We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant

Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 96 Restaurants in New Paltz
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

sat at the bar-which we normally love to do to interact with the sushi chefs but it seamed like they did not want to talk to us at all.
had to go through the waitress to order everything
great spicey mayo
allowed us to substitiute things
fish was very fresh we were very satisfied
went back again for more sushi and sake
the only thing negative was the tuna was slightly fishy

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    8
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Used To Be My Most Favorite Sushi Place Anywhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I used to LOVE this restaurant. We had moved out of the area and I couldn't wait to get sushi there when we came up for a visit. What a disappointment! Service was the worst ever. My son did not receive his food until we were all done with ours. Our drinks were never refilled unless we requested it. The worse thing, and this has never happened to me in any restaurant, was that my son was asked to vacate the table. There were 6 of us, we had a reservation and we were not there a very long amount of time. They had pushed two tables together so we could all sit together. After we got the bill I was trying to figure out the tip. My daughter in law had left to go outside with the kids so my son was left sitting at that half of the tables alone but was right next to us while I was figuring out the tip. They came over to my son and asked him if they could have the table and before he could even get up they started moving it. What horrible customer service especially after we spent $160 there!
Now about the food. So disappointing! I ordered my two favorites that I always used to get there, the spider roll and the green dragon. Spider roll was no were as good as it used to be and it was smaller. My dragon roll had almost no eel in it. It was just a roll with tons of avocado and was not good at all. A tiny piece of eel in the middle mixed with some more avocado.
We will not be returning to this once fantastic restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WDubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
235 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I love this little place--great fresh sushi and excellent value. I particularly recommend the delicious clear mushroom soup, and try the oshingo (Japanese pickles) appetizer--a huge assortment of really interesting and delicious pickles! My boyfriend got a lovely little crab salad appetizer in half an avocado--scrumptious. Very charming atmosphere, polite servers, great experience overall. There's no other place in New Paltz I would rather eat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank flyermontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This cute little Japanese restaurant had outdoor seating which was pleasant on this early evening in June. The sesame noodles had a good taste but were a little gummy. The squid salad was fresh and flavorful. The sushi rolls were average. The service was pleasant and attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess County NY USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had to sit outside on a not very warm day because the place was full of happy eaters (as other reviewers have noted). So if you want to sit inside to enjoy the very good food, be sure to leave plenty of time because others may have the same idea at the same time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HudsonValleyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hokkaido Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing