We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in New Paltz
Waterville, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Needed an affordable place to stay for a family party that was taking place in Poughkeepsie, NY. All the hotels in the Poughkeepsie area were overpriced so we decided to reserve in New Paltz. New Paltz is about 5 minutes and Poughkeepsie about 20 minutes from the hotel - perfect location. Rooms were clean and location was quiet. Check in receptionist was very nice. Only 2 disappointments that I had were that the Continental breakfast only had mini donuts and cereal for breakfast. Would have liked a bagel as it shows in the Hotel picture. And secondly, I think it is a little overpriced but would definitely stay again if I needed a room for the Poughkeepsie/New Paltz area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forty9thst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    11
    17
    66
See reviews for
38
28
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rouses Point
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

First of all, you have to cancel 72 hours before in order to not be charged for the room which was difficult to do because I had only booked it 48 hours before. FYI on that. When we got there the room was so cold you could almost see your breath it took a long time to warm up, the TV remote didn't work, the toilet handle was missing so to flush it we had to take the back of the tank off and do it by manually and the hairdryer didn't work. The bed was clean and comfortable however. Will never stay there again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Everything you could want from a budet road side hotel. Clean, comfortable, friendly, great facilities, quiet and good heating / air con.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This motel is about two miles outside of the town of New Paltz. We stayed two nights, arriving around midnight the first night. The motel appears to be maintained to minimum standards, judging from the amateur job of patched cement on the sidewalk and other places where the cement has broken down and had not been patched. The bathroom in the room had a few maintenance issues, which were not urgent enough to address the night of our arrival, but which we brought to the attention of the front desk the next morning: there was no aerator on the fawcett, so the water blasted out, splashing all over the vanity, and the toilet seat did not fit the toilet, making it quite tippy. We returned to our room that evening, to find the issues had not been addressed. Breakfast consisted of two types of cereal, milk, coffee, bagels, bread, pastries and spreads such as cream cheese (no juice). Amenities in the bathroom included multiple bars of soap and one bottle of shampoo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WavesAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

On Halloween 2011, my family, like so many others in the Hudson Valley, was without power. At 6:00 p.m. that evening, my seven-year-old daughter began having a severe asthma attack. She needed a nebulizer treatment (a machine is used to create a vapor of medicine to clear the lungs). After several minutes of her choking so hard she was vomiting, we got in the car and went to the closest motel. When we arrived at the Roadway Inn, I explained the situation to the attendant. She told us she had one room left, and that it would be $139.99 ( a weekend rate despite it being a week night). What could I do? I gave her a credit card, signed and quickly went to the room to connect the machine. Ten minutes later, my daughter was doing better. As we had the room, I suggested we drive home, get clothes and return for a shower. When we arrived home, our lights flickered and powered on as we walked in the door. We jumped back in the car, drove to the motel, and requested we cancel the room. We had been in it for ten minutes. We hadn’t even sat on the bed. It was less than 20 minutes from when we first rented the room, but the attendant said she could not refund the money or provide a discount. I gave her the keys and left. The next day, when I called the motel, a man answered. He said there would be no refunds and hung up. Admittedly, if I had been thinking clearly, I would have gone elsewhere for help. I’m sure the police or fire stations in the area would have helped us, as they did so many others. Not only did Roadway Inn take advantage of a horrible situation and inflate weekday rates in order to increase profits during the storm, they took advantage of a desperate, life-threatening situation. I’ve been told that had I complained about the state of the room (which would not have been difficult as it’s a cramped, smelly, dismal space), I’d have better legal recourse. It’s unfortunate, with so many responsible and community-minded local businesses struggling, that the Roadway Inn continues to operate despite its exploitative practices and the damaging treatment of its patrons and our community.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I just got back from a one-night stay at the Rodeway Inn in New Paltz. My daughter attended school in New Paltz for 4 years, and lives there now. We have stayed at two other "chain" motels prior to this one, and I have to say that I was a bit wary of staying at Rodeway last night after reading the horrendous reviews of the place. Nonetheless, I did. It was BY FAR the CLEANEST, quietest and most up-to-date place of all that I've been to. The place was immaculate, the lobby was clean, bright and welcoming, the receptionist was gracious, and the beds were clean and comfy. There was plenty of hot water and it as all clear, not black, as indicated in other review. As far as I'm concerned, this is where I'll be staying in the future as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brufanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed in their top shelf room, It was a busy weekend, and so I had to pay the price. I had luke warm water, no juice as they promised in the morning, brown water, the water to the toilet keep running, no attention to any detail for a customer that was paying a premium for one of their "Suites", and the room had a smell.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
3.8 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
3.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
8.1 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
15.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn and Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn and Suites
Address: 601 Main St, New Paltz, NY 12561-1617 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn and Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel New Paltz
Rodeway Inn New Paltz
New Paltz Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing