We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The place was beautiful, Kathy and her husband Arnie truly make you feel at home. Breakfast was wonderful and my husband and I can't wait to go back there again. We stayed in the Moondance room was was so cozy and comfortable, and you really cannot ask for better hosts.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kleanwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 260 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Moondance Ridge is a pleasant, comfortable, relaxing place to visit. Kathy was warm and helpful during our booking, but unfortunately fell ill shortly after our arrival so we did not see her again after our initial welcome. Her partner took over things beautifully and was thoughtful and friendly when we asked for recommendations of things to do in New Paltz. We were very happy to skim brochures and borrow passes to hike in the nearby Monhonk Preserve. We also enjoyed the opportunity to visit a local winery and some recommended restaurants nearby.

The common area for breakfast and lounging is extremely clean and really nice with views of the woods and bird feeders, flowers on the tables, and a cozy sitting room. Another great feature of the common room is that it has lots of movies and magazines you can borrow, plus coffee, tea, soda, water, and snacks are available throughout the day. We enjoyed a tasty, unusually large breakfast with multiple courses each morning.

We stayed in the Moondance Room upstairs and it has a comfortable bed with nice pillows, a relaxing whirlpool tub, and a cozy seating nook where you can watch movies. This room is not fancy (none of the rooms are), but it is very clean and comfortable and the owners have gone to a lot of trouble to find ways to make each guest room feel unique and welcoming. We'd enjoy staying in any of the five rooms at Moondance Ridge. Additionally, the property is very well-maintained and it's nice to walk around the grounds. There is a pond, gardens, a labyrinth, a walking trail, and a hammock to enjoy.

My only note of caution about B&Bs in general is that you should be aware that you are likely to hear other guests from your room and in the common area during your stay. It was a little awkward when some loud guests talked openly about their personal health and hygine challenges and we could not ignore their exchange. In spite of this general caution, Moondance Ridge is special and all of the extras it offers are well worth a visit. The owners are very warm and welcoming and are going out of their way to ensure that guests at Moondance Ridge are comfortable and well taken care of throughout their visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveladdict0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I spent this past weekend at Moondance Ridge. Kathy, the innkeeper, is great. She was accommodating in every way, even giving us a bottle of red from the local vineyard so we did not have to run out. The breakfasts were delicious. We stayed in the Starry Night room, which is on the first floor. The room was lovely and very clean. In the morning, you do here the other guests in this room, as they have to walk by Starry Night for breakfast. Moondance Ridge is a very quick drive into the heart of New Paltz, where there are many restaurants to choose from. We spent a day walking trails at Mohonk Preserve, which was beautiful. We will absolutely go back to Moondance Ridge in the future.......

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Inn is gorgeous. We stayed in the Moondance room which was quiet, cozy, with a great bath and an adjacent sitting room with fireplace and TV. The common rooms are light filled, relaxing and reading next to the big stone fireplace was a treat for those of us normally confined to NYC apartments. Kathy, your host, is very friendly and helpful - and her breakfasts are amazing. A snow storm caused the cancellation of our dinner reservations in town (A Tavola - go if you get a chance). "No problem", Kathy said, "I will make pasta and you will join us for dinner". In fact, some of the most enjoyable moments during our weekend stay was just hanging and talking with Kathy and Arnie. Our only regret was that our stay lasted only two days - next time (and there will be a next time) it will be longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laaphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

While on a business trip from Australia, I stopped over in New Paltz to visit my son on exchange at SUNY and was fortunate to stay at this gem of a B and B. From a warm welcome, most comfortable bedroom, luxurious jet spa, fireplace in the bedroom and lounge with drinks and snacks around fire, no effort was spared. Arnold was kind enough to give me a lift into town for dinner and Kathy was up at 6:30 am to drive me to the bus terminal with such genuine hospitality that my only regret is that I could not stay longer. I would love to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 21Alan_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I spent Halloween weekend here with my wife. It was a perfect stay. A nice modern B&B. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The grounds are nice and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious. The homemade evening snacks were also delicious. Kathy was extremely nice and very helpful when it came to picking restaurants and finding things to do. My wife left her dress in the room and Kathy mailed it to us free of charge. Thats what I call customer service. This is our new couples getaway. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BDX95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wonderful B&B, Just spent one night here to relax. We stayed in the Moonshadow room. Loved the automatic dual-reclining loveseat, Fireplace, Jacuzzi Tub & Huge four poster Bed was super comfortable. The property is modern, clean, quite and set back in the woods. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with yogurt parfait, homemade muffin and a quiche with turkey bacon.We felt well taken care of by Tracey and her family. They have everythign we could have asked for and more. I definitely would stay here again and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NycPhoto5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kadrew, Owner at Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We, too, love the reclining leather loveseat! So glad you enjoyed our B&B as well as some of our favorite local restaurants and shops. Hope to see you again!!

Kathy Drew
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
171 reviews
6.9 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
331 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
6.2 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
9.2 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 55 Shivertown Road, New Paltz, NY
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five luxury suites feature private bathrooms with whirlpool tubs, electric fireplaces, cable TV and WIFI. Enjoy creative and healthy breakfasts in the dining room overlooking our certified backyard wildlife habitat. Stroll around our 3 acres of our nature preserve and gardens, including a labyrinth overlooking the Shawangunk Mountains. We're a mile from the heart of the village of New Paltz, with charming shops and wonderful restaurants that cater to a variety of dining preferences. Just minutes from hiking, historic sites and wine trails, you can be on-the-go day and night.. or you can simply settle into the cozy comforts of the casual luxury that you'll find at the Moondance Ridge B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moondance Ridge Hotel New Paltz
Moondance Ridge Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing