We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just for students”
Review of Main Street Bistro

Main Street Bistro
Ranked #2 of 97 Restaurants in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
in the Big Apple
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not just for students”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hoppng place, right on Main Street, is a favorite with students, their parents, day hikers, just about everyone. Sometimes it's so jammed, you can't get in. Why is it so popular? It's cheap and the food is plentiful and fresh and very appealing. My favoritie is the Rhino Wrap; hubby likes the soups and delicious breads that come with them. Can't go wrong here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank marre5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    76
    26
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Always Great, Love This Place”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

When I lived in the area I went to this restaurant often and it was always good. Went for a visit this month and had lunch there and it didn't disappoint. Food was fantastic. My husband says it was the best tuna melt he has ever had. Service was very good and friendly. This is one of my favorite places in New Paltz. Can't wait to return again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WDubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It's all about the price!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Looking for a place to have lunch in town, we picked Main Street Bistro , thinking that any restaurant that had a line on a Friday afternoon early lunch, must be great. To say that the food was disappointing was an understatement . The service was friendly and spot on. The food was just slightly better than mediocre. I ordered the KC chicken sandwich which arrived with a stack of cut up sundries tomatoes mounded on top of a pickle spear. To be fair, the grilled chicken was moist but the presentation lacking. My daughter ordered a veggie burger that sounded like an original recipe. However it tasted like a glorified Boca burger. When a vegetarian orders a veggie burger, it's generally because they enjoy vegetables and aren't necessarily trying to order something that mimics meat. Very disappointing. I think the reason for the line to get in is that the prices are quite reasonable and many of the local college students can afford to eat here.We opted to skip dessert and grab a freshly baked treat further down the street. There is a good selection of restaurants in town. I would suggest passing this one up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1cookielady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best of New Paltz”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Bistro is one of the best New Paltz has to offer, the lines are long but worth the wait. Get there early, service is friendly and always spot on. Best breakfast/lunch in town. You need to have patients though. They cook all to order and the place is always packed. You don't want to miss them if you are traveling through or even a local patron. We eat there often. It is also affordable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank golfchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best bang for the buck!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

These kids kick butt and the food rocks!! Prices are more than fair for the quality of food served!! Even though bagel selection is minimal which ever you get , you won't be disappointed ! Don't pass this one by !!
Vinny approved!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 13captobvious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Bistro also viewed

 
New Paltz, NY
 

Been to Main Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing