We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of Rock and Rye Tavern - CLOSED

Rock and Rye Tavern
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Saturday night, 8:30 reservation. Got seated on time, only to find out they were out of 3 things on the menu.. Chicken, burger, salmon.. How do you run out of burgers & chicken before 8:30 on a Saturday night?? Rest of the menu is pretty limited . So we left rather than being forced to choose from whatever was left

Disappointing

2  Thank cheryl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suevet, Owner at Rock and Rye Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Im sorry to hear you were disappointed in our restaurant. We like to make sure everything is fresh and because we deal with a local farmer for the beef and chicken we do occasionally run out of certain items. The saturday you came was much busier than expected. But, even if we do occasionally run out of certain items it is important to us to use local meat and never substitute a lesser product. The same goes for the salmon. We would prefer to occasionally run out rather than keep old fish. We are trying to ensure the freshest product. I wish you had made your concerns known as there were many ways for us to accommodate you with items that may not have been on the menu, but you left before either my manager or I could address your concerns. As you mentioned we sat you right away, our server immediately went to your table to tell you what we were out of and to see if you had any questions. We were prompt and organized despite having a very full restaurant. I understand you did not like our menu options but I feel judging our entire restaurant on that fact is unfair. I feel if you had stayed you would have realized that we have wonderful, friendly service and delicious local food. I understand your disappointment with some menu items being out but I also feel you didn't give us a fair chance. - Cassie Fellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 143 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

our dinner was delicious. my husband ordered the Prince Edward mussels appetizer an I ordered roasted butternut squash crostinis. both were flavorful and so was the cheese used in the Ceasar salad. They have many non traditional drinks. we tried the Apple Daisy a tequila based drink. the spices used were incredible and I highly recommend this drink. our server was very pleasant and took the time to explain everything. the restaurant is off the beaten path but definitely worth the trip.

Thank e1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We visited Rock and Rye again in mid September, and were pleased that so many of the things we loved about our first visit were still there - really well made food, a thoughtful use of local ingredients, and creative cocktails. Unfortunately, the service was very dissapointing. We arrived about 15 minutes early for our reservation, and were promptly seated in the front room. This quieter space was just plain dark and a bit cold - it obvisoulsy hadn't been used that night (a Sunday).

Although we got water and a greeting quickly, our server took a solid 15 minutes to return for drink orders. We felt like the "other table" all night. Service was a bit slow and, on two occasions, our server tried to stack so many things while bussing the table that she dropped items on the floor or table - not the type of service you expect for the money.

We really like this restaurant and wanted it to be better. We were celebrating college graduations with our son and his girlfriend, and were hoping for more of a special evening. We know they can deliver.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snapplecap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The cocktails and wine selection are great and the duck was wonderful too but the salads were bland and the burger was over-cooked, so you just have to know what you get. Our waitress was also a bit aloof.

Thank NYerknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Started out at the bar while waiting for our table. It is a pleasure to watch bartenders who know what they are doing--making classic cocktails from real ingredients-not mixes. Very entertaining. Although we had to wait a bit past our reservation time, the hostess kept checking in so we did not feel neglected. At first we were seated near a very LOUD table that was truly unbearable. Our waitress quickly realized the problem an reseated us without us having to ask. The atmosphere and all the entrees were top notch. Would definitely go back!

Thank JRF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock and Rye Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing