We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in the wild” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock and Rye Tavern - CLOSED

Rock and Rye Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem in the wild”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place would be a smash in a major city and finding it in New Paltz just made it that much more awesome. Rock and Rye is not to be missed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    28
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mamaroneck, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Atmosphere and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Sit outside and enjoy trees and the breeze along with good wine and excellent food. Our server knew about and clearly cared about the dishes. Two of us each drank two glasses on wine, we shared two appetizers and an amazing rosemary pasta dish and had two desserts. there was not a weak note in any element. Can't wait to go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
509 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Once we found this place (tiny sign on the road), we were pleased with the experience. I did have to call from my cell phone as no one was at the hostess stand when we arrived but it WAS about 5:15. They have a variety of beers and the dinners are creative and tasty. The place resembles the old log construction of a bygone era so it is a nice find.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem - north Huguenot St area of New Paltz, NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We ate dinner on the covered patio of Rock & Rye, a restaurant tavern in an historic house and lush country setting on Huguenot Street. The grounds are beautiful. Excellent entrees we selected included grilled seafood and grilled pork chop. My husband raved about a creamed corn dish. I especially liked both the pickled jicama and black rice, both new to me. The Rock & Rye Manhattan was tasty, and there was an array of craft beers. That evening a bluegrass trio (banjo, bass and mandolin) played in a pavilion on the grounds. They are very talented musicians. Our server was hospitable and attentive. We had a wonderful time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reggie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Woah yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I wish there were more stars available, because this place absolutely deserves them! The food- unbelievably delectable, local, incredibly inventive, always satisfying. The staff- super attentive, knowledgeable & always friendly. The atmosphere- romantic yet casual with a lovely outdoor area, and dog-friendly. Every time I go the menu is completely different from the last, save for the mind-blowingly delicious panko breaded portobello steak fries drizzled in truffle oil and served with creamy garlic aoli. Delish! If you're lucky enough to have this special available when you're there- absolutely get the steelhead trout ceviche served with chili-spiked creme fresh, spring pea purée & homemade chips. Wow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeaRue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock and Rye Tavern also viewed

 
New Paltz, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing