We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, all the reviews are true” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in New Paltz
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yes, all the reviews are true”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Can someplace be as bad as described, Yes it can.
The inn was full this weekend because of Hurricane Sandy, I got the one room let with a single bed because @ $ 131 a night the electricians and tree crews were not paying that rate solo or doubled up in a king bed. I however had to pay the full rip off rate for my stay.
I have low expectation and the Inn strove to under preform even those. The room smelled, the bed was mushy, the diverter in the tub was poor. I can overlook many thing if I get a good shower. The room had the look of inattentiveness.
Do not stay here for over $70 a night and then think about spending more else where. Check the tub, bad shower switch rooms.
Yes, breakfast was cereal, muffins and hostess donuts, whole milk from the gallon bottle, an empty OJ bottle and what was passed off as coffee from the wheezing, gurgling machine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timd473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    11
    16
    66
See reviews for
38
28
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Ripped off!! I checked in very late (3:45 AM) after long traveling. I was told that my debit card didn't work so I paid cash. Ha Ha! My debit card was charged also. Upon learning this I began attempting to contact the manager, Mr. Patel. After a month I finally caught him on the phone but of course...I'm scammed! Just try calling and ask for Mr. Patel- he will not admit it is him and he will ask you why you're calling. Seems like he's busy dodging people! Oh...in addition and truthfully...My room STANK. Dirty sheets. Gross shower stall. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE. Worst place I've been all year and put me in a crap mood on my vacation...then I got double-billed!

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I pulled in off the highway exhausted and was just glad to be out of the car, so I found something to eat and crashed immediately. What I found in the morning was that the diverter inside the shower wall did not work and so no water came out of the shower head. The tub is not something I'd have considered filling as other reviews here explain. The hot water diluted in the lobby that's euphemistically referred to as a coffee maker gave me one cup of light brown liquid then just a cup of dirty water. There was NO acknowledgement from the front desk addressing my complaints. Corporate replies to me w/ form letters but not one word of making things right. When I spend my money, I expect a different experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

1 star motel 3 star rates.
All other reviews say it all.
I did have a black shower too one morning.
room wasn't too bad, handicapped accessible but no grab rails, hand shower or chair in shower.
Possibly owners car blocking/ in handicapped spots, no curb cuts ect... ect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithA149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

There should be a zero star option for places like this. It seemed ok enough from the Choice Websites but the pictures on the site are not even close to the filth of this place. Carpet is stained and smells moldy. the bathroom had mold in the grout and rust around the fixtures. The bed was also stained and so dirty looking we ended up sleeping in sleeping bags on top of the bed. We had it for two nights but knew right away we would only stay the one and then just move but they insisted that we'd have to pay for two because we didn't cancel the whole reservation within 24 hours. Nimit Patel the owner and GM is rude and surly. STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herkimer, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nightmare place. Old, VERY smelly--from the moment I walked into the office to my room which smelled like urine. I needed some water to take medicines, but the machine was empty...the girl on duty informed me there were no bottles of water anywhere. The tap water smelled of heavy chlorination, so I had to drive to a gas station to get a bottle of water. Worst of all, the place cost me $131.00 (Expedia rate).

Room Tip: Find another place..maybe a B & B....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, co
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We bought 2 nights through priceline for a $100.00 per night. It was 1 star which was all that was offered in New Paltz. The room was a smoking room, it stunk! Even as we woke during the night the stench was unbelievable. IT was the most disgusting room I have ever stayed in. The mattresses were stained, the towels were rough, we were afraid to stay there another night...we had gotten in late or we would have left the first night.
We moved to another hotel 30 minutes away even though we paid for 2 nights,as there was not way we could stay another moment in that room.
Never again will I stay in a roadway inn.

Room Tip: Drive down to Newburgh and get a hotel there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
3.8 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
8.1 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
7.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
6.4 mi away
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
#1 of 6 in New Paltz
4.0 of 5 stars 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn and Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn and Suites
Address: 601 Main Street, New Paltz, NY 12561 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn and Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rodeway Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel New Paltz
Rodeway Inn New Paltz
New Paltz Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing