat. Thanks very much for the fantastic local wine and cheese when we arrived (it certainly hit the spot!) We hope that you continue with your enterprise for many more years to come - you do it all so well!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were here for a mid week getaway for 2 nights. We stayed in "Starry Night". The room is located on the corner first floor with a door to the front porch. What a great place to relax!! The room is clean and comfortable. It has a large soaking tub (great for post-hike) and a fireplace. Kathy, the owner, loves her "job" and it shows. Breakfast was delicious. The menu well planned. There is a lot to see in the area, so it makes sense to make Moondance Ridge your base. We look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Starry Night is on the corner of the house, first floor. Very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raree18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I traveled here for a weekend getaway from the city to celebrate our anniversary and absolutely loved it. The owners are such a lovely accommodating couple, the rooms are great, the snacks left out are perfect for a lazy weekend (top it all off with the delicious home baked goods!) and the breakfast was unreal and so filling! We were there for the first snow of the season, and got to take advantage of the sauna, hiking nearby, wine tasting, and the beautiful stars that we never get to see in the city. Can't say enough about how lovely the host couple made everything; they were so sweet and accommodating and we loved getting to know them and how they got there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JEGF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a lovely three-day stay at Moondance Ridge. The room was large and comfortable, the breakfasts were amazingly delicious and varied, and Kathy (our hostess) was warm, funny, and very knowledgeable about the area. Moondance Ridge is located on a quiet street, yet just a 2-3 minute drive from the center of town. There are many activities within easy driving distance, including state parks, wineries, and antique shops. One caveat - SUNY has a campus in New Paltz. Unwittingly, we booked our stay during Parents' Weekend. Traffic through the town was chaotic at times, and restaurants were booked fully. If you plan a stay, I recommend checking the SUNY web site to find out if there are any special events which might impact your vacation.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PAhomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Moondance Ridge..the name evokes romantic images of dark tree covered mountains and star filled skies, a haven where civilization melts away to be replaced by quiet solitude. For a city dweller like myself this is the ideal escape for a night, a few days or a long weekend. Moondance Ridge..I could hardly wait to get there. The b&b is situated in the artsy college town of New Paltz, a place of meandering hilly narrow streets where you can expect to find coffee houses, old fashioned bookstores and kitschy record and bric brac shops. It is a town full of history, no more apparent than on historic Huguenot Street.

Once you get off the interstate it is all mountains, farms and vineyards – and in the midst of this, there is Moondance Ridge, a haven for the weary traveler. We pulled into the meandering driveway to be greeted by our hostess and her lovely little pugs. Our room was on the first floor, Starry Night. Incredibly clean, it was a blend of nostalgia and modern, with a large canopy bed framed in white chiffon. The sitting area boasted an electric fireplace and mini fridge, with the doorway leading out to a private porch from which we were able to view hummingbirds and bunnies on the lawn. The bathroom is large and squeaky clean with a one person Jacuzzi/shower combo. There was a warm and cozy feeling to the space, and by cozy I mean comfortable, not small.

The kitchen area has a Keurig machine that permits you the luxury of having coffee or tea 24/7. There are cookies when you return in the evening and locally grown apples or granola bars if you are more health minded. The space is two stories high and surrounded by the balcony of the second floor rooms. The sitting area is made to look like a lodge with a warm fireplace and book lined walls. The sliding glass doors take you out into nature, which is exactly where you want to be.

We were only there for a short visit, but took advantage of the extensive hospitality they have to offer. Nighttime was amazing, sitting on our porch and drinking locally produced pumpkin wine as we stared in amazement at the dome of stars, a patchwork quilt of twinkling lights that were breathtaking.
If you are looking for a great b&b in upstate NY, look no further…Moondance Ridge is waiting for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Moondance Ridge is an exceptional bed & breakfast. Spotlessly clean, accommodating, convenient to downtown New Paltz, restaurants, shopping, and hiking. My fiance surprised me with a trip here for my 30th birthday. Kathy is an amazing host! We were greeted with the most amazing breakfast both mornings we were there- homemade blueberry muffins, a peach yogurt smoothie, a crust-less Swiss cheese quiche served over fresh spinach leaves and turkey sausage the first morning. The second morning she served us home made cherry scones, a fresh fruit & yogurt parfait topped with home made granola, pumpkin waffles with local maple syrup and turkey bacon. Her coffee is also delicious. Every afternoon she baked cookies or brownies and always had waters, nuts, and granola bars at our service, as well as a Keurig. It was our first time staying in a b&b so we were a little nervous- but there is nothing to be nervous about here. The home is modern, the rooms are incredibly comfortable and SO CLEAN. The bed was very very very comfortable, so much so, that I am going to buy the same comforter, pillows, and sheets for our bed at home if I can find them for purchase! There was a fridge in our room, jacuzzi tub for two, shower stall, flat screen t.v. and cute nook with a sofa to watch t.v. It was unlike any place we have ever been to. We felt completely at home and did not want to leave! We had an awesome time hiking in the Mohonk Preserve and hanging out at the local restaurants and bars in the evening. Every restaurant recommended to us was a '10' and we can't say one bad thing about the entire weekend. We also enjoyed the comfy robes and time spent in the sauna on the deck. Moondance Ridge is a great find, a gem, you will not be disappointed. If only there were more places like this in the world. Hotels should take a lesson from Kathy!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the Moondance Suite and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
150 reviews
6.9 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
6.2 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
9.2 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 55 Shivertown Road, New Paltz, NY
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five luxury suites feature private bathrooms with whirlpool tubs, electric fireplaces, cable TV and WIFI. Enjoy creative and healthy breakfasts in the dining room overlooking our certified backyard wildlife habitat. Stroll around our 3 acres of our nature preserve and gardens, including a labyrinth overlooking the Shawangunk Mountains. We're a mile from the heart of the village of New Paltz, with charming shops and wonderful restaurants that cater to a variety of dining preferences. Just minutes from hiking, historic sites and wine trails, you can be on-the-go day and night.. or you can simply settle into the cozy comforts of the casual luxury that you'll find at the Moondance Ridge B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moondance Ridge Hotel New Paltz
Moondance Ridge Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing