We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big disappointment”
Review of The Village Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Village Grill
Cuisines: American, German, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
N.P. NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Food was scarce, very small plates for the price $15 and upward. If the tomatoes aren't in season, kindly don't bother... Veggies on dinner were tasteless, goulash was very flat, spaetzel was sparce. The chicken was dry and hard. Perhaps they should stay with pub type food and not serve "dinners" as they are not executed very well. It's pretty bad when you leave feeling as if someone just took your money. They should not try to be something they are not and that is a restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BariCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent family restaurant”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The atmosphere and food at this restaurant are perfect for a meal out with family and friends. The owner and staff are friendly, welcoming and attentive, and the food is varied and tasty. Your group will be happy you came here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen&Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Passing grade”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I wrote one review before on this restaurant. The previous dinners were terrible but it was for take out. This time we ate at the restaurant and we give it a passing grade. After all how can someone destroy sandwiches!! The four sandwiches were all good. Nothing spectacular but definitely passable. This would be our third time to this restaurant. The first was great, take out was horrible, this time good. So, judge for yourself. Guess it's hit and miss but I wouldn't get take out from this restaurant! would we go back-maybe. But there are many fine restaurants in the area that warrant second and third trips.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shadow6874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Chef in the Kitchen”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I recently read the post made by shadow6874 concerning the food at The Village Grill. While the owner told you there was not someone new cooking in the kitchen, this is not true. The original chef of The Village Grill left in May, 2011 and the kitchen is now under new management.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank musicaldolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take Out was all wrong and horrible”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We decided to try the Village Grill for take out. We live less than 1 mile from the restaurant so we decided on take out orders. The food should still be hot when we get it home was our thought. Horrible, horrible, horrible. Sweet potatoes were burnt-on all orders; orders on 3 out of 4 were wrong; the well done burger was absolutely red and cold inside; all the food was cold, cold,cold. 4 out of 4 meals were horrible. We should have brought them back but it was late at night we were hungry. We cooked and re-did what we could and threw out what we couldn't. We went back and complained and the owner was non-interested in the problem.
we asked if there was a new cook-no!!! We were surprised because we had eaten at the restaurant before and like the other reviewers we were impressed. We're going back one more time to try it again. Everyone is entitled to a mistake! Let's hope we aren't the ones making it-again!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shadow6874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing